26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used baby portabella mushrooms and sliced them thick. I added sliced shallots and a tbsp of fresh thyme. I sautéed the mushrooms, shallots and thyme in the butter till crisp and then added the wine and broth and reduced. Very yummy but the worstershire sauce made it a little salty, I would add no additional salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CLevesque03 September 02, 2013

These were a wonderful side to the Prime Rib my neighbor made for dinner tonight. I simmered them for around and hour and the mushrooms held their firmness, but were cooked tender. I would have enjoyed a bit of thyme in the sauce, and think I will add about 1 t. of dried next time I prepare them. Very tasty! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 09, 2008

Quarter mushrooms instead of slicing for a meaty, toothsome effect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Russellmgm December 31, 2013

Mmmmm delicious mushrooms! I had some large-ish white mushrooms so cut them into thick slices. I used red wine and let them simmer about 35 minutes. I served them over some couscous and poured the broth over so that the couscous could soak it up. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT9, The Apron String Travelers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 09, 2013

The broth on these yummy mushrooms is amazing. I made as written fallowing your suggestions to use red wine and bouillon paste. Those two suggestions contributed greatly in make a rich and flavorful broth. This is a must try recipe, thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl June 25, 2011

I made half the recipe to go with our steaks. I used merlot red wine. These mushrooms are so tasty. Thanks Muffin Goddess :) Made for Count Dracula and His Hot Bites for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 24, 2011

Awesome mushrooms! And the sauce is wonderful. I would have used the leftover sauce for other dishes - but there was none left. I had read the other reviews and had lots of french bread to soak it up. lol. Thanks Muffin Goddess for a great dish that I can't wait to make again. Made for ZWT7 by a fellow Emerald City Shaker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 21, 2011

Wow! The shrooms were delicious but that sauce is to die for. I did add a pinch of salt at my DH's request. After the shrooms were gone I froze the sauce in hopes of making some artisan bread for dipping later this week. The sauce would be great added to soups or stews. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 21, 2011

The mushrooms are good, but the SAUCE!! Serve this with a crusty french bread, and dip it in the sauce as you eat it. Absolutely outstanding. I used cabernet sauvignon and an unsalted beef broth, and I did need to add some fake salt at the end. ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. June 15, 2011

5 stars for flavor- improved (to my liking) by thickening with cornstarch/cold water stirred into the boiling liquid drained from mushrooms.
I made these for Father's Day and topped on grilled bison burgers & melted swiss cheese. Very delicious. These are also easily made in the crock pot on low (I also reduced butter by 2T.) Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau September 23, 2010
Inspired Steakhouse Mushrooms