27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love Nasi Goreng and I'm excited to try this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Habibi March 29, 2008

i used chili garlic sauce in place of sambal oleek since that's all i had . my husband was afraid it would be too salty when he saw all the things that i was putting in there. but it turned out delicious and not salty at all. shrimp paste does stink..but the flavor is very authentic asian and very delicious. will definatetly make this plenty of times. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies March 21, 2008

Loved it! I omitted the shrimp & oyster sauce, upped the sambal oelek to 1.5 Tbsp, added a red pepper & some bean sprouts to make it my own. Served with peanut satay sauce. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jetje November 19, 2007

i come from holland and my mum used to make this dish with all the trimmings when i was a young boy it has to be my most favorite meal and now that i have a famelie there most favorite meal is nasi goreng too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madweare November 06, 2007

Big hit with the family. I put in more rice than was called for, and kind of played around with the measurements a bit. Substituted dried shrimp paste with fish sauce as well; then I adjusted the seasonings with a little salt. I also did both alternatives of the egg (so I used 4 eggs in total). Another nice recipe to add to my fried rice collection. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha July 28, 2007

This is pretty good: one chicken thigh per person seems to work well; and more shrimp (about 40g/serving). Note that if you've never used Sambal Oelek before (as I hadn't) it packs one Hell of a punch: use sparingly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xophmeister December 09, 2006

YUMBO!! The flavours in this are spot on...dont change a thing. We ate our's as a main this time but it would be a great addition to an Asian banquet table. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie July 23, 2006

This meal was fantastic b/c it was flavorful with just enough spice & heat. It’s well suited to be a main dish & that’s how we enjoyed it. We made as was specified except for adding fresh basil to the mix. Scrumptious! Only complaint was that the texture didn’t turn out just right. It was a little wet. So we’ll work on that & see what we need to do to improve that part. Don’t skip out on the shrimp paste. We found it in an Asian market (in Chinatown). I’m glad the author warned about its smell b/c I would have been suspect about using it. The smell is just rancid. Ten times worse than the smell of Thai fish sauce. The store clerk said she uses it in many different types of dishes & loves it. Well guess what? Now we’re going to use it too b/c the flavor was just authentic & yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
discriminating tastes... June 05, 2006
Indonesian Fried Rice (Nasi Goreng)