Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-55 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2006

      We really liked this, and I might make it again for a change to our usual beef stew. A good recipe, but I have to be loyal and like my Grandma's stew better! The flavor was pretty good, but it needed quite a bit of salt for our tastes. Thank you! Update: This stew was much better the second day! (For the leftovers, I also added extra guinness and thickened with cornstarch.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      You don't have to be Irish to love this...you just have to have taste buds! My husband (of Irish descent) and I (of Polish & German descent) both loved this dish! I added potatoes and skipped the oven and just finished it on the stove, otherwise followed exactly. Thanks, Janic412!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      my husband liked this recipe. i on the otherhand, did not. it was bitter and i'm sure it had to do with the stout. when i make this next time for him, i'll be cutting way back on the stout. i, too, added potatoes which makes the stew heartier plus cut the thyme and rosemary ingredients in half. in addition, served with big chunks of italian bread and a side salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      This was so delicious and authentic - a perfect St. Patty's Day meal - I served with Irish Soda bread. The flavors were warm and comforting, just like any good stew should be! A keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      We did modify your original recipe to include potatoes, mushrooms & celery. My husband's eyes are always bigger than his stomach. We doubled the stock & guinness to accomodate the additional vegetables. The beef was really tender, the best we've made so far. We found the rosemary was a bit overpowering in the stew. I think next time, I'll only use 1/2 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

    • on March 10, 2005

      Added potatos and extra stock and Guinness, cooked on our patio in a dutch oven. No leftovers! We'll take this one camping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      Very good. I also added potatoes and about a cup of Guinness. At the end I also added some water and flour to thicken it more. I especially like the taste of the rosemary in this dish. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      Excellent! Cooked it over the stove top, I used two onions, doubled the Guinness and potatoes. Thanks so much! and thanks Kevin for promoting it too! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      I'm planning a St. Patrick's Day dinner and I wanted to experiment with a couple of recipes before I served them to guests. Well, this stew is the best! I did double the amount of Guinness and beef stock and added a couple of cubed potatoes. This dish will most definitely be on my table on 3/17. Thanks for sharing this recipe with all of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      Outstanding stew! Like my son, I had it with potatoes and, because of my onion intolerance, it was made with only a quarter of the recipe's called for amount of onions. Nice and thick, full flavored, great dish on a cold day. Served with thick slabs of bread. It'll be made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2001

    • on March 16, 2001

    • on March 05, 2001

      Mine came out really bitter. Doesn't taste too good on its own, but lovely with herbed garlic butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2001

    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout

    Serving Size: 1 (491 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 562.7
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    27%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 405.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 52.9 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites