Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2011

      I am typically not a big fan of potato soup, but this soup was so delicious!! I used my immersion blender to puree it and added the polish sausage. My soup was a little thin, but I think it's because my potatoes tended to be on the smaller side. The taste was just perfect. This recipe is definitely a keeper - thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      Photo may be seen here (in Savor): www.annacia.com. DH and both feel that this is one of the best potato soups we have ever had. I didn't use any sausage and in place of the half and half I added about 1 1/4 cups of heavy cream (leftover from Christmas that had passed it's date -still good though- and had to be used) which likely had something to do with the excellence of the soup,lol. Honestly, it was something that you would expect in an expensive restaurant. I topped mine with sliced green onion and some black pepper. This is going into my Favorites of 2013 cookbook right now and I will most certainly be making it many times again (DH even ask me to print the recipe so that he can make it!!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Very good! I used chicken broth instead of water, used no salt, lots of pepper, and I added smoked sausage. I like my soup thick, which this was, and chunky, so I just mashed the potatoes a bit. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      I made this as 2 serves planning on giving the DM 1 and putting the other in the fridge for the next day but the DM ate up the lot in 1 sitting (not bad when she said she wasn't really hungry :lol: ). The only change I made was to use hi-lo milk for the half and half and Carisma potatoes (a low GI potato). Thank you Debbwl, made for I Recommend tag game and recommended by averybird.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      A very thick and creamy soup. This is comfort food at its best. Thanks, Debbwl [Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Wonderful and absolutely delicious with the smoked sausage. I used my immersion blender and it worked great - I like the idea of a creamy potato soup vs. others that I have tried. I will definitely make this soup again; in fact, we are having it again for supper tonight. Thanks for the post. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag, October, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Beautiful creamy and filling soup. I used vegetable stock in place of water and no salt. Company arrived unexpectedly around lunchtime, so I added an extra cup of stock and two sliced leeks that I sauted in a little butter. I buzzed it quickly with the stick blender and then added about 7 ounces of diced danish salami. It was a real hit with everyone. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Fantastic soup... i will however cut the salt portion in half next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Good and easy to make. I added chicken broth instead of water for added flavor and cut back on the salt. This was a thick soup. My kids said it reminded them of baby food LOL. It was tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      A wonderful soup, so easy to make and with loads of flavour - I did not puree it all, as we prefer it with some 'bits' in it. thanks for posting. I have saved this to use again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Super thick; and I love thick soups. I used turkey stock in place of water (so I used less salt), but that's all I changed. The flavor was mild and pleasant, but not bland. I made it without the optional smoked sausage, but I'm sure it's great that way, too...... or even with cubed ham. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I loved the flavors--Deb; the thickness was a surprise to me. I pureed with my immersible stick blender and added the Half and Half. Almost like porridge--very hearty and very filling. Maybe a bit more H & H would do the trick to thin, slightly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I just made this for Sunday lunch for the British Isles/Irish Culinary Cruise. I served this soup with cheddar cheese and Irish soda bread. I made it just as directed, except I only added 1 onion, and I mashed the potatoes instead of pureeing them. Still, it was a nice, simple tasty soup. Thank you for submitting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.6
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    36%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 22.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 848.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites