Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Carrot & Parsnip Mash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Carrot & Parsnip Mash

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2002

      Thanks for reminding me of an old family favourite that my mum often made. My youngest son had never eaten it , and really enjoyed it. It's a lovely winter veg, so sweet and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      This has been a family favourite of ours too! It is sooooooooo YUMMY!! I am raing this recipe high because I make this dish myself, though I've never added the parsley - I think I might from now on!! If you've never tried it before....I strongly recommend you give it a go! Karin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2002

      Had this for our St. Patricks Day cook a thon, its a recipe I have used for years, and a family favourite. Well except for my non eating vegetable son..lol..still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      I added half an onion, chopped, to each of the vegetables before boiling them. The result was just great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Sensational. Even my picky eater liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      The husband doesn't like cooked carrots or parsnips, but this was one of his favorite dishes in St. Paddy's day! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Tubbortons made this! A delicious puree. After the steam, a few pulses in the food processor made this the perfect consistancy. Then seasoned up it went! We loved the color, texture and flavor of the parsnips and carrots. Tubbortons!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Bergy: This wonderful Sunshine recipe became a favorite in our house. I served it for our best friends one night and the next for our other 6 friends at our get-together. They all raved about it and cleaned the bowl completely up. My husband told me to keep the recipe for another day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Was served this at a dinner party recently, it was made exactly to your recipe and was a wonderful addition to the main course. this is definately going to be a regular in my household. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I have always loved parsnips, and was looking for a different way to fix them. I forgot to get some parsley, but we made this without it and it was very good. I predict that this recipe will be one of my favorite vegetable dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I think this is a great take on veggies and a great low carb alternative to mashed potatoes. It would be great for a holiday dish...it's hearty yet not too rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Okay, this is my new favorite thing!! Really. I swear, I just wanted to add some flour, soy milk and Ener-G Egg Replacer and make muffins or scones or something. Actually, I may try that and let you know how it turns out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      Bergy, My new Zealand Grandma taught me this recipe as soon as I could stand in her kitchen and help out... and I still adore it today. DO use small sweet carrots rather than the really big woodier ones becuase the extra sweetness is very noticeable, the few extra minutes spent peeling them is well worth it. I get the stick blender out to get these really quite smooth but like them a little chunkier as well, it just depends on my mood and the day. Please see my rating system: a wonderful 5 stars for a veggie recipe that every kid should know the pleasure of growing up with. Comfort food at it's very best. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      We had the dish tonight, it was very good. My husband and I enjoyed it much. However, I suggested my husband to alter the steps a bit. We boiled the parsnip first since it took longer time and also it only needed salt. Then, we added the sugar and boiled the carrot. Finally, I used the water to boil some peas. I drank the water afterwards as a clear soup. The colour combination of the mash and peas looks really nice on plates and of course tastes good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      I could eat this by the bowlful. I skipped the salt and sugar and found 1T of butter to be just right. I'm having this again soon. So colorfully cheerful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      Made this last night for a special dinner and like all your recipes I have tried so far, was not dissappointed! I was making a typical down easterner's supper for some guests we were having over (Ham, beans, scalloped potatoes, brown bread etc.) and I wanted a nice vegetable dish to go along with it and chose this one. Excellent choice. I forgot to put the sugar in with the carrots, so I just added a pinch of brown sugar when I mashed them together with the butter. I also added a grating of nutmeg. Otherwise i did everything like the recipe stated. Thanks so much for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Carrot & Parsnip Mash

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    39%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 100.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites