Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    273 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 273

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2004

      I made this and it was very good and easy to make. I didn't have any Caraway seeds so I left those out and it was still good. I'll make it again sometime and add those.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      What a great recipe. I've never seen carraway seeds in soda bread before, but they were a definite bonus. I made this in a deep, round cake pan and followed the recipe excatly. Delicious. Just perfect for my St Patrick's Day dinner, thank you so much for posting this, Steve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      Really quick and simple recipe to mix together and the loaf looked beautiful, a real show piece. The only change I would make next time would be to use only 1 T. of caraway seeds, just personal preference. This bread is wonderful toasted. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      This was delicious! It was moist and tasty. I changed a couple things. I did not add the seeds, didn't have any. Instead of 1/2 cup of Sugar, I did 1/4 cup of Sugar and 1/4 cup Brown Sugar. I decreased the raisins to 1/2 cup. I also sprinkled about 2 tablespoons of sugar on top. I do recommend adding the raisins to the dry ingredients before mixing all together. The raisins clumped up in places. Substituting the 2c. sour cream with 1c. sour cream 1c. buttermilk will make a denser loaf. Also my 5 year old Rozie says thanks for naming it after her ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      Outstanding. I couldn't believe how sticky and difficult to mix the dough was so I had doubts about the end product... nope, PERFECT. Really pleased... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      What can I say tat 268 other reviewers have not already? The combination of raisins and caraway (I used anise) just gave it a tremendous depth of flavour. Served with a pot roast with lots of gravy.<br/>Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      OOOHHHH YUMYUMYUMYUM. That's what came from my mouth after I finished eating a piece. EXCELLENT soda bread! It was perfect and scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      I've made this bread for St. Patrick's Day for the last couple of years. Personally I think the raisins and caraway seeds are a must. The caraway really does add a neat flavor to it. I find it easiest to mix in the seeds when you stir together the dry ingredients. The dough gets really stiff and sticky so it can be difficult to get an even distribution of the seeds throughout the dough if you add them with the raisins. This bread is heavenly when toasted and buttered. It's so good you'll want to eat it year round. I also made this with chopped dried apricots and 3 T of fresh rosemary, which smelled amazing while baking. I've used my spring form pan way more times for this bread than I have for cheesecake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2013

      Almost never give a recipe here for Irish soda bread a 5 rating but this one is exceptional. Granted it is very rich and not one I would make on a regular basis but certainly worth a top rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Left out raisins and caraway (husband was demanding soda bread and we didn't have these on hand), but it was still amazing. Best soda bread I've ever had. The dough will look very dry/lumpy, but push onward and it will all be fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Absolutely fabulous! Need I say more?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Excellent luck the first time. Turned out like an artisan loaf. Didn't use a spring form pan, just baked it on a cookie sheet. I found the for batter is very wet and stickier than most, but turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      FIrst time making soda bread and it was good! I didn't have caraway seeds or raisins but I just chopped dried dates. It was really yummy and I served it with Guinness Stew. It was a St. Paddy's day hit! Everyone loved it! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      The best bar none ever

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I can't bake to save my life, and this turned out incredible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Indeed there is a reason why its 5/5 stars. It is good. I don't understand the flour on top of the bread but then again I am 4th generation removed from Ireland! I only made 2 slight modifications; I boiled the raisins for a few minutes and I didn't have caraway seeds so I used just a splash of anise. I read online cumin can be mistaken as caraway in recipes but that is so wrong. After I searched the definition of caraway I found anise was the closest I had. (fwiw)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Well this recipe, does not need any more reviews....but I had to put my 2 cents in. Outstanding! Best soda bread I have ever had! It sure beats the recipe I have used for years.....I was out of caraway seeds, darn it. This will be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      I made four of these in the past two days. Best Irish Soda Bread I've ever had (and I never even liked it before but do now). Easy to put together and the taste and texture were great. Not dry like many of the others I've tried in the past. The only thing I changed about this recipe was adding less caraway. I wasn't sure if I liked caraway so I added only 1 tsp which seemed like a great amount (just a hint and just enough flavor for me). Next time I will bump it up a little more to see how it is. I definitely think this needs the caraway, just that 2 tablespoons sounded like a lot for me. I managed to eat a whole loaf myself over the past few days and gave the others as gifts wrapped up with a bar of Kerry Gold Irish Butter. Looked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      This recipe was different than others ive seen. It was a bit blan, so maybe add a pinch or two of cinnamon. It was bad at first, but with a bit of butter on a warm slice made it delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      I am giving this recipe 5 stars based on what our priest, Father Murphy, said. He is Irish and I made this for him for his birthday. He said that it was very good and just like the real thing in Ireland. I plan to make this for our family for st. pattys day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    28%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 263.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites