Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Instant Vanilla Pudding from a Box Mixed W/ Stuff and Poured ove Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Instant Vanilla Pudding from a Box Mixed W/ Stuff and Poured ove

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2012

      I've been making this three years now and can't believe I havent reviewed it yet. It's was a hit from the start and now its considered mandatory that I prepare it every Thanksgiving (In honor of Grandma, who always brought the banana pudding, but we've all agreed that this recipe is way better. Sorry Grandma.) I prepare it in two 8x8 dishes instead of the 9x13 since it makes so much for our small family. So now it's a family tradition around here to barter the other half our banana pudding for whatever new dessert my friend prepares.
      Small changes I've made: I use Banana Cream flavored jello pudding for a more banana flavor, I brush my sliced bananas with lemon juice to keep them from browning so fast (keeps it looking pretty for the big day, since I make it the night before) and while I layer whole chessman cookies on the bottom, I crush the rest (minus two, one for each dish) and sprinkle them on top with a whole cookie in the center.
      Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      I've been using this recipe for a couple of years now and keep meaning to write a review. This pudding, as my dad says, is more like a mousse than a banana pudding, and we both mean that as a compliment. The texture is perfect, really creamy without being runny or over-mixed like some puddings end up. The thing I like most is that the recipe itself doesn't use artificial banana flavoring so the pudding on its own stands out.

      I use vanilla wafers in mine because I'm southern and that's just what we do, and this time around I added two teaspoons of almond extract because I thought the almond flavor would pop with the other flavors (I was right). And I layer mine kind of like a parfait, with a third of the cookies and half the bananas on the bottom, pudding, another third of the cookies and remaining bananas in the middle, pudding, and then top with whipped cream and the rest of the cookies. I like breaking it up like that so you have multiple layers of bananas since the pudding isn't banana-flavored.

      This recipe is delicious, and it's the best banana pudding I've ever had. My dad isn't a fan of the stuff normally but he loves this one.

      Oh, and this time I made it, I also used fat free cream cheese and skim milk; neither changed the texture, and it reduces the calories to 391 for 1/12th instead of 545. Just a tip for anyone watching calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Perfect Banana Pudding! I think the Chessmen cookies are wonderful, but I just can't do banana pudding without vanilla wafers! I have made this recipe with the Chessmen, but I opt now to layer with vanilla wafers on the bottom, then again in the middle. Nothing on top. I get raves whenever I make this, and I will be treating myself to some for Mother's Day! Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      I use this recipe all the time...it's awesome! I live low carb so I use sugar-free/fat-free everything except the cookies (can't skimp on those). I also make my own condensed milk with Splenda (#412496)...I know it cuts the sugar content in this desert! And no one is the wiser!! It gets rave reviews always...then they're surprised when I tell them...hehehe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This is a great recipe, I gave it to one of my friends and then everyone wanted it. It's just very expensive to make. This is Paula Deens recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      DELISH! Made this earlier this week. Used Fat Free Sugar Free Banana Cream pudding, light cream cheese, fat free condensed milk, and light cool whip. Still very decadent! We were not going to be able to have it all at once so I made the pudding mixture and then spooned that into dessert dishes with sliced banana on top along with 2 cookies standing up in the pudding. Nice presentation and the cookies didn't get all soggy. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I got this recipe from my aunt a short while ago, and it was excellent! One change she insisted I make, and I'm not mad that I did, was to add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the cream cheese/condensed milk mixture. I also followed the instant pudding (I used Jell-O Instant Vanilla) recipe to the letter, and it only called for one cup of milk. Either way, it was GRRRREAT! I'm so glad that my idea to crush the cookies on top wasn't a new one...I was clowned for doing so, since my fiance's family was used to seeing whole cookies on top (I only bought one bag, and was trying to stretch them out! I did end up buy another...) I would definitely make this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      Like this recipe but mine is the same, Not Yo? Mama?s Banana Pudding by Paula Deen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      Love it, Love it, Love it!!! I made this banana pudding recipe for the 1st time and it was everything a banana pudding should be. It's so creamy and rich! The ingredients blend perfectly. I would of never thought to use Chessman cookies. This is my ultimate favorite recipe now...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      This is Paula Deen's recipe and it is absolutely delicious. Best banana pudding I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Terrific recipe! Everyone loved it. Next time I will brush my banana slices with lemon juice, that is the only thing I would change!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      People raved about this when I took it to gathering recently. It was gone in a matter of minutes. I changed a few things, based on the reviews. I used Nilla Wafers to line the bottom instead of the Chessman cookies, and I crumbled many of the remaining wafers and sprinkled them on top before placing the Chessmans on the top. Also, instead of 12 ounces of whipped topping, I bought and used an 8 oz container of Cool Whip. As for the pudding, I bought a 3 oz package of French Vanilla flavor and a 5 oz package of Banana Creme, and added about 2 ounces of the banana creme to the 3 oz of French Vanilla (I wanted some banana flavor, but did not want it to taste too much like artificial banana). This was such a successful recipe; I've already shared it with several people who inquired about it and I will undoubtedly make this a regular go-to. Also, the Chessman cookies on top make the dish look incredibly appealing. Thank you for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Yeah it is that good. I switch up the kind of cookies I use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Love it. Always a crowd pleaser. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      This is just amazing and I should have written a review over a year ago because I've been serving it to rave reviews for that long. I have had several people who have told me that it tastes just like their own very labor intensive from scratch recipe. I make it just as you have it listed and wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      SO AWESOME!! I make it with my own homemade whipped cream instead of the Cool Whip and don't add as much powdered sugar as I normally would. It was fantastic. Everywhere I go, people want me to bring this. Little do they know how simple it is. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      I just want to start by saying I am not a fan of cream cheese. In fact, I used to refer to it as 'the earth's fowlest substance' lol. I don't like cheesecake either. Even as I was making this, I was grossing out on the smell. However, I think after making this myself and eating it I am very happy to say I now have hope for cream cheese lol. This was so yummy, and the cream cheese taste was very well hidden so it didn't bother me at all. Everyone that has eaten it loves it, and it's already half gone since I made it yesterday! I have a feeling this will be requested a lot now from friends haha. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I have made this recipe several times for large crowds and it is always a hit. I love the difference of using the chessmen cookies instead of vanilla wafers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Love this recipe but I did make it with vanilla wafers once when I forgot to get the chessman cookies and it was good that way too, and less expensive :) Either way it's a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Paula Dean knows what she's doing! :) I'm able to successfully bribe my boss for almost anything with this pudding... *drumming fingers together like Mr Burns* EEEEEXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Instant Vanilla Pudding from a Box Mixed W/ Stuff and Poured ove

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 545.0
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    40%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 77.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 382.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 50.3 g
    201%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes