Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Instant Pancake Mix (And Instant Pancakes) by Alton Brown Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Instant Pancake Mix (And Instant Pancakes) by Alton Brown

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2009

      These are really good pancakes. Had them this morning, and used some of the mix last night for "State Fair Fried Oreos" off this site. Very fluffy and lightly textured, but very filling as well. I made a cream cheese spread (4 oz cream cheese, 2 packets Splenda, 1 1/2 teaspoons sour cream, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla) to go on top of these rather than just plain syrup and they held up well. I'm glad I made the whole batch, cause these will be made again. Even if it seems there are extra steps, Alton's recipes have not gone wrong yet for me. Thanks for sharing this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      I've made these a few times now and had to change a few things. I found them too light, sort of chewy and thin without a whole lot of taste. I find the egg separation step unnecessary. I also add lots of butter to the pan and get it nice and hot before I put the batter on which gives them those browned crispy edges that I love. I added wheat germ and ground flax seed to the mix at the time that I'm ready to cook them. It gives more texture and flavor. Instead of separating the egg I just mix it in with the buttermilk and temper the melted butter with a little buttermilk before whisking it into the milk and eggs. Then I just combine wet and dry and they come out fine. After these changes I really enjoyed these pancakes and so did my family. I still think they lack a little flavor though and I'll need to experiment, I think a little brewers yeast might do the trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

    • on July 14, 2010

      Wonderful money saver! Tastes great! I doubled this batch and added an extra tablespoon of sugar to it. I didn't have any fresh fruit sadly and my frozen fruit was still frozen so I left it out and they were still delicious. I substituted for the buttermilk since I was out. I used 2 cups Milk and added about 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to it (you can't taste the lemon it just helps to curdle the milk after it sits for a few minutes). Thanks for posting this recipe. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Really good pancakes! We didn't have any buttermilk on hand so I used 2% and they turned out fine. We make pancakes almost every Saturday morning. It is nice to have the pancake mix on hand. Now I only have to throw the mix together once a month or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Great pancakes. Leave it to Alton Brown to build the Atomic Pancake. Great taste, but a bit more labor intensive than plain old flour and water. (Hhmmm, that makes wallpaper paste.) This recipe is a better idea. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      These were good. Good taste, light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Very yummy and easy to make! Made great fluffy pancakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I saw this recipe on Alton Brown's show, and have been making these for awhile. They're the only way I make pancakes now! 5 stars frome me because they're light, fluffy, and as my husband says..."They're even better than IHOP!!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      We liked these a lot. The egg whites do make a difference. They were light and not overly sweet. I added pecans and maple syrup which was absolutely wonderful. Excellent pancakes! Thanks for postng. This recipe goes into my permanent files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

    • on August 17, 2008

      I used 1/2 ww flour and half white and these were great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      These pancakes were great. I've been trying to find some mixes at the store minus the preservatives and other interesting ingredients. I have found a few but they are not at the store I'm at. This is so much easier since these are always on hand. Super nice and fluffy pancakes with no funky taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I've been making this recipe for years. I've tried others but always keep coming back. These pancakes are so fluffy and they couldn't be easier to put together. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This is the only recipe for pancakes I use anymore. So much lighter than those made with bought mixes. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      no stars yet, because I really messed this up big time. I suppose most would say that I was pretty silly to have gotten mixed up with the directions, but none the less I did. So in case someone else is as silly as me, let me warn you that part of this recipe is for left over pancake mix. There will not be enough liquid to use all of the mix!!!!!!!!!!!!! As you can imagine I had glue on my hands when I added the liquid to the entire 6 cups of mix. I will try another time the right way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      These were indeed light. They almost seemed like a crepe compared to other pancake recipes. I think this is my new favorite. But it would have been even better if I'd thrown some fruit into the batter. I'll be picking up a pint of blueberries this weekend...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      Wow! I cant believe no one else has tried this recipe yet. These are the only pancakes that I make. They are light, fluffy, and melt in you mouth. I have tried other recipes, but nothing compare to this one! So easy cuz you can have mix ready when ever you need it. Thanks for sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Instant Pancake Mix (And Instant Pancakes) by Alton Brown

    Serving Size: 1 (1575 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.5
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    32%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 67.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 967.0 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes