Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2013

      I am thrilled to have found and tried this recipe! I'm always on the look-out for dishes to serve on "Meatless Monday" so decided to try this and I have to say, it is absolutely wonderful! It's so tasty and filling, and I really didn't miss the meat at all. The slight changes I made were to omit the red pepper since I had none, used diced tomatoes, 2 8 oz cans undrained mushrooms rather than fresh, 2 cans pinto beans instead of the kidney, and just 1 tsp cumin. Loved it!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      This was great! I didn't put the basil in, because I couldn't find it. I also added a bit of agave to it. I served it with cornbread. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This is very good, and so quick and easy! I agree with other reviewers; I prefer not to eat the gunk that they put in canned beans LOL so I added veggie broth instead of the bean liquid. I also used frozen mixed veggies for the corn b/c I forgot to get corn. I think I'm a little funny about mushrooms in soup, but that's a personal preference thing. The spice level is just right, and it is quite flavorful despite the lack of lots of extra sodium. I can see why this made Starry's Best of 2008 cookbook :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Delicious! And I love how flexible you can be with what you have on hand. It does make me think of a hearty soup moreso than chili, but what are semantics worth when it is so tasty? I used non-stick cooking spray to saute the veggies in, omitted the celery and red bell pepper (didn't have any)- so I beefed up on the green bell pepper and onion. I used fresh tomatoes and frozen corn. Like some other reviewers, I prefer to rinse and drain off my canned veggies, so I also added some chicken broth to sub for the liquid. This is a definite keeper! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This was good! Very healthy and quick to whip up. I ommitted the celery and added in a can of garbanzo beans for added texture and nutrition. I like to rinse canned items so I added in a bit more liquid and some veggie stock paste. I also used a bit more chili powder and a touch of cayenne pepper. Halfway into cooking time I used a potato masher to pulverize some of the beans which resulted in a thicker, and very hearty soup!! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Wonderful chili, did not miss the meat at all! I didnt peel the carrots and rough chopped them, only used about 1/2 cup green pepper as DH doesnt care for peppers, used petite diced tomatoes, and I couldnt find my basil so I added lemon pepper. This recipe makes a nice pot full and there is enough left for lunch and another dinner for the two of us. After eating dinner I added some quick cooking barley to the rest, so good! A very tasty and versatile recipe....thank you MarlaM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      so delicious, it made a ton too. i added a bit more cumin and other spices as i like my chili pretty spicy. so good, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Very tasty. My DH wasn't too sure at first as it doesn't have any meat but after the first bowl and he was starting on the second, he admitted it was good! I did add a can of black beans to the recipe here and served with shredded cheese and light sour cream on the side (I like a little sour cream atop my chili.) I did drain and rinse my canned vegetables to reduce the sodium and then as another reviewer suggested added a little chicken broth (I know, not vegetarian)to make up for the liquid drained from the cans. I will be moving this to my Tried and True file. A definite repeater. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      So flavorful that you don't miss the meat. I made this following the recipe exactly and it was great. Rather than finely cut mushrooms, I left them in big chunks - this gave the dish substance. I was worried the dish would be overpowered with a tomato flavor like so many vegetarian chili dishes, but that was not the case. Mildly spicy - perfect for our family where we have a variety of tolerance for hot dishes. This is the best vegetarian chili recipe I have tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      This non-traditional Chili passed inspection by this family of chili fans. Everyone really enjoyed the robust flavors of each vegetable, even the mushrooms! I rinsed all canned ingredients to lower the sodium levels and then added 1/2 cup of chicken stock to make up the lost liquid. Also added one can of black beans. Fabulous

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.4
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    18%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 510.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites