Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Potato and Leek Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Potato and Leek Soup

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2011

      LOVE THIS RECIPE! Did not have heavy cream however. I read some of the other reviews and saw that some chefs pureed, so that's what I did! I took probably 1/4 of the potato/leek combination and pureed it and added it back to the broth. No need for cream in this recipe! Also, next time, I would cut back the pepper a bit. Not for me, but my 10 year old thought it was a bit peppery, so I made some homemade croutons to float on his dish to try to get the pepper taste a bit less for him. I LOVED the taste of this recipe, however. GREAT POST LOONY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the recipe, and just don't like it. At first it was bland. We added some more salt and pepper and also cubbed up some ham (hubby's suggestion). Now it's not as bland, but there is a strange vinyl type flavor. I don't know if I just don't like leeks, if my leeks were bad, or what. It's not horrible, but just not something I want to eat. Hopefully my kids will like it, as I have a huge crockpot full of this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Tried this tonight, awesome, I also had no cream and mashed it about a bit, even fussy husband loved it, it will now be served often in our house, easy, warming and oh so delicious. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      OMG, this was sooo good! I added a bit of bacon and a 1 inch square of a parmesan rind. I also had no cream so I just mashed a few of the potatoes to thicken. I removed the parmesan rind before serving. Such a wonderfully filling soup on a cold evening. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I cubed some Irish bacon (rashers) and used shallots instead of onion. After sauteing the leeks, shallots, celerty, bacon, and garlic i deglazed it with some reisling and then added my cubed Yukons. Kept everything else the same. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      I made this soup because I had harvested my leeks and boy this is one great recipe. I still can not believe my father had it for the next day for breakfast. He does not normally like my soups. I made it lighter by using milk not cream and I only had basil so I used that instead of tarragon. Next time I make this I am going to have a bunch of toppings for everyone to try with it. I cook for 15 people and they all loved it. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      My whole family and I LOVE this recipe! Very filling, tasty and so easy to make. I omited the fresh herbs, but it still tasted excellent. I also partially pureed it, but still left some chunks. I will definately be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Very filling and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Very filling and tasty soup! Doubled the recipe and we used our hand mixer to make it more into a cream. Final touch: lots of pepper! :) Thanks Loony :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was yummy. I didnt use tarragon but did use Basil. I also ommited the celery and used butter instead of oil to saute the leek , onion and garlic in. I lightly took to the pot with a potato masher when it was cooked rather than blended it. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I've never heard of the Irish cooking with tarragon but I tried this because it sounded intriguing. The tarragon really made it different than the other recipes, and quite tasty. The only change I made: I veganized it by using soy instead of dairy and it turned out really good. One small comment: The photo for this recipe does not look anything like it. The photo looks like a pureed version of this soup, which this recipe does not call for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

    • on February 20, 2009

      I thought this was great. I altered it slightly due to ingredients on hand and my dislike of overly creamy soup. I used broccoli instead of celery as that's what I had at the time and I roughly halved the amount of cream as Ive made the mistake too often of having the vegetables overwhelmed by the taste of cream and I found that by halving it, it was just about right for my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I liked this and made only a few changes because I didn't have certain things on hand. Did not have celery and since I don't really care for it, I left it out. Also left out the tarragon and the parsley and used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth or water. Very nice and quick soup. Hoping it'll be just as tasty tomorrow -- maybe even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This was wonderful. The leeks just melt in your mouth, and the tarragon gives this soup a lovely subtle sweetness. I lightened it a tad by using half-n-half instead of cream. It's delicious as is, but I think crumbled bacon sprinkled on it would be a tasty addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Lovely soup. I pureed this with a hand mixer and will let it get cold, we prefer it that way now that the weather here in the south west has warmed up to the 80's during the day. I will serve with with some flat bread. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      loved this soup made it for my vegetarian daughter and her meat and potatoes husband. Will definately make again and again. This is a keeper.....Sroedl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      I just made this for the second time (minus the cream and some of the herbs). It has a delicious aroma, and is yummy comfort food. I use a stick blender to make it semi smooth and creamy. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      First time I have tried something like this. We loved it! It will be a frequent meal at our house. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      I decided to make this after my very first leek purchase. It was pretty good, although my two youngest kids wouldn't touch it. I used water (stock would have been better) and added a coupon of chicken boulion cubes. I will make this again, but will make sure the kids have an 'alternate' meal prepared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Potato and Leek Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.1
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    44%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 59.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 657.1 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes