13 Reviews

It snowed today (16 March 2002) so I needed a neat soul soother - look at the contents, what can I say - I am pleasantly buzzed, content and ready for bed! Thanks Gay

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 17, 2002

Made these at the cottage last night. Delicious! At one point we substituted the white sugar for brown sugar and it was really good, too. You could think of trying this for a change. Both ways were delicious.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert April 07, 2002

DH loves the specialty coffee beverages and I find them rather expensive to purchase so I recently convinced him I could make more variety myself and spend a lot less money doing this. Tonight I made this and rather than stop at the usual (price limiting) one cup, he asked for a second cup when he'd finished the first. He told me, 'this is really good!' Of course, I had to join him in a second cup myself although I cut back on the whiskey in the second cups. I've found in the past that whiskey will usually kick a cold for me so I thought this just might do the trick with the one I've got now, which would be great since I've got my son's graduation and reception to host tomorrow! Thanks for sharing a pleasant and relaxing treat Gay!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn December 20, 2002

I didn't know Irish coffee was so easy to make (especially when you subsitute the real whipped cream for the kind in the bottle!!) Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill February 29, 2004

DH gave this a 5+ star rating. He said it "warmed his belly". I wish I could have "LATE night coffee" but it keeps me up.:( He always gets all the fun. :) Thanks for posting. Made for "Comfort Cafe" tag game 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 17, 2009

The proper name for this is called "Blond in a Black Skirt". My good friend had gone to Ireland and during her travels, found out the authentic way to make these after dinner drinks. We use Redbreast Irish Whiskey, brown sugar cubes and fresh whipping cream. In a wine glass (that fits in the microwave) dissolve the brown sugar cube in the whiskey, then add freshly brewed coffee. Whip the cream with a whisk until slightly thickened (about 4 minutes...not whipped) Pour on the back of a spoon so that it floats! My DH quite often, would rather drink one of these "Blonds" than have dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl November 04, 2008

This coffee packs a punch! I used some low suagr french vanilla coffee creamer instead of cream and splenda sweetener. A bit too strong for my liking, but thats just me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme March 09, 2008

I would give this 2 stars, but my hubby would give it probably 3.5 to 4 stars, so I kinda split the difference. To me it tasted more like whiskey and less like coffee--but my hubby says it gets better as you drink it, so maybe I should have finished mine instead of taking a couple of sips and deciding I didn't care for it. It was easy to make, which was a plus! Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M to the K December 27, 2007

Very good, strong and comforting! I skipped the sugar. A nice almost no fat drink. I did use low fat whipped cream topping and topped with grated nutmeg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 05, 2005

This is so good. Just perfect, This is the best Irish cream recipe I have ever made. Thanks or a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio September 20, 2005
Irish Coffee