Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Colcannon (Winter Vegetable Casserole) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Colcannon (Winter Vegetable Casserole)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2010

      This was surprisingly good. I had never had Parsnips before and with this dish I discovered a new vegetable that I liked. I was impressed with the different kinds of vegetables used to make this hearty dish. I hate cleaning leeks so I did not use them and I cut the parsley by half. But I was thoroughly impressed to say the least and I will be using this recipe again in the upcoming colder months.

      Thanks so much for sharing. A simply wonderful companion to almost any meat and would work well as a main dish for a vegetarian dinner or while on a no-meat diet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      This is fabulous and a definite keeper for us. I omitted the mace due to personal preference, and increased the potatoes used to 2.5 lbs (1 lb just didn't seem like enough for 6-8 servings, nor did it seem like 1 lb would provide the right balance with the amount of leeks, cabbage, etc.). We served it with grilled pork chops and it was very delicious! I think it would be great with a slice of prime rib and some au jus too! YUM! Or with meatloaf! Or... ;) Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      This is my new favorite comfort food. SO flavorful and delicious. I did use actual mace. This recipe requires a lot of pots and pans, but the cleanup is totally worth it. Thanks Miss Annie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      YUMMY! I'm from Ireland, and I loved this recipe. Traditional colcannon is simply potato, cabbage, milk, butter, salt and pepper (it is a simple, easy, staple meal for some people here). This version gives it an interesting twist, lovely taste. Will try again. Colcannon goes great with bacon or gammon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I LOVED this. I halved the recipe and it came out great! There is only 2 of us so 6-8 servings is a bit to much, but this was so good I wish I had made the full recipe! I blended it up a little more than called for so it was more like smashed root veggies & cabbage with leeks. VERY creamy and nice. I didn't have mace, and usually don't use it so I substituted nutmeg. For the cabbage I had some napa cabbage in the fridge so I used that. I only had 2% milk and thought it should be a little more fatty so I added about 3 Tbsp heavy whipping cream to the milk. The picture ~Rita~ took is so nice I didn't take a picture of mine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was okay. I had to use nutmeg in place of the mace, since that's the only sub I could find at my store. I added some instant potato flakes to thicken it up and make it creamier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      I made this exactly as written but we thought it was just OK. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was an interesting dish, and I wonder if the combination is an aquired taste. I'm not sure that I cared for the mace. I've never had Colcannon before, so I have nothing to compare it to. It worked nicely as a side for corned beef.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I made this for a St. Pat's celebration and got rave reviews. I never would have put all of this together on my own. What a great combination!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      never have i had colcannon that was so delicious and has such a reminder of winter's passing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      FANTASTIC! I made this for the first time this St. Patrick's Day 2007 and it turned out great. I used about 2 - 2.5 lbs. Yukon Gold Potatoes and only 1 parsnip. I used everything else listed in the ingredients and maybe a bit more butter (to taste!). These are amazing and I could eat them just about every day. My Irish family-in-laws LOVED them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      Miss Annie, this was yummy! I forgot to buy parsnip, instead I used carrots which also gave the dish a pretty color. I lightly micro-steamed both kale and cabbage for 5 mintues and let it sit, covered until ready to stir into the potatoes. To make the potatoes easier to mash I added the milk used for soaking the leeks. (I warmed the milk, too.) Very easy to put together and hit the spot. Pure comfort food. I also was out of mace, so I used freshly grated nutmeg. Used white pepper, not black to season. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us. cg ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      There's something so delicious and so comforting about a simple cabbage and potato dish, and I think that's why this one didn't thrill me. The addition of parsnips and mace was certainly interesting (which is what I was looking for when I picked this recipe), but ultimately I think the sweetness of it detracted from the basic flavor. The leeks, however, were a very nice addition that I'd definitely try again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      This recipe was part of our St. Patrick's Day meal. I used cabbage instead of kale. It was very good. A nice hearty dish to serve on a cold day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I'm just posting a comment not a rating. This dish did not go over well, but I think it was due to using the wrong kind of potato. I intended to use Yukon Golds or another non-waxy potato, but DH did the food shopping and bought waxy red potatoes. I wasn't sure if they would work, and sure enough they turned out a bit gluey when mashed. Lesson learned: Do not send DH to the food store without explicit instructions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      I had this for lunch and it was great. Also used nutmeg instead of mace and the cabbage. Added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese and enjoyed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      When I looked at all the different ingredients listed in the recipe, I wondered if this was an unusual and upmarket version of Coclannon. I asked a friend at work who comes from Ireland and she says she includes parsnips, leeks etc too. So regarding Mysterygirl's question on authenticity, it passes the test with flying colours (I had to sub nutmeg for mace too though)! DH and I enjoyed this; we had it with vegetarian sausages for a real Friday night comfort food fest! I can also tell you that my version looked like Rita L's photograph; but without the immaculate presentation though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      I browned bacon fist then sauteed cabbage.The bacon gave this a great flavor as did the leeks! Real Yummy Comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      I've never had colcannon before so I can only review this on taste and not authenticity. As far as taste is concerned this is excellent. I had never cooked kale before and dh requsted that I use it instead of cabbage. I also subbed nutmeg for mace since I didn't have any on hand. I must tell you that this is just an excellent cold weather dish. Very filing and very comforting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      This is crazy good!! I've made Colcannon many time before but just with potatoes and cabbage. This takes the dish to a whole ( and very satisfying) new level. Our gourmet market sells Irish Bangers. I served those, this colcannon and beer bread for a very tasty dinner. We had left over colcannon that I formed into small patties and fried up in butter and served with fried eggs for breakfast. A real stick-to-the-ribs meal on a cold day. Many thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Colcannon (Winter Vegetable Casserole)

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.8
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    30%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 15.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 494.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites