Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Injera (Ethiopian Flat Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Injera (Ethiopian Flat Bread)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2012

      This looks delicious but it is not injera. That looks more like an Ethiopian pancake but I can definitely tell you Injera is not like that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      This bread is absolutely delicious! I served it along with some Indian curry dishes and it was perfect! We loved the texture and sweetness of the bread -- it was a nice contrast to the spicy dishes. I will be making this bread again very soon. Thanks for the post. Made for the Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game, September, 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Enjoyed having this bread with Doro Wat (Ethiopian Spicy Braised Chicken) #455567. Liked the flavor of the bread with the Berbere Sauce and chicken. Also liked the bread plain. Thank you. Made for ZWT7~Emerald City Shakers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Made this to serve with Mesir Wat 2 dish made for each other. Nice soft texture. Thanks for posting Breezemom!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      I made 6 of these lovely flat breads and whether they are truly an authentic injera or not doesn't keep them from being delicious. I made just 6 to be served with a mushroom salad, braised lamb shanks and roasted carrots. They are fun to make and great to eat. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Injera is a very humble staple of Ethiopian cuisine. It is traditionally made with only teff flour, yeast and water. If you can't find teff then we find quinoa flour works best. If neither of these are available then any other flour will do, but the recipe will change accordingly. The yeast is homemade. Mix a bit of the flour with some water to make a batter the consistency similar to crepe batter. Then let it ferment for a couple of days. Place it in a place with consistent room temp, not too hot or too cold. When bubbles start to form on top, it is ready. Drain the excess liquid and you've got your yeast. To this you add more flour and water to get a crepe batter consistency again, maybe even thinner than that. Then you're ready to bake. A flat pan would work best because it evenly distributes heat. Greasing is not necessary because the injera would slide off with no hassle if the pan is properly heated before putting the batter on it. <br/><br/>Good luck, everyone. But I find that everyone has a different way of making injera.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I found this when I was looking for Ethiopian recipes to fix for my twin grandchildren that we just brought home yesterday. Although this sounds very tasty and I am going to try it, it definitely is NOT injera. Injera has a very vinegary taste (that I didn't like at all) and we were fed this at the transitiion home where my grandchildren stayed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Great recipe! Making bread is kind of my achille's heal, but this turned out perfectly and was very easy to make. It is, however, not quite the same as the bread I've had at Ethiopian restaurants. Theirs has a nice sourdough flavor, and is very thick. This one was still great though, and I especially loved the addition of brown sugar. It ended up tasting like slightly sweet crepes- it paired perfectly with the African meal I made. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      Made this to go with Ethiopian-Style Chickpea Stew. The pancakes/bread is soft, slightly sweet and a very nice combination with spicy food.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Injera (Ethiopian Flat Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (725 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 36.1
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    30%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 86.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites