Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Fadge (Potato Cakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Fadge (Potato Cakes)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      Delicious, easy to make. I love potatoes and this a great one to add to my collection. I used bacon grease to fry the cakes and served them with a side order of crispy bacon bits and a dollop of sour cream. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      My Irish mother made something very similar to this when I was a child 50 years ago. It was a way of using the left over potatoes after a family meal. The basic difference was that she didn't use the butter and salt until after they were fried in bacon fat. Hers were dry fried in a big old cast iron pan until they were medium brown, cooled and then refrigerated until morning. The problem is that her method created a lot of smoke. I find putting them on a sheet pan under the broiler works better. Just make sure they have a dusting of flour on both sides before they go under the broiler and to flip them half way through.These are great with bacon and runny eggs. That means they're probably very bad for you. Oh, well. P.S. You can have lumps as long as they're no bigger than a pea. I happen to like them lumpy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

    • on January 05, 2007

      I am not from Ireland, but these are good. Different, but good. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Horrible. Wound up with a goopy slop that was hard to handle and completely disgusting to eat. Had to add double the amount of flour recommended and even then it was nearly impossible to roll out into patties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Delicious potato cakes. Made them twice now. Once with 4 medium fresh potatoes peeled, boiled and mashed, and the second time with a little more than 2 cups of leftover mashed potatoes. Both times I fried the cakes in a little bacon grease. This great recipe is now printed and in my favorite recipe binder. Potatoes are my favorite food! A day without potatoes is a day without sunshine!Thanks Bergy. --

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      I make these whenever I have leftover mashed potatoes. They are my sons favorites. Most of the time the 'tater cakes' are eaten as fast as I make them. I sometimes add an egg & some finely grated onion to them before frying just to vary the flavor. We love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      This is truly "Ulster", where my mother's family is from. I use left-over mashed potatoes and "bake" them on a griddle until browned on both sides on low heat. Cool and store overnight for the next morning or so, fry them up in the bacon/sausage grease with any kind of runny egg. Freezes well. I always keep plenty in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      For a tasty, textured variation called Pratie Oaten try substituting fine oatmeal for the flour in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Fadge (Potato Cakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.6
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    24%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 338.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites