Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2000

      While on my first visit to Ireland in July 1999, the birthplace of parents, my cousin and I stopped in Doolen near the Cliffs of Mohr and had this marvelous dark Irish Beef Stew cooked in Guinness Stout" at O'Connors Pub. It was absolutely delicous and the first authentic Irish meal we had and while all the food was great there was nothing that could beat the Irish Stew. When I found the recipe on this site, I immediately tried it and it is exactly like what we had in Ireland. When my cousin came to dinner and I served it, he was sure I had gotten the recipe from O'Connors Pub while we were in Ireland. It was a cinch to make, directions were very easy to follow and it practically cooks itself. It is equally as good over mashed potatoes or rice. Try it, you'll like it. The one ingredient I added was a "wee bit of blarney"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2002

      Great recipe! I added some peas and potatoes to it and cooked it on top of the stove rather than in the oven. Easier to keep an eye on it. Really is better the second day!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2001

      I add more veggies and more stout, and cut down on the beef stock... green beans and carrots, potatoes and a little bit of cabbage. Best thing about this recipe is that you can mess with it as you like...nothing's set or required (beside the Guinness of course! :D )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      Fabulous! We just had our first cold day of the year and made this. It was wonderful. I did add potatoes, and about a full cup of Guinness. Other than that just followed the directions and it was much better than we had hoped for. You have to hope it's great if you're going to use Guinness in it, don't want to waste any of that :) Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Wow!!! This was so good. I was inspired to make this as we get something similar in a pub we go to. After having this and then going back DH prefers this one. I will add more liquid next time as most cooks out and that was DH's only suggestion for the next time I make it. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      One of my "go to" recipes now. I add diced potatoes and use more stock, typically two cups . The beer can be something less strong tasting than Guiness but....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      One Guiness in the stew for the family. 5 for me waiting for it to cook. I like this reciept. I also added carrots, celery. Very very good. I have it in my favorites to cook again. The family loved it even the little ones.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This was so great!!! Followed the recipe but added a few potatoes diced and used a full can of guinness subbing for part of the water. I did this on the stovetop on low for a few hours instead of cooking it in the oven So rich and hearty!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      I cooked it on top of the stove, and added some green beans to it. Served it with Irish brown bread and mashed potatoes. After the first taste, it became a favorite of hubby and son! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      At the first sign of cooler temps I am ready for stew or some other warm one-pot meal. This stew fit the bill. We really enjoyed the flavor imparted by the beer. There was a subtle sweetness to it. I did add all of the stout since I had a larger bottle, and I too added potatoes. This is a winner even if you improvise other veggies I think. This will be one of my go-2s for stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      I made this today......and am still shocked at how good my stew was. I've made every stew I could find over the course of 45 years, and never got that "perfect" taste that I was looking for.....until today.!!! I can't believe that it uses a beer that I don't even like and turned out so good. (I didn't use 1/2 cup, just poured in the whole bottle.)
      I browned the meat and onions on the stove,(I did lightly dust the meat with some flour before browning, made the broth, and poured into my crockpot. I think that helped thicken the broth a bit.
      Then I added the sliced carrots, some celery and stirred them into the pot.Since my DH likes a little heat to his stew, I added about 1/2 jalapeno pepper.
      After the stew had cooked for one hour, I added cubed potatoes and cooked for another hour. I added the frozen peas right at the end . The 2 hr. timing was perfect, although I did hold it on low for a while till dinner time.
      Thank you so much for this recipe......I think I will have it engraved on my cutting board...Ha.
      Donna
      UPDATE..........I tried this with another stout, but it just wasn't the same. I was so disappointed and since I am going to make it again tomorrow, I bought Guinness this time. I know it will be great. ( My Irish Grandpa and his family in Ireland will be smiling)...Ha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      Can't wait to try this. We just returned from 2 weeks in Ireland where one week was spent in Doolin. My husband must have eaten the Beef & Guinness stew every night at O'Conner's pub!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      I've tried several recipes for Guinness stew, and this one is perfect. Good and hearty, and not too sweet! I skip the carrots because we don't prefer them, and I use shallots instead of the yellow onion (because that's what I usually have on hand), but other than that I didn't have to make any changes. It's wonderful served over boiled potatoes tossed in salt, pepper, and fresh parsley, a side of soda bread, and a generous garnish of parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      This was just okay in my opinion. The Guinness was not a recognizable flavor as the thyme and rosemary kind of overpowered. Not a recipe I will be repeating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      We loved this - it was simple enough that my kids didn't fuss about it! I made it to use up some stout, but I will buy more so I can make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This was very good. Made mostly as directed, but put in oven in a big pot covered for a few hours rather than cooking on stove. Will make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Great recipe. I made a few modifications to initial recipe- I used the whole bottle of Guiness (< 2c), 1c of beef broth, fresh rosemary instead of dried as that was what I had, about a pound of carrots, and added 5 potatoes, peeled and diced. I browned the roast initially and cooked the onions in the pan with the oil and bay leaves like the recipe stated but I then placed the whole roast in the crockpot to cook (not cut into chunks) and shredded after it cooked- just fell apart easily. I put all ingredients in the crock pot and let cook on low for 8 hours. Wonderful flavor and many compliments!! People that don't like beer even loved the taste as the guiness was not overwhelming. Thanks for a great recipe I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I fell in complete love with this recipe. Also like Fran Kelly I went to Ireland two years ago for my anniversary and I also visited O'Connors Pub in Doolin (I highly recommend) and had the Irish Stew. I have tried so many recipes and this is by far the closest I have come. Major comfort food served with Irish Brown Bread and a Jameson and Coke=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Excellent recipe. I always make a dish exactly according to the directions the first time (my pet pev is when people do not follow the recipe exactly and then give it a low rating) and make adjustments to my tastes the next time. Will make it again and again with no changes. Easy to make, very good the day it is made and FABULOUS the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Excellent recipe! Everything blends very well. I did a couple tweeks but now many. I didn't feel like wasting a 1/4 c beef stock by dumping it (I used bouillon cubes) so I added 1 tsp flour and chopped up some potatoes and put in. Also used a crock pot after browning the first five ingredients plus the flour together. All in all a great recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Beef Stew With Guinness Stout

    Serving Size: 1 (491 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 562.7
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    27%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 405.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 52.9 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites