Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    273 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 273

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2012

      This really exceeded my expectations, even with all the great reviews. It was SO delicious. The girls in my family especially couldn't seem to get enough. It was so moist and tender. With only the caraway seeds and raisins (which we plumped in whiskey) to really provide flavor, I was surprised at how much flavor this bread had. We ate it as a side to an Irish stew. We ate half of the loaf, and I'm interested to see if it stays moist when we have leftovers in a day or two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      I used to buy this at Safeway all the time, then I moved and couldn't find it anymore. So, I searched for recipes, and I found this. Decided it's better than the store bought stuff. Also, super easy to make! I will be making this for a long time to come. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I've never made soda bread before, but do have a good reputation for making bread, so when my friends asked me to make soda bread for a St. Patrick's Day feast, I chose this one. Lucky for all of us, I chose this recipe. It was easy to put together although the batter took longer to come together than I anticipated. I used a tiny bit less than the 2 T caraway seeds, and opted for light sour cream, but glad I didn't leave out the caraway seeds, as they were a nice counterpoint to the golden raisins in the bread. Using a springform pan made it a cinch to get it out, and it was lovely. Thanks for sharing an easy, delicious recipe, 1Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Made it yesterday and evryone loved it. Thank you Steve for the recioe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      I don't know if this is the traditional way, but all the soda bread recipes I have tried in the past have yielded a very dry bread. Nevertheless, every year on St. Patrick's Day I get the urge to try again, looking for that perfect recipe. This year I tried this recipe. I used a combination of sour cream, plain yogurt and milk to arrive at the pint mark, and then I baked it just until the toothpick came out dry, which turned out to be at 40 minutes. It was just beginning to get golden, but I sacrificed color for the sake of a moist, airy bread. Well, it was a good tradeoff because it was moist, light and delicious! I think I found my perfect recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      This was my first attempt at Irish soda bread and it was DELICIOUS! Easy to make, and not too crumbly. Because the dough was so sticky, I ended up kneading it to incorporate the last of the flour mixture, and also to mix in the currants (which I used instead of raisins; they seem to taste the same, just smaller). It looked picture-perfect when it came out of the oven (after about 53-55 minutes). Thanks 1Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

    • on March 16, 2012

      Wonderful, I was pleasantly surprised. I have never made or ate Irish soda bread before, however, I am sure to make it again. It%u2019s simple yet delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      I'd never made or tasted Irish Soda bread until this weekend. It is amazing! I left out the raisins and caraway seeds but might add the seeds next time if I remember to buy some. I also did not have a spring form pan so I made it in a regular loaf pan. My husband and I ate the bread with two different meals and it went well with both. Amazing by itself with a bit of butter. Great recipe and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      This is fantastic, I always get complements on it! I like to play around with the amount of Sour Cream (sometimes more and sometimes less - it really creates different flavors/textures).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Really, really good! Made it for Sunday dinner tonite, everyone loved it. Mom had a second piece of this instead of dessert! Didn't change a thing, even used the spring form pan! Perfect!
      Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      I was looking for a great Irish soda bread recipe ever since I first tried soda bread and I found it in your recipe. It's wonderful and something I really look forward to making for St. Patrick's Day (although I like it enough to make year round). Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Superb! A delightful change to my morning routine and great accompaniment with my coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Everyone loved it! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! I've made this several times, usually after getting pestered by my kids repeatedly :-) I follow the recipe exactly as written and it turns out beautifully every time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Not that this recipe needs another review....I just want to put my 2 cents in. This bread is terrific!! I really wanted to purchase a loaf of Irish Soda Bread at a local bakery (and they make great soda bread)... but I figured I would give this recipe a shot since it had so many terrific reviews. I am so glad I did. This bread is so easy to make especially with my Kitchen Aid mixer and it so moist. I did adjust it slightly. I soaked the raisins in Irish whiskey (hey --St. Patrick's Day is almost here!!) and only put in 1 Tbs of caraway seeds and used light sour cream. I'll be baking this bread for St. Patty's Day instead of buying it!! Thanks for a great recipe!! Happy St. Patrick's Day to all!!

      UPDATE --I made this again ---in fact I made 2 loaves. I almost bought the irish soda bread at my local bakery because I was getting lazy! I didn't. This bread is so easy to make!! I added 2 T of caraway seeds in each --so glad I did. I again soaked the raisins in Irish Whiskey --- YUM!!. When I made the second loaf I didn't have any sour cream and I didn't want to run to the store so I used 2% greek plain yogurt instead. SO SO glad I did. My second loaf turned out even better. I don't know if this was a fluke but I will try it with greek yogurt again. I also made homemade butter - all I can say is YUM!!! This is one of my FAVORITE recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      This recipe was wonderful! Thank you for sharing it. I've made various other Irish soda bread recipes but this one is my absolute favorite. Some others recipes are either too dense or just taste like a form of buttermilk bisquit shaped like bread. The texture is perfect.
      This recipe is a keeper for my family recipe box.
      A slice was so delicious spread with butter. Thank you again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      PERFECT! For years, I have suffered through countless loafs of dry yucky irish soda bread. That is a thing of the past. I did use splenda (I'm diabetic) and dried cranberries (hubby can't eat raisins) but otherwise made as written and couldn't have asked for anything better. 19 yo son nearly devoured half of eat before the rest of us sat at the table! Will make this anytime, not just for St. P's Day now.
      Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Yum! Made this for St. Pattys. Didn't use caraway seeds. I only had 1 cup of sour cream, so I added one cup of buttermilk. Cooked in a 9-inch round glass casserole dish sprayed with canola oil. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This is just an amazing Soda Bread. This is my third year attempting and my third recipe so obviously the first two were not keepers. This one got "RAVE" reviews from all that had some and could not stop eating it. From my 2 yr old grandson to fussy adults. It certainly is a keep from now on and I had request to make it again real soon. I did not have enough sour cream only 1 cup so I used that plus one cup of low fat plain yogurt and it still came out perfect. Oh and I also used a 8 1/2 inch round cake pan because I wanted it to be higher still it was perfect in every way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    28%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 263.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites