Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Colcannon (Creamy Potatoes and Cabbage) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Colcannon (Creamy Potatoes and Cabbage)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2007

      Who needs a main dish? I could eat this all by itself! I used the cabbage and the leeks. I didn't do the optional step of liquifying the cooked cabbage. I like the slight crunch in the mashed potatoes. I added just a little bit more salt. This is a real keeper! Thanx for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      I'd picked this out for St. Paddy's Day then at the last minute changed the menu so only got around to making it now. What a waste to have waited so long - the taste is so much more flavorful and hearty than regular potatoes and the mace gave it just the right touch. Really enjoyed this, made as directed only change was to cut the amount in half for the two of us and still have plenty left to make some potatoe cakes today that I'm sure will be just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Love this! I can't wait to make this again. We did not use all of the cabbage or onions, but still yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      A friend brought this to a pot luck party a couple months ago, and I ended up eating about half of it, despite not especially liking cabbage or leeks. I've been trying to find a recipe for a while to make my family try it, but I forgot what it was called... finally found one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This was really yummy! Thanks for the recipe! I did use the suggestion to use nutmeg (mainly because I didn't have mace) and I added 3 cloves of grated garlic. Even my 13 year old daughter loved it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Wonderful! I used the kale instead of the cabbage, and the milk instead of the cream. Everyone in my family loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Tried this for a last minute St.Pat's meal. Everyone thought it was great, even a picky eater friend. No one realized that it had cabbage in it. Tried to liquify the cabbage, but it didn't work to well. Next time won't bother.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      I really liked the flavor combination of the cabbage and potatoes, but the recipe needed more flavor. Next time I'll add more pepper and mace and a little more salt. Thanks Luvinlif2k

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Great side. Even dh ate it. Shock! He hates anything green but this was just slightly green. lol The cabbage cooked up sweet and went so nice with the creamy potatoes. Thanks luv! zwt 3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      A wonderful side dish. I made this as written (using cabbage and leeks) for Zaar World Tour. I did not liquefy it. In the picture, it is hiding under the Beef in Stout - Northern Ireland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Made up a 1/2 batch of this and man is it good. Used kale that I picked up fresh this morning at the market and green onions. Rich and entirely satisfying accompanying a grilled chicken breast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Well, this brought back memories of nana. I may be a Kiwi but we are definitely of working class Irish stock. I remember nana making this & serving it with pan fried (in dripping!) lamb chops (no grilling in her day to reduce fat!). I served this tonight with [recipe=222394]marinated steak[/recipe] and [recipe=229416]Champinones Al Ajillones[/recipe]. Thank you for posting this, it's definitely colcannon how I remember it (simple & unadulterated).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Colcannon (Creamy Potatoes and Cabbage)

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.7
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    37%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 22.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 127.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites