Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Instant Chai Tea Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Instant Chai Tea Mix

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2010

      This is pretty darn good! The only other chai I'd ever had the first time I made this, was the Tazo liquid concentrate. This is almost as good (why I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars). I made some minor changes on my second batch - 1 1/2 cups creamer and 1/2 cup French Vanilla Creamer (I'm not real fond of vanilla) instead of 1 and 1, 1/2 tsp white pepper instead of 1/4 tsp. I used pumpkin pie spice (as I saw recommended elsewhere), and - most important - I added 1/4 cup cocoa powder. Voila! Mocha Chai!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I had Chai at the bakery/coffee shop down the street from me, and I was hooked. I wanted to be able to make it myself (budgets, you know). This mix is just terrific! Just the flavor I was looking for. I made 1/4 of a batch just to check the flavor without a huge investment. It was just what I was looking for. Even hubby (who hadn't had chai before) loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This is amazingly good. I received some as a Christmas present and have now made my own batch. I thought it seemed a bit weak for my tastes and so I added a tsp of allspice, 1/2 a tsp of white pepper and an additional 1/4 cup of instant tea. I also used splenda in place of the sugar and non fat creamers. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      try it with a splash of Capn Morgan for a nice cozy change

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      WOW! This is delicious! I did make this diabetic friendly by replacing the sugar with Splenda and using fat-free vanilla flavored creamer and decaffinated tea. I also added 1 teaspoon each of nutmeg and allspice. After a quick blending in my food processor, I packaged it in sandwich bags (with the directions taped to the bag). I put each bag into a holiday mug and tied it with a curly ribbon. These make a great and inexpensive gift for teachers, co-workers and just about anyone else you can think of! Also, did I fail to mention that I kept a batch "just for me"? Thanks so much Sandi for making me look like Martha Stewart this year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      This is a fabulous recipe, and I can tell that will be making this many more times in the very near future! I usually make my chai from scratch (steeping whole spices and tea leaves, etc) and this was a very close taste with minimal effort! I adjusted the recipe just slightly- decreasing the sugar by 1/2 cup, increasing the tea by 1/2 cup. It was still plenty sweet. I also added 1/4 tsp whitepepper, and substituted Nido dried whole milk as I had it on hand. Using cardamom and the food processor are critical. Don't let the cost of cardamom scare you- it makes a huge difference, and you can usually find it in bulk at natural grocery stores. Thanks so much for the great recipe! This is going into gift baskets along with homemade cocoa mix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      I LOVE Chai Tea and spend a fortune buying it at the local coffee houses. Now I can make it at home and its so good. I can't wait for the weather to turn and I can snuggle under the blanket and sip my tea!!! Thank you for sharing with me, I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      I have had this saved for some time but now that the weather is cooler, I got out all the ingredients and made it. This is wonderful. I used granular Spenda for the sugar and used sugar free hazelnut creamer but followed directions for everything else. I made a double batch and will be sharing. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Didn't realize I haven't reviewed this. Wonderful! I also added the nutmeg, allspice, and white pepper. My DH loves it, and I make for Christmas presents. Thanks Sandi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      I can't believe I have not rated this before, so sorry! I have been making this recipe for Xmas gifts for the last few years. I always get rave reviews and requests for more.....and of course I wont tell them it couldnt be easier to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Been drinking Chai quite a bit for the last couple of weeks because of being sick...got tired of paying $6 or more for mix that made no more then 8 cups, made this for around $12 (had some ingredients left over) and its Delicious! Did add the nutmeg and allspice, but left out the pepper (not a big fan of pepper). May try some of the other additions as well (Mocha Chai? Sounds Delicious)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Love Love Love this mix! I left out the vanilla creamer and added a bit more of the dry milk and regular non dairy creamer. Vanilla was with the sugar as suggested. No cardamom, to expensive, but I am on the look out for some lower cost cardamom. I had some trouble with the mix not being ground fine enough, so next time it will go into the blender instead of the food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This was very good but too sweet for me. Even with leaving 1/2 cup sugar out and adding an extra 1/2 cup of tea! I'll leave even more sugar out next time and maybe add more milk powder and creamer. I got lucky and was able to get a few tsp of bulk organic cardamom from my local health food store for about $1!!! I also saw a lot of the reviewers complained of the drink being gritty so I pulverized it in my blender to a fine powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I love chai tea - as soon as I saw this recipe I had to try it. I brought it into work and got so much interest I decided to use this recipe for Xmas gifts for about 15 friends and family. I believe they all liked it, but I Know the chai tea lovers certainly did. Because I've made it so many times I can tell you its okay to fudge the amounts a little (ex: 2 cups sugar, 2 cups french vanilla non-dairy powder instead of 1 cup of regular) I ran out of cardamom at one point and sub'd nutmeg. I liked it, so I kept that batch for myself but it lacked that "something" I was used to. Overall I LOVE this recipe. Its what gets me through work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I just made this Chai Tea and I liked it.... I am not much of a tea lover but I am willing to try anything at least once. I did not add the cardamom, since I did not want to spend $10 on an experiment. I used nutmeg instead. I am wondering how much it affects the flavor... once I finish this batch I will consider purchasing it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      My DD said this was the best Chai Tea EVER! I made this for a stocking stuffer for St. Nick's night. Raves!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      We ( a 4 year old; a 2 year old and I - hubby would like it...If I'd make it for him ;). The tea strainer idea has got to be great. (The only one I have is in a genie lamp...need to get one to try it.) All in all, good flavor, although I use 3 T for me and less for the children. It is yummy...in fact, I think I'll go make some right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      This easily competes with store bought...actually it's better cause you can customize to your own tastes!! Thanks for saving me tons of moolah :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      LOVE IT! I used to buy a chai mix from Trader Joes, but we moved to Maine which doesn't have 1. This is even better. I make it with all the extra spices listed at the top, and because I can't find the non-dairy creamer without sodium caseinate (MSG), I substitute dry milk powder. (For purists, even dry milk is naturally high in glutamates, but that doesn't seem quite as bad to me. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I just made this ... was nervous because I"m really picky. I tasted it and YUM! This is really good. I don't need to pay $3.50 at Paneras for a good cup of chai tea. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Instant Chai Tea Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.7
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    17%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes