Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Soda Bread in a Cast Iron Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Soda Bread in a Cast Iron Skillet

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2013

      We really enjoy this bread and make it several times a week. I don't add any fruit to it and we're happy with the amount of sugar suggested in the recipe. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that we really prefer a more rustic type of Irish Soda bread, but this bread is a great substitute for us, and will continue to make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Very good. The kids don't like caraway so I used cinnamon, and I soaked some craisins then drained them and chopped them fine as no one here likes chunks. Great texture. Most of the kids liked it. Will make again using different spices and most likely without fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I loves me some soda bread! I used this to inaugurate my new cast-iron pot. I used half whole-wheat flour and half white flour, and it worked fine. It was plenty sweet for us—I wouldn't add more sugar, and might even use less next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I followed the directions exactly as written except used golden raisins in place of the currents. It turned out great. Everyone loved it. Perfect for our pre-St. Patty's Day celebration. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I have this same recipe...It rocks been making it for over 20 years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This was wonderful! My family has an addiction to the Irish Soda Bread we get at a bakery in Scranton, PA. My father purchases it regularly, and every time my sister and I visit there we have to make a trip to the bakery for this bread. Well, we don't have to wait for our visits anymore. The only changes I made to this recipe were to add Craisins (dried, sweetened cranberries) and baking raisins instead of the currants. And I think perhaps next time I may add just a bit more sugar as the poster suggested because we do like ours on the sweet side. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

    • on March 11, 2008

      wow! my gramgram is irish & german and she says 'there is no better recipe 4 soda bread than my greatgreatgreat gran'mam's, but i think even she would eat this one!'. so that being that , WE LOVE THIS 1 AS WELL!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Soda Bread in a Cast Iron Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (578 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1745.2
     
    Calories from Fat 494
    28%
    Total Fat 54.9 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 31.7 g
    158%
    Cholesterol 338.4 mg
    112%
    Sodium 2289.0 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 276.4 g
    92%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 81.1 g
    324%
    Protein 38.5 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes