280 Reviews

Fabulous 1Steve! Made this yesterday and it was just perfect. I can see that this recipe is open to one's creativity... and am planning to try several different addition ideas. Thanks a bunch for sharing :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickie May 08, 2002

I have been making this recipe for years and the family expects it every Saint Patrick's Day! I use chocolate chips and serve it as a dessert! Yum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas March 01, 2011

This is my go-to soda bread recipe. I make this around the holidays every year, and instead of raisins and caraway seeds I'm going for cranberries and candied pecans this time around.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
macuna42 December 24, 2010

I am someone who doesn't like soda bread, but I saw this recipe, read all the great reviews and figured I'd give it a try for St. Patrick's Day. I have to say I liked it. I think I won't use the caraway seeds the next time, just as a personal taste preference. Two work colleagues who like soda bread said it was delicious. It is more bread-like and moist; other soda breads I've had are hard and dry. It was quick and easy to make. Thank you all!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlisinski March 17, 2011

Thank you for the recipe. I am a beginner cook and this was the first time I ever tried to make bread. It came out great and disappeared quickly. The recipe was well written and easy to follow!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zen Surgeon November 23, 2003

I made this last week and it went fast. Did not add caraway seeds or raisins due to picky eaters. My 12 year old insisted that I let her make it this week so she can someday make it for her family. Thanks for an easy good recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamMal July 21, 2010

It was a superstar at my St Patty's Dinner.<br/>I made a few substitutions.<br/>I read many recipes that used buttermilk , so I was nervous only using sour cream.<br/>I used 1 c. sour cream and 1 c. buttermilk to equal the pint of sour cream in the recipe.<br/><br/>I chose to make it a savory bread instead of sweet, so I omitted the seeds and raisins and used fresh herbs and cheddar cheese .<br/>I used chives, parsley and rosemary from my garden. I went light on the herbs and it was absolutely perfect! the texture was dense, but moist and everyone raved about it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmwood1012 March 17, 2014

Not that this recipe needs another review....I just want to put my 2 cents in. This bread is terrific!! I really wanted to purchase a loaf of Irish Soda Bread at a local bakery (and they make great soda bread)... but I figured I would give this recipe a shot since it had so many terrific reviews. I am so glad I did. This bread is so easy to make especially with my Kitchen Aid mixer and it so moist. I did adjust it slightly. I soaked the raisins in Irish whiskey (hey --St. Patrick's Day is almost here!!) and only put in 1 Tbs of caraway seeds and used light sour cream. I'll be baking this bread for St. Patty's Day instead of buying it!! Thanks for a great recipe!! Happy St. Patrick's Day to all!!

UPDATE --I made this again ---in fact I made 2 loaves. I almost bought the irish soda bread at my local bakery because I was getting lazy! I didn't. This bread is so easy to make!! I added 2 T of caraway seeds in each --so glad I did. I again soaked the raisins in Irish Whiskey --- YUM!!. When I made the second loaf I didn't have any sour cream and I didn't want to run to the store so I used 2% greek plain yogurt instead. SO SO glad I did. My second loaf turned out even better. I don't know if this was a fluke but I will try it with greek yogurt again. I also made homemade butter - all I can say is YUM!!! This is one of my FAVORITE recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches March 20, 2011

This is the best Irish Soda Bread recipe I have come across. I have an old hand written one I had gotten from a pub in Ireland decades ago... and I thought there was never any topping it.. Thanks for proving me wrong. I did add currants and soaked them in whiskey before adding to the bread. My daughter doesn't like raisins. It was still a great hit... Thanks for posting this recipe online Steve... * big hugs*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust March 17, 2011

Excellent! If I had known Irish Soda bread was so easy I would have made it years ago. I served it with sweet butter for our St Pats Day dinner. I love caraway but I think I would use just 1 tbls next time. Thanks 1Steve for this special treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 19, 2004
Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread