Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2006

      This was so easy to make and I could hardly wait for it to be cool enough to slice! I had it with butter and home-made strawberry & rhubarb jam. Lovely! I used 50/50 plain and stoneground wholemeal flour as I prefer brown soda bread. I guess the wholemeal flour was the reason that I had to use additional buttermilk to bind it all together (about 1/4 cup). I'll defenitely be making this again! *UPDATE* I have finaly tried the recipe as it is written because I was out of wholemeal flour and just wanted to add, that it's still a great tasting soda bread, that I just can't stop eating!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      GREAT stuff. Not a raisen bread, herb bread, or wheat bread. Just a simply delicious pure Irish soda bread. I'm sitting in a Nairobi guest house with minimal ingredients. Had to leave out the cornstarch and soured some milk by adding vinegar. Sprinkled with salt before baking. The bread was excellent. My housemates are raving over a simple meal of bean soup and soda bread. Doesn't get any better than this for a cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

    • on October 23, 2008

      I've been making this recipe since I found it this past March and it's gotten rave reviews, including from a friend of mine who said it was as goor or better than teh soda bread she had on her trip to Ireland. It's an all around huge hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Sorry,but I have to agree with one of the reviewers that this bread is dry. I have been making Irish soda bread since I was a pre teen (which Ilearned from my mother). If you omit the corntarch and add 4 tbls. of butter I think you will see a differnce. Good luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Sorry, I was not a fan of this recipe. I found it much to dry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I made this yesterday after working all day. Easy to make - house smelled soooo good while it was baking! This is the texture of the bread I remember having when I was younger on St. Patrick's Day. Thanks for sharing! Updated 3/17/08 - Many requests again for this wonderful bread. Quick and easy to make and so very good. Love the texture and the crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This came out perfect - followed to the letter! A very heavy bread that I served with Irish stew. Now we all need a nap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

    • on October 23, 2007

      this bread was great. I followed the instructions pretty much perfectly. for buttermilk I did 2%, a dollop of plain yogurt, and about 2 tsp vinegar. the bread was great. the flavour was perfect- not to salty, but still flavourful. The crumb was nice too. a pretty heavy bread, but the type of thing that's nice with a cup of coffee and some marmalade! mmm. Next time I'll knead it as little as possible to make it a bit fluffier, and maybe see what happens if I don't let it sit for the 10 minutes before baking, because the crust was pretty dry, and maybe not doing that might have an affect. Other than that, this was a great recipe and I will definitely be making this again! thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I don't bake...especially bread. But this, this was easy! I wasn't expecting it to be as sticky as it was in dough form but it turned out fabulous! Served with Janic412's Irish Guiness Beef Stew...delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This was pretty good. It didn't quite have the flavor I was expecting, but it was good with some butter spread on it. I did find that the loaves rose a lot, which was a surprise after reading some of the other reviews. I made this to accompany dinner and half of this recipe would have been plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      Excellent recipe and instructions, this was my first time making bread and it turned out great. scrumptious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Excellent easy recipe. Like another reviewer I used half wholemeal, half plain and had to add extra buttermilk. A word of warning though to shape the loaf exactly the way you want it- it didn't expand as much as I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      Via my Irish boyfriend have I come to love Irish soda bread. This is exatly like he makes it. Thanks ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      Just a comment: most traditional irish soda breads have caraway seeds on top. Just brush a little egg white and sprinkle the seeds on top before baking! It's a great, classic addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2001

      One of the better Irish Soda Breads I have eaten. Good job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1551.8
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    70%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 3114.5 mg
    129%
    Total Carbohydrate 317.0 g
    105%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    40%
    Sugars 19.8 g
    79%
    Protein 48.9 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites