9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Even after adding flour, this dough was too sticky to form the cookies by hand. However! I stashed the dough in the freezer for a few minutes, making it possible to hand form and add the rose water. The cookies came out very nice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydialove July 12, 2009

I used this recipe as one of my Christmas cookies this year...the taste is SO good! The hint of cardamom (and rose water) is perfect together. Only thing, is this--my batter was quite runny, so I ended up adding another 1/2 cup of flour. Also, I doubled the batch, and by no means are there 72 servings worth per batch. Since they were a little on the runny side, I spooned them with an ice cream scoop and sprinkled a little bit of rose water on each. Thanks for posting this tasty recipe--I'll definitely be making it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 December 24, 2007

I only made up a small batch of this delicious cookie as I'm trying to cook more by cooking less (if that makes any sense). The cardamom flavour came through very mildly, but I'm wondering if that might not be due to the scaling feature. Anyway, keep that in mind. I used orange blossom water. This being Greece, I do have access to very fresh and pungent rose water and orange flower water (my pharmacist makes both up fresh when in bloom) and the orange flower taste was the most dominant, in a lovely, oriental way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 10, 2007

A wonderful cookie with fat coming from only the nuts and eggs! I did use the rose water that made it easy to form but no extra taste or fragrance. So water would work just fine. A must try! Thanks Toni!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 10, 2006

These have a great flavor. I thought that maybe butter had been left out of the ingredients accidently, but they didn't need it. Very nutty texture. I did not use the waters, since I didn't have them on hand, but I think the rose water would be a nice addition. Thanks for posting ,Toni. P.S. I used Splenda instead of sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey December 10, 2006

Mother said she likes the texture, DH and MIL said they look nice (I used blanched almonds to top) and taste good. I made these for my FIL's dewaniya (male gathering). Maybe I can make these gluten free. I used freshly ground cardamom, Iranian rose water (my favourite) put on a small plate to dip my hands in before rolling each one, plus the rest of the ingredients. I put the dough in the refrigerator for a little while to stiffen up and I had no trouble to roll it in balls with my rose watered hands. I will probably make these again for Ramadan or FIL's dewaniya. Made for WELCOME TO IRAQ! July 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 16, 2012

I substituted 2 cups of fine ground pecans because I had several bags in my freezer. Like other reviews, the batter was too thin to roll into balls. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto parchment lined cookie sheets and then lightly press a whole almond in the center of each cookie. First dip each almond in a shot glass filled with 2-3 teaspoons of rose water. Recipe made 50 great cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaddyCake June 24, 2012

The recipe was cut down to two dozen and then the dough was cut in half: one half sprinkled with rose water and the other with orange blossom water. Not overly sweet and the perfect cookie for coffee dunking. I know, I dunked a ton of these babies in espresso! I should have, as Evelyn suggested perhaps increased the cardamom a little even though the recipe was scaled. Part of the cookie making marathon this Holiday season and it was a fun one! Thanks, toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl December 29, 2010

I lovely subtle sweet cookie. I adore cardamom and really liked the way it played off of the almond nuttiness. I halved the recipe and used egg beaters in place of the real thing...maybe this is what caused my dough to be a bit to "liquidy" to be able to hand form balls...despite my mistakes I continued on and added a few sprinkles of whole wheat flour to try to absorb some of my excess liquid. I ended up spooning drops of the dough mixture on to a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and pressed a almond into each center I guess it goes without saying that I did not use flavored water (LOL)!!! They still turned out lovely and I will definitely make them again. The flavor is wonderful and even with my slight mishap they looked cute in the end!! Thanks Toni for another great one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free June 14, 2007
Iraqi Cardamom Cookies (Hadgi Badah)