Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Insalata Caprese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Insalata Caprese

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2009

      One of my favorite salads. I used heirloom tomatoes in place of beefsteak and added a few capers. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Perfection! Our tomatoes and our basil area at their best; your salad was wonderful!
      Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      One of my favorite salads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      My first attempt at Caprese and it was great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Fresh tomatoes. Fresh moz. I can't think of a better flavor combination!!! We use sea salt and fresh pepper which I believe adds to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Fantastico!!!! If at all possible, use freshly ground pepper. I usually use more basil. This has become my signature salad. I can make a meal out of this for myself! Thanks for posting!!! Alan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Magnificent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

    • on August 15, 2008

      Ah... yes!!! one of my most favorite things to eat when in Italy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      great salad, my guests really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      didn't have any fresh basil, so i just sprinkled dried basil on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Very basic and straight forward recipe. The key is fresh tomatoes, fresh basil and fresh mozzarella. I used vine ripened tomatoes. I mixed up the dressing and only lightly drizzled the dressing over, saving the remainder for people to add later if they liked. This was made 30 to 45 minutes before serving and placed in the refrigerator. A keeper for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This was pretty straightforward and tasty. I used roma--aka plum--tomatoes (personal preference; less acidic) which aren't so similar to the mozzarella in shape but the dish was still quite attractive. I think it would be even better if it sat for a while before serving, to allow the flavors to blend. BTW, I'm not big on balsamic vinegar & used red wine vinegar instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      Very tasty and simple. Nothing beats a side dish like this in the middle of summer, but if you can make this in the winter and close your eyes, you can almost taste summer. Alquimista: it would help if you run a spell check before posting your narcissistic critiques.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      Ah! The name of the dish is far more difficult to spell than making the actual dish in the kitchen... :-) Several refinements make this a great thing: 1.Extra virgin olive oil 2.Fresh buffalo milk Mozarrella 3.Aged balasmic vinegar 4.Home grown organic tomatoes and basil Though, for a lazy guy like me even second rate ingredients do the trick and people say: "You are a fantastic cook!" This is one of those side dishes that can be made in a couple of minutes while preparing more complicated plates. In fact, whenever I entertain I fix spaguetti carbonara in about 15 minutes, the caprese salad in about 5 minutes (with white wine) and some tiramizzu from a bakery (with amaretto di amore) and not even Martha can match that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      This is a great side dish! I love to serve it instead of a traditional salad when making spahetti, lasagna, etc. Definitely use the fresh mozzarella and fresh basil leaves. Don't sprinkle dried basil - the fresh basil gives this dish a wonderful flavor! I actually don't add any oil... just the balsamic vinegar and its delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      This is a recipe I have been making for years. It is perfect for a quick and easy tomato salad. I have seen similar recipes posted here, but they didn't have balsamic, which I think is very important to the flavor. Also, one should use aged balsamic in this, the best they can afford. It makes quite a difference in flavor. I used heirloom tomatoes in my salad. A couple of them were a bit small to be layering with the cheese, so I left them on the side. Great recipe, Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      It's a simple recipe that takes little time to prepare...but it was the first thing to disappear from the Mediterranean dinner I prepared tonight when we had guests over. Great for those homegrown tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Insalata Caprese

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.8
     
    Calories from Fat 352
    72%
    Total Fat 39.1 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 89.7 mg
    29%
    Sodium 719.6 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh basil

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes