16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My daughter made this for Christmas Eve dinner in the crockpot. It simmered all day and tasted fantastic - didn't change a thing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris dugan December 25, 2002

Delicious! I just made this tonight, and it was a big hit with both me and my fiance. The cheddar topping really brings it all together. The one recommendation I have is about the amount of ground beef: I used the entire 1 lb that I bought at the store, but next time I will only use half because there was a little too much of it compared to everything else. Or, if using the whole pound, I suggest increasing the amount of chicken broth so that there is enough liquid. Otherwise, this was an easy, yummy soup!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkeygirl8 October 17, 2007

5 Stars for Easy and Awesome. I tasted it before it even simmered and it was perfect. I used just under 1 lb of ground beef and wanted more beans, so I added 1 can of refried beans. Then I decided it didn't have enough tomatoes, so I added an additional 1 cup of salsa. Made mine very mild (as that's how hubby likes it). Will serve this for dinner tonight with some home made beer bread. THANKS for posting this keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 30, 2010

Exactly what I was hoping for and then some! So great when something that tastes this good is also good for you! I made as posted with just a little over a half pound of ground beef. I put everything but the meat into the the crock pot and after it had been warming for a couple of hours I gave it a little spin with my stick blender, not enough to make it smooth though because I still wanted some texture. That was when I added the ground beef a couple of good shakes of cayenne, (I like it spicy), and a pinch of S and P. The crock pot was really the thing to use because the flavor just got better the longer it sat. Excellent and sooo easy!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat December 08, 2011

I loved this soup, its so tasty!!!! Lots of flavor!! My mom and dad loved it and even my kids. I definitely will be making this often. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emerymay September 21, 2011

Made this for my husband (I don't do spicy) and he rates it Five Stars. Couldn't ask for an easier recipe. Sure to be a favorite this winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy W. September 29, 2010

This is quick, easy and oh-so-good! I did make a couple of changes: I softened a chopped yellow onion, a diced green pepper, some minced onion and a little diced celery in a little bit of olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I saved the green onion for garnish. I omitted the ground beef and used vegetable stock. I also cut back on the amount of cilantro because I was using fresh. Finally, I used a can of black beans and a can of refried black bean for creaminess. The only thing I will change the next time is to use two cans of black beans and one can of refried black beans and maybe simmer it a little longer. It was even better the next day. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Willie June 01, 2010

wow! this is the ultimate Lazy Person's Soup! i actually had to make my own salsa (it's hard to find here) using http://www.recipezaar.com/Salsa-Fresca-238282 , which is great! anyhow, i didn't use any beef and used veggie boullion cubes to make it veggie. i added a tablespoon or more of minced garlic and maybe a teaspoon of cumin, too. i omitted the onions. a FABULOUS soup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Odd Job January 17, 2010

I LOVED this!! It's exactly what I wanted on a snowy, blowy night! I had had black bean soup in a restaurant & have been wanting to duplicate one at home. This was great! I cut the recipe in half but used 1/3 cup salsa. I added 1/2 tsp cumin & some minced onion (instead of green onions). I also used dried parsley instead of cilantro, as I had none. I am a vegetarian but my hubby isn't--but he enjoyed this as well! I used 1/2 tsp sodium free chicken broth seas (yes, I cheated a bit--shh!) w/ 1/3 cup water since I didn't want the soup to be too thin. I topped it w/ fat free cheddar cheese & fat free sour cream. with a small bean & cheese quesadilla & spinach salad--I was totally satisfied!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS December 31, 2009

Easy and delicious. Fast nutritious and vegeterian option.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neil.genevieve December 20, 2009
Instant Black Bean Soup