Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Pub Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Pub Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    86 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 86

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2002

      Diana, this was a delicious stew! Everyone in my house loved it. The only downfall was there wasn't enough ; ) Will be keeping this recipe and doubling it. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2001

      One of the best stews I have ever eaten (and I have eaten a lot of stews)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This is a huge hit with my family, especially the men. I used lamb instead of beef, an extra can of tomato soup, substituted a can of Guiness Stout for the water, and added parsnips and a turnip to the veggies. YUM! I also made this in a camp oven over a fire pit while camping in outback Australia. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Wonderful! I made this in my cast iron skillet and it smelled so good. I froze it immediately after cooking so I could bring in on our camping trip later in the week. I served it with Traditional Irish Soda Bread Traditional Irish Soda Bread. Everyone raved about it. It heated up very nicely on the campfire in my skillet. This will be a staple on all of our camping trips from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Even though I overcooked this (about 3 hours), it was fantastic. Stew is DH's fave and the whole family loved it. The leftovers disappeared quickly. This is a keeper. I make this about once a month, and everyone still loves it. I skip the butter and add a little oil when browning the meat instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This Beef Stew is full of flavor. I did add about a cup and a half of fresh sliced mushrooms towards the end. It only took a 2 1/4 hours for the beef and vegetables to become tender. I only had one can of tomtato soup so, in addition I substituted 1 small can of tomato paste and a soup can of beef broth. Very nice gravy. Will keep this recipe as our favorite Beef Stew recipe! Can't wait to taste it tomorrow too after the flavors have melded together. It was a very nice Valentine's Day comfort food dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I followed Di's suggestion, and splurged on the meat. Used Alberta Black Angus steak and it was great. I did not have sherry of any kind, so used some Marsala and added about 1/2 tsp. thyme. This is a truly great stew recipe. I would offer one suggestion, if I may - follow the recipe according to directions, except add the potatoes and carrots after the rest has been in the oven for an hour and a half. I found the veggies a bit over-cooked. Next time I may try adding some turnips - LOVE those turnips!) Gravy was perfect. We had it with fresh home-made bread. DH says it tastes much like Louisiana Squirrel Stew, which he really enjoys. Thanks for a simple and great-tasting meal. We'll have the left-overs in a day or two and enjoy it all over again! November 23 - Made this wonderful stew again today only did not use beef cubes. I used Baked Italian Meatballs, (my DH's suggestion) and it was very, very good! Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      Di! thanks so much for the recipe,Irish Pub Stew!It was so easy to make, and it was absolutely delicious..I am looking forward to cold weather now, so i can gather my Friends up and serve them this great meal!Thanks again Lyn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      A great recipe. Made it this year on St. Paddy's Day, and I'll definitely be making more come Football season!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      Da bombdiggity of beef stews. Crowd pleaser! The flavor is so distinct, deep, rich and delicious. I used no salt beef stock and added some fresh garlic. Either way, this is a new St. Paddy's dish added to our traditional meal. It surpasses other similar stews. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      This was the best stew I've ever had or made. My now go to stew! I made this for 9 adults for a St. Patrick's Day Birthday Party. This was loved by all. I tripled the recipe so there would be leftovers. There were some leftovers, but not much. Because we tripled this, we needed to use a dutch oven and an aluminum roaster to bake this. 10 star meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      I was skeptical about the tomato soup but did like the result, though next time I will use beef stock instead of water to cut the tomato flavor a bit. I cut my top round into small pieces and browned very well and then added the onions for a bit before proceeding. It's a good thing since the potatoes and carrots were perfectly cooked after only 2.5 hours... and the beef was also tender then. The only other change was to add thyme and oregano. Definitely a keeper. Even better the next day!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      This is a wonderful thing! Though I'm not a fan of using condensed soup (especially cream of anything--a huge yuk!) as a base, the condensed tomato soup is brilliant. I would add that, as if one could improve this recipe just as is, I've also substituted Newcastle Brown Ale for the water and sherry for a different take--not better, but different and just as pleasing. I've even doubled the sauce/gravy with two cans tomato soup and two bottles ale, reduced on stove top 50% prior to oven. Warning: the latter results in a much sweeter dish. I'll be making this for years to come. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      This is an incredibly tasty stew. Additions I made are: When browning the meat and onions, I added garlic, a dash of montreal seasoning, healthy dash of worcestershire sauce, and a teaspoon of italian spice. I have always used a can of diced tomatoes, and found the tomato soup to be superior. The sherry elevated this stew to a new dimension, and I appreciate you sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Turned out perfect ! Made this to celebrate St Patricks Day which turned out to be a cold, snowy day. I did make some minor changes as follows: I used beef broth in place of the water, a merlot in place of the sherry ( it's what I had), added some dried thyme leaves, and preseason end my meat. In addition, I used a temp controlled electric crock cooker on 350, instead of the oven. I also let the meat, spice, liquid mixture simmer for a couple of hours before I added the veggies. Again, Perfect! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Made half a recipe and was excellent. I didn't have tomato soup so used tomato sauce, worked great and loved the smell as it baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      Best stew I have EVER had. I made a few adjustments... instead of Sherry I used 100% apple cider (not sparkling of course), which added the most subtle sweetness and it was delicious. I also didn't measure out the veggies exactly; added some extra carrots. Instead of cutting up the potatoes I just used several small whole ones. I love the rustic wholesome feeling of this stew--like I just came back from a day of hunting in the year 892 A.D.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Great stew...we all loved it.....only changes I made was to add chopped fresh garlic and substitued beef broth for the water. Delicious!! Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      I made this stew for the 1st time, just today.. and I can say for sure, I really dont like this guiness beer so many mention in here. It sounded so good, I just had to try it tho! I really liked the stew until the beer went in.... Oh well, next time I make it with out it.. or try the sherry. At any rate I think this is a really yummie base start for a wonderful stew, and looking forward to expermenting with variations till I find what works for my family. This is diffenently a keeper, Thanx so much for sharing it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      This is a PERFECT stew recipe! I used plain old stew meat and it still turned out "melt in your mouth" tender. Next time I'm doubling it to have more leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Pub Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (649 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1714.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1199
    69%
    Total Fat 133.2 g
    205%
    Saturated Fat 57.7 g
    288%
    Cholesterol 199.0 mg
    66%
    Sodium 1688.7 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.7 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 13.1 g
    52%
    Sugars 17.4 g
    69%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites