275 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was like the best irish soda bread. It was the first time that I've ever made irish soda bread w/caraway seeds in it and at first they took me by suprise, but then they really added a new depth to this bread. The sour cream kept this moist and delisious...wonderful toasted with some butter, thx.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina March 19, 2004

I made this and it was very good and easy to make. I didn't have any Caraway seeds so I left those out and it was still good. I'll make it again sometime and add those.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris H #2 March 18, 2004

What a great recipe. I've never seen carraway seeds in soda bread before, but they were a definite bonus. I made this in a deep, round cake pan and followed the recipe excatly. Delicious. Just perfect for my St Patrick's Day dinner, thank you so much for posting this, Steve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Katoomba March 16, 2004

This is a really great recipe, the only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it was a big glob of dough in the middle... it needs to be checked every 5 minutes at the end with a knife or a toothpick. I'm happy to have discovered Soda Bread... it's my first time both making it and eating it. It reminds me of cake without so many sugar calories! Cant wait to make it again, and it works great in a springform pan. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW March 18, 2015

This is so good! It tastes great and it's so easy I pretty much have the recipe memorized. I use half of the caraway seed and dried cranberries instead of raisins because of a few picky eaters but it comes out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
makennarose94 October 17, 2014

Really quick and simple recipe to mix together and the loaf looked beautiful, a real show piece. The only change I would make next time would be to use only 1 T. of caraway seeds, just personal preference. This bread is wonderful toasted. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 08, 2014

This was delicious! It was moist and tasty. I changed a couple things. I did not add the seeds, didn't have any. Instead of 1/2 cup of Sugar, I did 1/4 cup of Sugar and 1/4 cup Brown Sugar. I decreased the raisins to 1/2 cup. I also sprinkled about 2 tablespoons of sugar on top. I do recommend adding the raisins to the dry ingredients before mixing all together. The raisins clumped up in places. Substituting the 2c. sour cream with 1c. sour cream 1c. buttermilk will make a denser loaf. Also my 5 year old Rozie says thanks for naming it after her ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan and Jeremy March 19, 2014

Outstanding. I couldn't believe how sticky and difficult to mix the dough was so I had doubts about the end product... nope, PERFECT. Really pleased... Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David C. March 18, 2014

What can I say tat 268 other reviewers have not already? The combination of raisins and caraway (I used anise) just gave it a tremendous depth of flavour. Served with a pot roast with lots of gravy.<br/>Superb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms.susan February 02, 2014

OOOHHHH YUMYUMYUMYUM. That's what came from my mouth after I finished eating a piece. EXCELLENT soda bread! It was perfect and scrumptious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazypanda September 06, 2013
Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread