275 Reviews

It was really good. In fact it's much better than the one I got in the store for St. Patrick's day. I will make it for breakfast time to time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimsdream March 24, 2009

I made this to go along with our corned beef for St. Pat's Day, and none of us really cared for it. The caraway and the raisins just contradicted each other too much. I think it probably would have been fine with one or the other, but both was just a bit much for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) March 24, 2009

Absolutely fantastic. The only thing I did different is that I soaked the raisins in a little of the "IRISH" (Telamore Dew) to soften them. The wife whose mothers name was Jenny Cassidy loved it. God bless and keep up the good work. Cap'n Jack UPDATE: I made the first 2 loaves by hand and then I said to myself, Self, there has to be an easier way. YUP, I mixed the batter in my mixer with a dough hook and did it all on the slowest speed. I sifted everything into the mixer bowl. Don't over mix. Knead about 15 times by hand I used a #8 cast iron skillet that I let heat up with the oven. Best texture, taste and rise of the lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack March 24, 2009

This came out just awesome! Much better than I would have thought caraway seeds and raisons could produce! It was a table favorite on St. Paddy's, I didn't change a thing, and will be making this again and again......and again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat #2 March 23, 2009

Wonderful! I didn't use raisins or caraway but will next time! Served it to my Tuesday night group of 7 - not a crumb was left!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sho enough March 19, 2009

this was very good!!! I used agave nectar instead of sugar and didn't add the raisins or caraway seeds (the fam doesn't like) It was moist and firm and didn't crumble and had a wonderful flavor. And not too much fat as I used non-fat sour cream and egg substitute. was yummy!!! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wagirl March 19, 2009

Thanks for an easy and great tasting bread. I followed the recipe exactly except I stirred the caraway seeds (I used the full 2 tbs.) and currents (I had both raisins and currents - went with the currents as they sounded more exotic) into the dry mix before I added the wet ingredients. I was a bit surprised at how dry the mixture was, clearly more dough like than batter, but it turned out great. Next time I will use 3 cups of flour to start and add the other ½ cup as needed. Was really good with my Guinness beef stew, in fact so good I had to have a second helping. Next morning I tried toasting as suggested by another reviewer and then topped with baby swiss cheese - awesome breakfast food. Will defiantly be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Dayton March 19, 2009

Awesome!! What a treat! Made two loaves yesterday for our Lenten potluck dinner. Everyone loved it, even those who had never eaten soda bread. I added just a little more sugar. I did not have enough sour cream for one of them. The dough was heavier and it had a different texture but tasted great. I highly recommed the 2 cups of sour cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe, 1Steve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrbennett March 19, 2009

I would give this 10 stars if I could. I adore Irish soda bread, and this was my first attempt from scratch... it came out wonderful... everyone LOVED it. I didn't have a springform pan, so I just baked it in a ball inside an 8x8 pan... it took about 1 hr 15 minutes to bake. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyclone*Mommy March 18, 2009

The best Irish Soda Bread I've ever had. My husband said it was better than his mother's. A real winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxie59 March 18, 2009
Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread