56 Reviews

I made this today......and am still shocked at how good my stew was. I've made every stew I could find over the course of 45 years, and never got that "perfect" taste that I was looking for.....until today.!!! I can't believe that it uses a beer that I don't even like and turned out so good. (I didn't use 1/2 cup, just poured in the whole bottle.)
I browned the meat and onions on the stove,(I did lightly dust the meat with some flour before browning, made the broth, and poured into my crockpot. I think that helped thicken the broth a bit.
Then I added the sliced carrots, some celery and stirred them into the pot.Since my DH likes a little heat to his stew, I added about 1/2 jalapeno pepper.
After the stew had cooked for one hour, I added cubed potatoes and cooked for another hour. I added the frozen peas right at the end . The 2 hr. timing was perfect, although I did hold it on low for a while till dinner time.
Thank you so much for this recipe......I think I will have it engraved on my cutting board...Ha.
Donna
UPDATE..........I tried this with another stout, but it just wasn't the same. I was so disappointed and since I am going to make it again tomorrow, I bought Guinness this time. I know it will be great. ( My Irish Grandpa and his family in Ireland will be smiling)...Ha.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 September 02, 2012

Can't wait to try this. We just returned from 2 weeks in Ireland where one week was spent in Doolin. My husband must have eaten the Beef & Guinness stew every night at O'Conner's pub!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jshn July 11, 2012

I've tried several recipes for Guinness stew, and this one is perfect. Good and hearty, and not too sweet! I skip the carrots because we don't prefer them, and I use shallots instead of the yellow onion (because that's what I usually have on hand), but other than that I didn't have to make any changes. It's wonderful served over boiled potatoes tossed in salt, pepper, and fresh parsley, a side of soda bread, and a generous garnish of parsley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
976856 March 02, 2012

This was just okay in my opinion. The Guinness was not a recognizable flavor as the thyme and rosemary kind of overpowered. Not a recipe I will be repeating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 November 01, 2011

We loved this - it was simple enough that my kids didn't fuss about it! I made it to use up some stout, but I will buy more so I can make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook March 30, 2011

This was very good. Made mostly as directed, but put in oven in a big pot covered for a few hours rather than cooking on stove. Will make again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 March 18, 2011

Great recipe. I made a few modifications to initial recipe- I used the whole bottle of Guiness (< 2c), 1c of beef broth, fresh rosemary instead of dried as that was what I had, about a pound of carrots, and added 5 potatoes, peeled and diced. I browned the roast initially and cooked the onions in the pan with the oil and bay leaves like the recipe stated but I then placed the whole roast in the crockpot to cook (not cut into chunks) and shredded after it cooked- just fell apart easily. I put all ingredients in the crock pot and let cook on low for 8 hours. Wonderful flavor and many compliments!! People that don't like beer even loved the taste as the guiness was not overwhelming. Thanks for a great recipe I will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EKOFaith March 17, 2011

I fell in complete love with this recipe. Also like Fran Kelly I went to Ireland two years ago for my anniversary and I also visited O'Connors Pub in Doolin (I highly recommend) and had the Irish Stew. I have tried so many recipes and this is by far the closest I have come. Major comfort food served with Irish Brown Bread and a Jameson and Coke=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alleykat0523 November 26, 2010

Excellent recipe. I always make a dish exactly according to the directions the first time (my pet pev is when people do not follow the recipe exactly and then give it a low rating) and make adjustments to my tastes the next time. Will make it again and again with no changes. Easy to make, very good the day it is made and FABULOUS the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mumblefrat March 30, 2010

Excellent recipe! Everything blends very well. I did a couple tweeks but now many. I didn't feel like wasting a 1/4 c beef stock by dumping it (I used bouillon cubes) so I added 1 tsp flour and chopped up some potatoes and put in. Also used a crock pot after browning the first five ingredients plus the flour together. All in all a great recipe. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bassplayerthorp March 08, 2010
Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout