12 Reviews

A nice change of pace to a conventional salad. The recipe was quick and easy. I actually cut up a ton of onions and sauteed half with minced garlic and canola oil and the left the other half as is to add a bit of a crunch. Everything turned out great and I am definately keeping this recipe in rotation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iokenwa March 26, 2010

Yummy! Very quick and easy side dish, I used brown onions because it was all I had at home. I marinated the onions with vinegar for about 30 minutes to reduce the sharpness. Other then this I kept to the recipe. We all enjoyed the flavours. Served it with My Chicken Parmigiana With Homemade Pasta Sauce and Crunchy Potato Wedges Thank you I Cook Therefore I Am

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer January 21, 2008

I made salad for a side on Easter and we loved it! The only thing different I did was substitute a yellow onion because I forgot to pick up the red onion when at the store. This is INSANELY easy and INSANELY delicious! Oh, and if you're on Weight Watchers it's 0 points per serving AND Core. Thanks for the great simple recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaof2Beauties April 10, 2007

I have made this for years from fresh ripe tomatoes.......a wonderful way to bring out the flavor. Great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn M. May 27, 2015

What a wonderful, refreshing and tasty salad that is easy and quick to fix. I used three fresh romas (they weren't to big), fresh basil from the garden, the red onions and I grated finely the garlic and used Good Season's Italian Dressing#1982 for the Italian dressing...a little bit of heaven! Thank you for submitting such an easy and delicious recipe>

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf September 14, 2010

Easy, simple and just plain goode. Nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser July 21, 2009

Simple, fast but incredibly tasty! I used fresh basil from my windowsill, 'fridged it for 3 hours but let it come to room temp before serving, I just hate cold tomatoes! Perfect side to so many dishes, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
English_Rose June 20, 2007

Oh, dear, I posted the photos but can't find my review of this recipe? Did I not hit the submit button? Fortunately it's not too late to review this refreshing salad. It has ingredients I love (tomatoes, garlic, basil, red onion) and my BF hates. Fortunately I did not give him any:D Instead of the Italian dressing I used tarragon vinegar, some Italian herbs and a sprinkling of olive oil. Truly a classic American salad. Thanks I Cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 08, 2007

*Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* Great simple salad to make. Nice flavours.Photo to come

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 03, 2007

I chose this dish for the Spring 07 PAC event, and it was delicious. It was very easy and everyone loved it. I marinated the red onion in red wine vinegar first for a couple of hours, and then made the salad. I did choose to slice the tomatoes and make a layered version, it came out beautifully. I will be making this one again and agian. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader May 01, 2007
Insanely Easy Tomato Salad