17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so easy to make and I could hardly wait for it to be cool enough to slice! I had it with butter and home-made strawberry & rhubarb jam. Lovely! I used 50/50 plain and stoneground wholemeal flour as I prefer brown soda bread. I guess the wholemeal flour was the reason that I had to use additional buttermilk to bind it all together (about 1/4 cup). I'll defenitely be making this again! *UPDATE* I have finaly tried the recipe as it is written because I was out of wholemeal flour and just wanted to add, that it's still a great tasting soda bread, that I just can't stop eating!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- January 23, 2006

GREAT stuff. Not a raisen bread, herb bread, or wheat bread. Just a simply delicious pure Irish soda bread. I'm sitting in a Nairobi guest house with minimal ingredients. Had to leave out the cornstarch and soured some milk by adding vinegar. Sprinkled with salt before baking. The bread was excellent. My housemates are raving over a simple meal of bean soup and soda bread. Doesn't get any better than this for a cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Paul November 05, 2009

I've been making this recipe since I found it this past March and it's gotten rave reviews, including from a friend of mine who said it was as goor or better than teh soda bread she had on her trip to Ireland. It's an all around huge hit!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Ryann Parker October 23, 2008

Sorry,but I have to agree with one of the reviewers that this bread is dry. I have been making Irish soda bread since I was a pre teen (which Ilearned from my mother). If you omit the corntarch and add 4 tbls. of butter I think you will see a differnce. Good luck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 May 04, 2008

Sorry, I was not a fan of this recipe. I found it much to dry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jayne Bush March 24, 2008

I made this yesterday after working all day. Easy to make - house smelled soooo good while it was baking! This is the texture of the bread I remember having when I was younger on St. Patrick's Day. Thanks for sharing! Updated 3/17/08 - Many requests again for this wonderful bread. Quick and easy to make and so very good. Love the texture and the crust!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ March 18, 2008

This came out perfect - followed to the letter! A very heavy bread that I served with Irish stew. Now we all need a nap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilgal December 24, 2007

this bread was great. I followed the instructions pretty much perfectly. for buttermilk I did 2%, a dollop of plain yogurt, and about 2 tsp vinegar. the bread was great. the flavour was perfect- not to salty, but still flavourful. The crumb was nice too. a pretty heavy bread, but the type of thing that's nice with a cup of coffee and some marmalade! mmm. Next time I'll knead it as little as possible to make it a bit fluffier, and maybe see what happens if I don't let it sit for the 10 minutes before baking, because the crust was pretty dry, and maybe not doing that might have an affect. Other than that, this was a great recipe and I will definitely be making this again! thanks for an awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lieutenant Ducky October 23, 2007
Irish Soda Bread