18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I drink this almost daily in the winter. I make a big batch of it and leave it in the cupboard. The trick to this is to pour enough BOILING water to make a paste and stir until it's smooth. Then pour more boiling water to fill the cup and stir some more. It makes the richest creamiest hot chocolate ever!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD December 31, 2006

I've made this for years. I actually prefer granulated sugar over powdered. I've even tried Splenda. They all taste great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molidol April 01, 2007

Could have been a little more chocolaty and a little sweeter for my tastes--next time I will use less powdered milk in the ratio and see what happens. After I mixed it up, I didn't like the chunky powdered milk balls, so I dumped it all into the food processor and gave it a whirl. I highly recommend that--it turned the whole mix into a fine powder that dissolved beautifully in my mug. No clumping or floating lumps that don't dissolve in this mix!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 21, 2007

This is the best instant cocoa I have ever had! I replaced the powdered sugar with 1 cup of splenda since I am diabetic. Also, I sifted the cocoa and powdered milk for a smooter mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babyboxermom February 16, 2006

I made this without the cayenne spice because I don't care for the spiciness. <br/><br/>Overall this was a good recipe. Next time I make this I will add a little more cocoa powder and maybe some powdered creamer so that it is a little more creaminess. <br/><br/>I highly recommend putting this through the food processor to keep it from getting clumpy and mix together really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BizzleFoShizzle December 14, 2013

Just okay. Not quite sweet enough for me, and I did not enjoy the cayenne. I prefer recipe 110888 (the traditional cocoa version).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabacca January 18, 2011

Good recipe, the pepper is a nice touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef January 18, 2010

I made this for stocking stuffers for my children. I used the recommended Dutch process coca. My children gave this RAVE reviews. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 December 12, 2009

Delish! I love the pepper - a nice kick you notice with the very first sip. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Squirrel October 17, 2009

I made this recipe based on Alton Brown's credibility alone! I love him so much! My Hero. Anyways, after making the whole batch I figured out I was sans Cayenne. Uh oh. So I made a cup with boiling water and no cayenne: big mistake. Icky! However, this recipe is like magic I tell ya! I say that because I decided to crush up one mini candy cane and put it in the cup just to make sure it couldn't be revived, and voila! To my amazement it was incredible! It tasted just like a girl scout thin mint cookie. So, from now on I will make this my way, until I get a chance to buy some Cayenne. This recipe is just amazing, it transforms with the slightest touch! Imagine the possibilities! Thank you for posting this Phil! It ROCKS MY JINGLE BELL CLAD SOCKS lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jemoiselle December 27, 2008
Instant Hot Cocoa Mix