19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for ZWT 7. I had to use almost 4 cups of club soda. I am afraid that the soda is really no substitute for a yeast starter. As a utensil it beats chopsticks but as a food We did not like it at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori June 05, 2011

Such a wonderful and easy bread! I could absolutely see myself using this for sandwich wraps, gorditas and all manner of folded yummies. I have never had the chance to have real injera, but this is great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs May 31, 2011

easy to put together though you have to be very careful to swirl it to an even thinness. Mine needed more club soda and I had to cover the pan to get the top to set a little faster.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos April 03, 2010

Good whole wheat injera. Thank you so much for sharing. I made my first ethiopian dish tonight and so of course I had to make some injera. Easy recipe and foolproof. I added about 3.5 cups club soda to make my batter thin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie January 16, 2010

Fantastic recipe! It does not have the sour taste like the authentic recipe does, but if you cannot find Teff flour to make it authentic, this comes in at a close second. The whole family loved this and we had it with Ethiopian Cabbage & Potatoes. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BellaBooDaisy August 15, 2008

This was a morning quick pick - and a very good pick at that! I was pleased with this recipe, already have a good many ideas that I am looking forward to trying! I was surprised how easy this was to make and wondered how I had not found this recipe before - this tour has made for some really new to us recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry July 01, 2008

Perfect Injera! I used buckwheat flour, and since I have had injera in Africa--I was pleasantly surprised at how this recipe came out so very close. I used it to dip into African Peanut Stew (Elephant Stew!). Awesome. Thank you Rita! Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harley Quinn June 25, 2008

Well, I don't think I'm very good at making Injera I'm afraid (ok or reading the ingredients properly - thus the no-star review), but I did attempt to make these as a dipper for Black Bean Hummus - I used the recipe converter and ended up adding too much baking soda which affected the flavor. I liked that this recipe was so quick to put together and also contains whole grains - a keeper for when I run out of crackers but have some dip to use up! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 19, 2008

I made this injera recipe with Ethiopian Chickpea Wat #219899 and Hot and Spicy ethiopian Chicken #43092 and it turned out soooooo good!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anidifrancofan June 01, 2008

Very good recipe. Not as sour as the bread we have had before but very nice anyway and easy to make. we would make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hel Cooks January 23, 2008
Injera