Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    274 Total Reviews

    Showing 241-260 of 274

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2007

      Yum! This was perfect with Irish Stew. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Absoulutely Wonderful! This would also be very good with dill, onion, garlic or even cinnamon....very versatile! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Wonderful, tasty bread! I would not change a thing about the recipe. The caraway seeds are a great addition to the bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      Very good and very simple. I usually soak my raisins a little before I bake them. I happened to have a little grape juice left so heated it and then let the raisins soak in that while I made the rest of the batter. They were still chewy but fresh tasting and the bread was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      This is a fabulous recipe. Rather than a spring-form pan, we cooked it in a large, well buttered, cast iron skillet. The result was moist, fluffy and super tasty. Our guests loved this bread as much as we did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      This is the best! I absolutely loved the flavor of the raisins and caraway seeds together. I had never made soda bread before, and this one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

    • on March 27, 2006

      Dead easy and fabulous!! I left out the caraway and raisins for my kids and had to substitute buttermilk for the sour cream. Put it on a greased cookie sheet - worked great, makes a nice big loaf. My fiance, kids and their friends INHALED this bread and were begging for more. Will make this often. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      wow was this great, did'nt change a thing, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      This recipe was wonderful!! I made your bread for our luncheon here at work and everyone raved over your recipe! It was very moist. I will always make this thanks for sharring. Chef #284670

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      A wonderful sweet bread to enjoy with meals, or as a biscuit with tea or coffee. So easy to make, and enjoyed by everyone in the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I've got to add my kudos along with everyone else's for this recipe!I also used fat free sour cream, reduced the caraway seeds to 1 Tbsp, and used some whole wheat flour from Ireland for half of the white flour.The bread was superb!I didn't have a 9inch springform, only a 10".So I formed the diameter of the loaf to be 9".It filled out the 10" during baking.Try this recipe!Even with your own twist on it, it's excellent!The sour cream keeps it SO nice and moist, where often Irish Soda bread can be on the dry side. You won't be disappointed with this recipe.I can't wait to have some toasted in the morning for breakfast! Thank you 1Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      Wow, I would give this a hundred stars if I could! I baked this using light sour cream, 1/2 t cinnamon, 1/4 t nutmeg, and no caraway seeds in a 9 inch round cake pan. I also plumped my raisins as they were on the dry side. This was the best soda bread I've ever made for St. Patrick's day dinner!! Fast to put together, beautiful, and so tender and moist it should be made any time of the year! I am so glad I tried this and will make again and again. A big thank you 1Steve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      This goes in my cookbook for sure! Very moist and good flavor. It was the first time I tried soda bread and it was a hit at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      I never tasted or made Irish soda bread, my mother in law always made it. It was a hit with the polish ans Irish in my family and work. Made as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Everyone loved this bread, and my parents couldn't believe I made it! It was a very nice looking loaf. My 2 year old nephew kept saying "Thank you!" and "Yum!" while eating 3 big slices. I used fat free sour cream, left out the caraway, and plumped the raisins in hot water while I mixed the dough. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      I made a few adaptations for my diabetes. I used low fat honey amond yogurt in place of sour cream. I used Splenda rather than sugar. I soaked raisins in no sugar white grape juice for an hour before adding. I mixed eggs and yogurt together and then added the dry ingredients using my hands in the hand to knead into a flat circular loaf. I baked on a cookie sheet. It was the "HIT" of the St. Pat's Dinner and is now in my family recipe book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      This was really good! My mom, sister, and dad attacked it as soon as they saw it. It tasted very Irish-y

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      Baked 2 loaves. I loaf for my son's heritage project for 5th grade class, and 1 loaf for the family at same time.Unbelievably moist soda bread, directions were easy to follow. Thanks for a treasure! Did not try caraway seeds, will include them next time.Btw, first time ever attempted baking a loaf of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This is the best Irish Soda Bread I have ever tasted. I didn't have any raisins so I used dried cranberries, I left out the caraway and only had l l/2 cups sour cream...AND IT WAS STILL WONDERFUL! Thanks EVER so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    28%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 263.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes