51 Reviews

This is pretty darn good! The only other chai I'd ever had the first time I made this, was the Tazo liquid concentrate. This is almost as good (why I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars). I made some minor changes on my second batch - 1 1/2 cups creamer and 1/2 cup French Vanilla Creamer (I'm not real fond of vanilla) instead of 1 and 1, 1/2 tsp white pepper instead of 1/4 tsp. I used pumpkin pie spice (as I saw recommended elsewhere), and - most important - I added 1/4 cup cocoa powder. Voila! Mocha Chai!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuBethJimBob March 16, 2010

I had Chai at the bakery/coffee shop down the street from me, and I was hooked. I wanted to be able to make it myself (budgets, you know). This mix is just terrific! Just the flavor I was looking for. I made 1/4 of a batch just to check the flavor without a huge investment. It was just what I was looking for. Even hubby (who hadn't had chai before) loved it. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K August 22, 2010

This is amazingly good. I received some as a Christmas present and have now made my own batch. I thought it seemed a bit weak for my tastes and so I added a tsp of allspice, 1/2 a tsp of white pepper and an additional 1/4 cup of instant tea. I also used splenda in place of the sugar and non fat creamers. Thank you for posting this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flautatime January 23, 2009

try it with a splash of Capn Morgan for a nice cozy change

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staskivigem June 23, 2007

WOW! This is delicious! I did make this diabetic friendly by replacing the sugar with Splenda and using fat-free vanilla flavored creamer and decaffinated tea. I also added 1 teaspoon each of nutmeg and allspice. After a quick blending in my food processor, I packaged it in sandwich bags (with the directions taped to the bag). I put each bag into a holiday mug and tied it with a curly ribbon. These make a great and inexpensive gift for teachers, co-workers and just about anyone else you can think of! Also, did I fail to mention that I kept a batch "just for me"? Thanks so much Sandi for making me look like Martha Stewart this year!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in da Kitchen December 17, 2006

This is a fabulous recipe, and I can tell that will be making this many more times in the very near future! I usually make my chai from scratch (steeping whole spices and tea leaves, etc) and this was a very close taste with minimal effort! I adjusted the recipe just slightly- decreasing the sugar by 1/2 cup, increasing the tea by 1/2 cup. It was still plenty sweet. I also added 1/4 tsp whitepepper, and substituted Nido dried whole milk as I had it on hand. Using cardamom and the food processor are critical. Don't let the cost of cardamom scare you- it makes a huge difference, and you can usually find it in bulk at natural grocery stores. Thanks so much for the great recipe! This is going into gift baskets along with homemade cocoa mix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlaP December 17, 2013

I LOVE Chai Tea and spend a fortune buying it at the local coffee houses. Now I can make it at home and its so good. I can't wait for the weather to turn and I can snuggle under the blanket and sip my tea!!! Thank you for sharing with me, I loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 27, 2013

I have had this saved for some time but now that the weather is cooler, I got out all the ingredients and made it. This is wonderful. I used granular Spenda for the sugar and used sugar free hazelnut creamer but followed directions for everything else. I made a double batch and will be sharing. Thanks for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Mary October 18, 2012

Didn't realize I haven't reviewed this. Wonderful! I also added the nutmeg, allspice, and white pepper. My DH loves it, and I make for Christmas presents. Thanks Sandi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herb princess December 15, 2011

I can't believe I have not rated this before, so sorry! I have been making this recipe for Xmas gifts for the last few years. I always get rave reviews and requests for more.....and of course I wont tell them it couldnt be easier to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
911spatcher December 13, 2011
Instant Chai Tea Mix