Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2010

      Lovely. Really "Irish" soda bread is just a scone, isn't it? I added caraway seeds. So tender and luscious. Perfect with corned beef, scalloped cabbage and white beans with paprika. MMmmmmmm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Really good! Used Stoneyfield Farms fat free plain yogurt with good results. Love caraway seeds in soda bread but forgot to add them, definitely will next time. Really liked this healthy version. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was great! I will definitely make this again, though I want to try different dried fruits next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This was pretty good actually. One of the few with w/w flour. I made it quite plain (w/o caraway seeds or currants) for a bean stew I was serving. I loved it and am looking forward to having it with yogurt cheese. I never could stir in the yogurt but kneaded it in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      This was nice, quick recipe for soda bread. I really appreciated the ability to make it healthy by using 2 cups of white flour and 2 cups of wheat (like VickiKech I'm sure the texture would have been slightly better had I followed instructions to a T). I used Splenda and raisins. Also, I used a light Parkay spread instead of butter. My loaf baked up quicker than the stated time. 3/28/08- One year later, and I wanted to make this bread for St. Patty's day. However, I didn't have yogurt on hand so I substituted unsweetened applesauce and it was delish! I believe that the applesauce made the bread moister. Next time, I've been requested to make this bread with chocolate chips instead of raisins. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      THis was my first "go" at Irish Soda Bread. The recipe is easy to follow, but I found that the Whole Wheat Flour made the dough a little too dry to work with. HOWEVER, it tasted great after it was done cooking. It was a little less sweet than store bought Soda Bread (possibly beacuse I used splenda not sugar), but was perfect with dinner (and alone afterwards with a cup of tea!). I used regular raisins instead of currants. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was my first attempt at making Irish Soda Bread. It came out wonderful! I did halve the recipe using 100% whole wheat pastry flour, raisins, and little less sugar. I was worried that the dough was too wet (sticky) but it was fine. I checked the bread at 30 mins and baked for an hour in total. Definitely better than any store bought Irish Soda Bread that I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Fantastic Soda Bread!!! I was making this because I was out of bread and out of yeast. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and a combination of sour cream and yogurt because I did not have enough yogurt. I added the caraway seeds but not the raisins. We ate 3/4 of the loaf while it was still warm. I will definitely make this again as it was super easy and super good!!! Thanks Barb Gertz for posting a winner!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Made this to go with corned beef and cabbage for St. Paddy's day.DH loved it and so did I. Made a couple changes to suit our taste.I used real sugar but reduced to 1/4 cup, olive oil to replace the butter and left out the currants because I didn't have any. It was very good. This morning we sliced left overs and toasted in skillet and enjoyed again. Thanks for a keeper, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

    • on March 20, 2006

      I think this was one of the best soda breads I have made. I made as directed and it made a beautiful round loaf. Thanks Barb Gertz. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      Nice flavor for a soda bread. Very quick and easy to whip up to go with a simple dinner - I stuck it in the oven, made salad and a quick main dish, and everything was ready as soon as the bread came out. I used about 2 tablespoons of sucanat (unrefined cane sugar) for sweetening - 1/2 cup is much too sweet for my personal taste - and all whole wheat pastry flour. I used only 2 tablespoons of shortening; it was olive oil, since I was low on butter. It baked beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      I used 1 C. all purpose unbleached flour & 3 C. white whole wheat flour. I used Splenda. Result: a hearty, earthy, tasty bread. To be honest, the original flour would probably make a nicer result, but I'm into whole grains at the moment. Either way, it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      For some reason I didnt put my stars up on the previous review...duh!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3206.3
     
    Calories from Fat 529
    16%
    Total Fat 58.8 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 33.9 g
    169%
    Cholesterol 144.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 5527.8 mg
    230%
    Total Carbohydrate 605.0 g
    201%
    Dietary Fiber 32.7 g
    131%
    Sugars 224.0 g
    896%
    Protein 80.2 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes