Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Soda Bread 1 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Soda Bread 1

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2003

      OH MY GOSH Rita this the VERY BEST SODA BREAD, The flavor is absolutely delicious. I made it for dinner last evening. EVERYONE LOVED IT.I made it in my Iron Skillet(Spider- cherished kitchen item)Thank you SOOOoooo Much for posting the recipe. IT IS A KEEPER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      I grew up with grandmothers and incredible Irish Bakeries, so I've had great Irish soda bread. And this is GREAT Irish soda bread!!! I didn't add the cranberries because traditional recipes don't include them. Instead of mixing the caraway into the dough, I sprinkled it on top. Also, I brushed the top with buttermilk before baking for the nice golden top. (last thing, I put the raisins in a little water and microwaved them for a minute so they wouldn't dry out the dough) This is a fabu recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      I have made this recipe for the last 3 years and can't believe I haven't rated it yet. This is the best soda bread I have ever tried. I soak the raisins and cranberries in whiskey but don't drain them all the way to keep more of the whiskey taste in the bread. I add additional flour to make up for the extra liquid just until the dough is slightly less wet. Then I bake and eat it, and eat some more, and then eat a little bit more. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      One major problem with this soda bread - OMG I can not stop eating it - I made it yesterday and cut a piece when still pretty warm and have not stopped since - I toasted a thick slice to go with eggs this morning - oh yum. I did not have any dried cranberries (can not wait to try with them) so I used raisins and currents and I did not drain the whiskey off them before adding to the recipe. I did not have the black caraway seeds (have never seen any, but will look for them) so used regular ones. Really like the combination of the sweet of the fruit and the kick of the caraway. I ended up needing about 1/4 cup more buttermilk and I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup - don’t care for too much sweet - it was perfect - will be making this again and again - Thank you for such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Excellent recipe, I used both reg and golden raisins and omited the cranberries, the taste and texture were perfect. Will keep this recipe to use over again. Thanks Rita!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This was fantastic! This was my first time making soda bread, and it was just great. I used water to soak the dried fruit as I didn't have any whiskey in the house. Other changes: I didn't use a food processor, but just mixed the wet and dry ingredients separately and added the fruit and seeds last. I reduced the amount of caraway seeds to 2 teaspoons, which was just perfect for my taste. Lastly, I baked it in a 9in springform pan instead of the cast iron skillet. Absolutely delicious...I'll never have to search for a soda bread recipe because this is it...it's the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      First of all, I'm now convinced that I should soak cranberries and raisins in whiskey more often - they're good all by themselves! This is indeed moist and tasty. I included all the whiskey and consequently added some more flour. I was afraid of the caraway seeds, so I only added one teaspoon, which was just enough to add the flavoring without overwhelming. Mine was baked in about 35 minutes. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      Wonderful! I didn't realize that I was out of raisans, so I used dried cranberries only. Very, very good. It was equally good the next morning for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      I make soda bread every year, its the ONLY traditional St Patty's Day food my husband likes. This recipe is the best I've made yet. The cranberries are a great addition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      Finally found what I have been looking for. I didn't have cranberries so used all golden raisins soaked in apple brandy. We have been having this for breakfast and is so good,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      This is quite good but sweet, which is okay for a snack but doesn't work as well when served with dinner. The caraway and raisins work really well together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      So good and sooo easy. After making it several times with regular caraway seeds, I searched out the nigella sativa seeds (labeled as Charnushka in my spice shop - look in an Indian grocery). My husband and I prefer the plain old caraway seeds. The nigella sativa seeds gave it the flavor of how pencil shaving smell. Not a bad taste, just not our preference. The dough has never been dry enough that I can knead it. Just stir well and dump the sticky glob into your cast iron. It will still set up beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This was great! I used mixed jumbo raisins and soaked them in 2 Tbs whisky and 2 Tbs water (we only had the good Irish left!) and I used 1 Tbs caraway. (I couldn't imagine using more caraway than that!) I also might leave out the caraway next time, because while I loved it--DH thought it had too much "rye bread" flavor. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This is EXCELLENT !!! It was the first soda bread I ever made and it was easy! Everyone loved it. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      YUMM!! This was amazing!!! The flavour was wonderful and it was soo easy to prepare!!!! The only thing was that it had to bake for too long!! I was being tortured while waiting..:P Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This delicious bread is really like a giant scone. I didn't add the caraway seeds and I used currants instead of the raisins and cranberries. It kept very well and was great with dinner and for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I was looking for the BEST irish soda bread and i found it! Sometimes with soda bread, one can take it or leave it. With this one, you can't stop eating it! I didn't use the whiskey, just the water...very necessary to plump them because they stay juicy and the bread stays moist. I will not be making anyone else's recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Wonderful!! I wanted to give this a try before a St. Paddy's Day get-together. I increased the Irish whiskey to a 1/2 cup and let the raisins and dried cranberries soak in it overnight (I also didn't drain the fruit before adding the mixture to the dough..which really added flavor and gave it a kick.) I also added a tablespoon of grated orange rind, which added to the fruitiness. And, although I really like caraway seeds, I reduced them by half. Lastly, I made whiskey butter (1 teaspoon of Irish whiskey mixed with 1/2 cup of softened butter - 1 stick) to serve with this bread...so, to say the least, this recipe is not kid friendly:). I will make this often, and not just for St. Patrick's Day! Thanks, Alan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I have made SEVERAL Irish Soda Breads over the years and have never tasted anything as good as this one! I will reduce the caraway seeds next time by atleast half, they were too strong for my kids' taste-just meant more for me and my husband! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Rita this is wonderful! I even went the extra step and added in the whiskey which really seemed to add so much flavor to this bread and yes you can slightly taste the whiskey, I did not have any caraway seeds so I had to omit, I increased the dried cranberries to 1 cup, this is delicious and I will make again, thanks hon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Soda Bread 1

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.5
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    17%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 36.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 269.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    nigella seeds

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes