Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Cod Pie Topped With Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Cod Pie Topped With Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2007

      Very good! The sauce made mashed potatoes to liquid, but when it is cooler, it will be more in one piece. Anyway, it tasted great! The cheese in top made the nice tasty crust!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      The flavor was fantastic. (I used havarti.) However, I didn't make the mash thick enough; it melted into the sauce. You definitely want to make thick mashed potatoes for this. In addition, the fish wasn't done when the top was browned. That really surprised me. I took it out and microwaved it for 90 seconds. My sister, who cooks more than I do, said that she thought the fish should have been seared before placing in the sauce. However, other people making this recipe obviously didn't have a problem with that. Maybe it's because I used previously-frozen fillets?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      This is great comfort food. I chose a mix of sharp cheddar for the sauce and parmesan for the top. I used salt cod, 1 lb that i soaked for 2 days in advance, then i boiled it for 8 minutes, and flaked it. i sauteed some shallots, scallions and 8 oz baby bella mushrooms, and added it to the cod. i made and added the sauce, topped with the taters and parm- enjoyed by all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      With Rita's approval, I substituted pollock for the cod in this. I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception, I reduced the amount of fish to slightly over one pound as I was serving this as a main dish for three. It went over great, with seconds for two of us. Since the recipe doesn't specify what kind of cheese, I opted for havarti, which resulted in a lovely smooth and creamy texture. Best of all, it was extremely easy. I was able to boil my potatoes early for mashing when I was ready to assemble the dish, then pop it in the oven later. Thanks Rita for another keeper in my collection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Thanks Rita! This was just what I was looking for! Great comfort food for a cold rainy friday night! I cut it down for one person (I have a job as a personal cook) and he really enjoyed it! I did as others recommended, and seared the fish first; seasoning it with garlic, salt, pepper, paprika cooking it in a bit of olive oil. Broke it up into large chunks before layering the cheese sauce and potatoes. Served with glazed carrots with fresh dill. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Hearty and good! It was a little too saucy, but I didn't know that you have to add milk at room temperature, otherwise it'll curdle. It was still good just the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Great recipe to use up left over potatoes! I made a mini casserole out of this using one small fillet of cod making two mini ramekins out of this recipe. I seasoned the sauce with some garlic powder and onion powder to spice it up a bit. I also used skim milk in a small attempt to lighten it up. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Awesome comfort food! I actually expected this to be kind of boring but I was wrong. I did make a few small changes. I seared the fish in a skillet first to make sure that it cooked all the way through. I also used more cheese than was called for and added some dried onions. Also my family is gluten free so I thickened the cheese sauce with potato starch instead of flour. Lastly I went lazy and used instant mashed potatoes instead of making my own. It worked out well because I made them extra thick and they didn't melt into the sauce like other reviews had mentioned. I'm not a huge fan of cod but my family loves it and I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      Very good! I used this recipe as a guide, I used 1 1/2 lbs of cod, laid them in a 13x9 dish so they covered half the bottom of the dish. Then in the other half I put thawed frozen peas and par cooked thin sliced carrots. I poured the sauce over all and topped with mounds of the mashed potatoes, leaving space so i could see where the fish was and where the veggies were. Came out wonderful! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      When I spotted this recipe, I knew it was going to be good. The recipe reduces very nicely and leaves something for the imagination. I used red skinned potatoes which were scrubbed but not peeled, cubed them, added 2 cloves of garlic and boiled until fork tender. The milk was powdered milk which was reconstituted at extra strength to have more richness. The cheese was Monterey Jack. Also, when cooking the sauce, I added some white pepper and a touch of salt along with some fresh snipped chives. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Cod Pie Topped With Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 544.0
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    43%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 135.8 mg
    45%
    Sodium 910.7 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites