57 Reviews

We love this recipe. I use diced tomatoes and tomato sauce instead of the stewed tomatoes and water. I have also use brown minute rice in place of the long grain rice. I see other ideas posted that I may also try. So easy and taste great!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tzenk February 07, 2010

This turned out great, but feel it wouldn't have been as good if I didn't do some modifications. Based on other reviews, I added a clove of minced garlic and subbed a can of Rotel hot tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes and water. We served this in tortillas and loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abouks August 14, 2014

Oh....my....God! This stuff is great. I used a box of Zatarain's Black Beans and Rice instead of the plain rice and wow....it's a keeper! Also, I sauted the onions in butter and paprika before adding the ground beef. I will never make it in the traditional style again. Thank you taillights!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimjam63 May 18, 2011

very yummy! i added extra green pepper and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of stewed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
everydaycook June 03, 2010

Made this in the crockpot as others suggested. (2 hrs on high, then I stirred the cheese in just before serving). I cooked 1 cup of rice according to package instructions before adding it. I also added 14 oz. tomato sauce and sprinkled on a little dried crushed red pepper. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. The end result was more like a stew but everyone loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Joy August 31, 2009

Tastes great! So simple, only change was to add taco seasoning and another 1/2 cup water to lean ground beef. And used diced tomatoes because I did not have stewed on hand. Thanks for recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyouseewhatisaw October 19, 2015

All the flavors with less prep. My kind of meal. Thanks for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 22, 2014

wow this did NOT cook evenly at all<br/>some of my rice is mushy, some cooked perfectly, and some crunchy and uncooked, some peppers are still raw too, after an hour and a half in the hot oven, disappointed.<br/>its also pretty bland, i even added salt, pepper, garlic, and paprika but i will be adding more spices before i add the cheese (its still in the oven)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zfadinglifez_5242162 March 03, 2014

This was so fast and easy! I just whipped it up for a late supper. My changes were small but made it 5 stars for me. I added 2 ears of leftover corn that needed using up, threw in brown rice I had frozen a few weeks ago and topped it with shredded cheddar. I made it on top of the stove so we didn't have to wait that hour to eat. Cooked up in 25-30 minutes. Soooo good! Excellent recipe to play around with. Thank you taillights!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldenmom64 August 27, 2013

Pretty bland. I perked it up with 3 garlic minced garlic cloves a stalk of chopped celery, 2 tsp of Italian seasonings, a pinch of red pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grampy1939 March 12, 2013
Inside-Out Stuffed Green Bell Peppers