Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    274 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 274

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2010

      This is it! We've tried several soda bread recipes over the years but this is the one from now on. I used half whole wheat flour, half bread flour, low fat sour cream and left out the raisins (we aren't big on raisins in baked goods). It's the best looking and best tasting soda bread I've ever made. :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      simply the best ive eaten and now made please try it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Just made this and it is great!!! I accidentally bought fat free sour cream and was worried it would effect the taste, but it didn't. I baked it on a bread stone instead of the springform pan, and great results. Thanks for the recipe, and I look forward to making it again in the near future! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This is the first time I have made soda bread, or even eaten it. It tasted great but was too sweet for us as a dinner bread. It would be great at breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This is an AWESOME soda bread. Loved the flavors and the light texture ~ I mixed cranberries and currants and this came out beautifully. Love the addition of the sour cream for extra moisture. Made for ZAAR COOKBOOK TAG ~ January 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This is a very good bread, very nice flavor. I used golden raisins, since I had them and the caraway seeds. Will definitely keep on hand for St Patty's Day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      My sister makes this bread and it is ridiculously good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Yummy bread! Almost buttery or like a soft cornbread, though it contained neither of those ingredients! I left out the raisins & caraway seeds, but made everything else as is. I divided the dough into 6 and baked in a large muffin tin for about 25 minutes. They rose so high! Next time I'd cut back on the sugar as it came out sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I really, really liked this bread. I didn't include the raisins, but I definitely will have to try that sometime. The instructions were clear and easy to follow, and the baking time and temperature were perfect. I served this with Crock Pot Wild Mushroom Beef Stew, and it complemented it perfectly for a nice dinner on a chilly evening. Thanks, 1Steve, for another wonderful recipe that I'll be using again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Oh yum, i forgot the salt, it tastes more like a nice dessert bread to me. I'm awful at making breads and this turned out lovely. I also plan to try this foundation and sub in some other goodies, like cheese and onion instead of raisins and caraway. Thank you:) I used as a pizza crust, with good reviews from honey. subbed yogurt for sour cram and left out sugar, seeds and raisins. used extra flour to roll out to a cookie sheet sized crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is a really good recipe. Although I couldn't use as much of the raisins as I would have liked since my husband and son REFUSE to eat raisins. (It's like their kryptonite.) Anyway, the caraway seeds add a very nice flavor although I think one tablespoon is enough - more than that and it becomes overpowering. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

    • on April 14, 2009

      This is great, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This is a "keeper"!!!! I've never made bread before, but I've made this twice in the last 3 weeks. Don't change a thing, it's fantastic just the way it is. Thanks for sharing this gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      My only regret with this wonderful soda bread recipe is that I did not discover it before St Patricks Day! I have always waited patiently for soda bread until MArch and, quite frankly have been disappointed in most breads in recent years. Next year, I will be making this bread for saint Patty's Thanks for sharing! THIS BREAD WILL NOT DISAPPOINT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Let me just start by telling you that I had to make three batches before I was able to get one that people would stop devouring! I mean that! This is beyond good.... fantastic! I was surprised at how easy it was to prepare. I was very nervous about the caraway, as I swear I despise them. I used them, thinking of others instead of myself, and I was shocked (and humbled), to admit that the bread really benefits from the addition of them. I'm sure it wouldn't have tasted as good without them. I did follow one reviewer's method of soaking the raisins in Whiskey. I don't know if it added any flavor or plumped the raisins at all, but it made me happy seeing them in that cup! Besides, someone had to get rid of that leftover liquid, and not let it go to waste, right? I shall make this recipe and only this recipe from now on. Thank you so much for sharing, and my friends and family thank you as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Wow! The best soda bread I have ever tasted..............and so easy to make. I used the golden raisins, and with the caraway seeds it was perfect! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      This soda bread is fantastic, and the best recipe I've ever found for this Irish specialty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      It was really good. In fact it's much better than the one I got in the store for St. Patrick's day. I will make it for breakfast time to time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    28%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 263.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes