56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a fantastic recipe. I made it as-is, and it was gone in an instant. From now on, I'm planning on a quadruple batch - leftover stew only gets better as those flavors blend! We've also served it over mashed potatoes and over egg noodles (nicknaming it "Irish stroganoff").

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Measi February 04, 2010

I have served this numerous times and always get raves. I add a bit more Guinness Stout and serve over garlic mashed potatoes. Great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef LindaKay September 30, 2009

My friends and I are going to see U2 in Charlottesville, VA on October 1st. We decided to have a "Rattle & Yum" party to get in the mood, and decided on Irish cuisine. I made the Irish Stew with Guinness Stout and it was a HUGE hit! I prepared it on Saturday and followed the recipe to the letter. Served it 2 days later so the flavors would marinade well. I did add a stalk of thinly sliced celery and about 12 small red new potatoes. Gotta have potatoes in Irish stew, come on! :) We paired it with a pint 'o Guinness, some bread, and Bailey's Irish Cream Chocolate Mousse Pie = CarbFest! Bono would have been proud...Rattle and YUM, baby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesleychamer September 28, 2009

I initially made it exactly as the recipe said and my kids and I agreed - it was too bitter. Perhaps it's an acquired taste but we didn't care for it. Anyway, I was able to change it up some and this recipe served as a good base for what wound up being our final product, which we enjoyed. We ate it with some Irish Soda Bread (#20616) .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarity148 May 14, 2009

Really good recipe. I added potatoes and mushrooms and doubled the sauce. Made the night before and reheated the next night. Very nice flavor and tender meat. Would thicken the sauce next time, but no one really cared that it was soupy, great beefy flavor. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K & c April 01, 2009

Very delicious! I almost didn't make this because I thought I already have a good stew recipe but this is so different and so tasty! Thank you! I served it over colcannon potatoes (#56965) with irish rosie's irish soda bread (#20616) what a delicious St. Patrick's Day meal! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
good2bdunn March 17, 2009

I first tried this recipe in 2003 and have been fixing it every year for St. Patrick's Day since. I even used for my catering gigs when I served 'seasonal' or themed lunches, got rave reviews! I also added potatoes (how can you do 'Irish' without potatoes!) and I added a handful of frozen peas right before serving for a pop of color. Wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefthyme March 12, 2009

I thought this was a good start for stew, put I needed to add flavor to it. The slow cook at a low temperature was perfect for an evening of kids activites. Popped it in the oven when we left and it was ready when we got home for dinner. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 January 13, 2009
Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout