Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indonesian Fried Rice (Nasi Goreng) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indonesian Fried Rice (Nasi Goreng)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2012

      I will start out by saying there are so many variations of Nasi Goreng, it is hard to say one is the correct one. This one I found was pretty good. All the right steps are there. :) The one thing though is that oyster sauce was a bit strange, since I wouldn't consider it an Indonesian flavor (my mother is Indonesian and regularly cooked all sorts of dishes, and it had never ever been in our kitchen). I would leave that out and let the shrimp paste do its thing. Everything else was about right, except I used shallots instead of onion and garlic since that is just what I'm used to. If you want just a bit more of an aromatic experience, you can add 1/4-1/2 tsp cumin and coriander each to the shallots when you cook them up (not too much or it will be overpowering). Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      really good! Thanks a lot! I used sambal oelek and added a bit more after since I love that sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      This is a truly authentic recipe. I grew up with nasi goring every couple of weeks but my mother used a packet of spices commonly available in Holland and many other countries now. I have made this numerous times, and my Mum loves this even more than her own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Fabulous meal! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I fried the eggs with soft yolks & placed on top of each serving, as well as adding red pepper, zucchini and baby bok choy for a few extra vegies. This is the 3rd different nasi goreng I've had this week & think it was the best. We'll definitely have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Really excellent nasi goreng - except for leaving out the shrimp and making up the difference with more chicken I followed the recipe exactly. The combination of shrimp paste and the sweetness of the kecap manis and oyster sauce gives it the most beautiful and uniquely Indonesian fragance and flavour, while the the chilli bean sauce and pepper provide the perfect amount of warmth. A truly top recipe - thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Delicious. I'll have to admit I didn't have shrimp paste when I made it, but it was a great fried rice. Mixing the sesame oil with the egg instead of waiting until the end to add it mellows the flavor a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Excellent fried rice. Loved all the fresh ingredients. Served it with Indonesian Pork for an excellent meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I really, really enjoyed this. I had to exclude both the shrimp and shrimp paste as my fiance won't even contemplate eating shellfish in any form, so it was left out. Would love to try it with the shrimp, so may cook it for my parents next time I'm down. Even without the shrimp, the flavours were really tasty, and the slowburning kick was not intense, which for me, was a big positive. Sprinkled toasted peanuts on top, which is how I've always eaten nasi goreng, and I know that my parents have a fried banana on theirs (not my choice) but a suggestion for people who like to eat bananas! Thanks so much for posting. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I've made this many times now and forgot to rate it. So easy to switch back and forth with what you have on hand. I serve black currants, chopped green apple and fresh raw bean sprouts on the side as well. Sounds odd I know, but I had it in a restaurant that way and loved it. One of my favorites, thanks Daydream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Very nice and easy to put together - not too spicy and the kids loved it. This one's a keeper, thanks !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

    • on March 29, 2008

      I love Nasi Goreng and I'm excited to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      i used chili garlic sauce in place of sambal oleek since that's all i had . my husband was afraid it would be too salty when he saw all the things that i was putting in there. but it turned out delicious and not salty at all. shrimp paste does stink..but the flavor is very authentic asian and very delicious. will definatetly make this plenty of times. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Loved it! I omitted the shrimp & oyster sauce, upped the sambal oelek to 1.5 Tbsp, added a red pepper & some bean sprouts to make it my own. Served with peanut satay sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      i come from holland and my mum used to make this dish with all the trimmings when i was a young boy it has to be my most favorite meal and now that i have a famelie there most favorite meal is nasi goreng too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      Big hit with the family. I put in more rice than was called for, and kind of played around with the measurements a bit. Substituted dried shrimp paste with fish sauce as well; then I adjusted the seasonings with a little salt. I also did both alternatives of the egg (so I used 4 eggs in total). Another nice recipe to add to my fried rice collection. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

    • on December 09, 2006

      This is pretty good: one chicken thigh per person seems to work well; and more shrimp (about 40g/serving). Note that if you've never used Sambal Oelek before (as I hadn't) it packs one Hell of a punch: use sparingly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      YUMBO!! The flavours in this are spot on...dont change a thing. We ate our's as a main this time but it would be a great addition to an Asian banquet table. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      This meal was fantastic b/c it was flavorful with just enough spice & heat. It’s well suited to be a main dish & that’s how we enjoyed it. We made as was specified except for adding fresh basil to the mix. Scrumptious! Only complaint was that the texture didn’t turn out just right. It was a little wet. So we’ll work on that & see what we need to do to improve that part. Don’t skip out on the shrimp paste. We found it in an Asian market (in Chinatown). I’m glad the author warned about its smell b/c I would have been suspect about using it. The smell is just rancid. Ten times worse than the smell of Thai fish sauce. The store clerk said she uses it in many different types of dishes & loves it. Well guess what? Now we’re going to use it too b/c the flavor was just authentic & yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indonesian Fried Rice (Nasi Goreng)

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.9
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    23%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 129.2 mg
    43%
    Sodium 497.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried shrimp paste

    chili bean sauce

    ketjap manis

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes