Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Instant Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Instant Hot Cocoa Mix

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2006

      I drink this almost daily in the winter. I make a big batch of it and leave it in the cupboard. The trick to this is to pour enough BOILING water to make a paste and stir until it's smooth. Then pour more boiling water to fill the cup and stir some more. It makes the richest creamiest hot chocolate ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I've made this for years. I actually prefer granulated sugar over powdered. I've even tried Splenda. They all taste great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Could have been a little more chocolaty and a little sweeter for my tastes--next time I will use less powdered milk in the ratio and see what happens. After I mixed it up, I didn't like the chunky powdered milk balls, so I dumped it all into the food processor and gave it a whirl. I highly recommend that--it turned the whole mix into a fine powder that dissolved beautifully in my mug. No clumping or floating lumps that don't dissolve in this mix!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      This is the best instant cocoa I have ever had! I replaced the powdered sugar with 1 cup of splenda since I am diabetic. Also, I sifted the cocoa and powdered milk for a smooter mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I made this without the cayenne spice because I don't care for the spiciness. <br/><br/>Overall this was a good recipe. Next time I make this I will add a little more cocoa powder and maybe some powdered creamer so that it is a little more creaminess. <br/><br/>I highly recommend putting this through the food processor to keep it from getting clumpy and mix together really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Just okay. Not quite sweet enough for me, and I did not enjoy the cayenne. I prefer recipe 110888 (the traditional cocoa version).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Good recipe, the pepper is a nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I made this for stocking stuffers for my children. I used the recommended Dutch process coca. My children gave this RAVE reviews. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Delish! I love the pepper - a nice kick you notice with the very first sip. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I made this recipe based on Alton Brown's credibility alone! I love him so much! My Hero. Anyways, after making the whole batch I figured out I was sans Cayenne. Uh oh. So I made a cup with boiling water and no cayenne: big mistake. Icky! However, this recipe is like magic I tell ya! I say that because I decided to crush up one mini candy cane and put it in the cup just to make sure it couldn't be revived, and voila! To my amazement it was incredible! It tasted just like a girl scout thin mint cookie. So, from now on I will make this my way, until I get a chance to buy some Cayenne. This recipe is just amazing, it transforms with the slightest touch! Imagine the possibilities! Thank you for posting this Phil! It ROCKS MY JINGLE BELL CLAD SOCKS lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This recipe is great. The Cayenne pepper is lovely. I might try adding a touch of cinnamon and/or clove for a little extra spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      WONDERFUL recipe! The subtle spiciness is very warming and comforting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Great taste !! I added another teaspoon of sugar as we do not like the taste of powdered milk... it cancels that flavor that comes through.. I was sceptical of the cornstarch,however it adds that mouth texture that is yummy without any weird flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Waaayyy too salty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Made this for Christmas to give out as gifts and it was quite good. You can also use a cup of creamer in place of the cornstarch to make it lighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Excellent cocoa mix! We made this for gifts, and everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      This was an excellent hot cocoa mix. I also processed mine in the food processor to get a nice fine powder. My DD thought it could be sweeter but I like it just the way it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      Great recipe, I loved the addition of cayenne pepper becuase it gave it an unexpected kick. I added a marshmellow as garnish and really enjoyed it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Instant Hot Cocoa Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.6
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    29%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 38.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 439.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 44.7 g
    178%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites