8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I not a cooking enthusiast, so I'm always looking for recipes that are quick and easy. This recipe doesn't require many ingredients or a lot of time. Plus, it cuts the fat without compromising taste. I'm passing it on to friends and family.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen1 November 22, 2001

There's no doubt that these mashed potatoes are a bit drier than their buttery cousins, but in my opinion, it's worth the cut in fat. Mashed potatoes, once a gluttonous treat, is now considerably lower fat. I've made it twice with the leeks, but I'm considering trying scallions instead next time for a change.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elliot Targum December 28, 2001

This is what my Granny called "howd" - she also made it with garlic mashed in, and funnily enough scallions, so that is a good traditional Irish way to go. It is a really delicious recipe, very easy to make, and good for you. Granny used to serve it with garlic fried nettles as the green by the way, but if you want a similar taste and are scared of nettles, then try flash frying spinach in garlic and veggie oil. Nettles are better for you though! You need to pick them when they are small, rinse them in water, and fry them oil until they are wilted. Nice to see it in here Bergie - thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realfood February 21, 2004

Mine ended up being a bit less healthy than the recipe- I didn't have milk, so I cooked the leeks in butter and a bit of cream. I'm not a big mashed potato fan but I have no complaints with the recipe- it was simple, fast, and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miri_Eesti November 08, 2009

I tasted them and thought they were good. I'll be honest though I did add some extra butter. I love the method for using the leeks. I would like to try it with other greens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 April 30, 2009

Great stuff. really helped me impress my date. She talked about how good they were for the rest of the evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deer Hunter January 18, 2009

Quick to make, the leeks add a wonderful flavour, and there is sufficient milk to give this mash the creaminess we all crave for when we eat mashed potatoes. Because I want to throw cloves of garlic in wherever I can get away with it, I confess to having added 3 cloves of finely chopped garlic in with the leeks. What a bonus that one can eat this dish knowing that this dish is lower in fat than many comparable potato mash dishes! Thank you, Bergy, for a great recipe that I’ll certainly be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder June 05, 2005

Bergy, those are wonderfull mashed potatoes, nice sutle onion taste and the measurements are perfect; the potatoes were lovely fluffy and delicious! just the way we like them.Thanks for sharing one we will do again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf December 31, 2004
Irish Mashed Potatoes