34 Reviews

I would have liked this to be just a bit more piquant so will increase the lime and sambal oelek next time. Also will make more, since it didn't yield as much as I would have liked. Maybe my cucumbers were too small? Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

This wasn't as flavorful as I expected but my husband loved it, so I'm giving it four stars. I increased the quantities of the seasonings and added fish sauce as one other reviewer suggested, so I think that helped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom June 12, 2007

Wonderful in its simplicity, this was a terrific, tangy side to our Asian dinner. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki April 27, 2007

Loved this stuff, what a great alternative to the usual cucumber salads. I only had 1/2 a cucumber so guessed at reducing the other ingredients, but it was fabulous. It was the first time i had used sambal oelek and am now hooked on the stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs February 28, 2007

A wonderful accompaniment to Asian food, which I cook often. Quick & easy to make & fabulous flavour. Another great recipe from Pets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heatherbelle2 December 16, 2006

So quick and delicious! A keeper for sure! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck October 15, 2006

Simply wonderful! Fresh-tasting. Spicy. Sweet. Bite of chili from the chili paste. I also sprinkled some chopped roasted peanuts over top as I had some from another dish. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens October 15, 2006

Oh man, this was good. I added a little bit more sambal oelek because I like it spicy. Really hit the spot. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITsyBItsy October 14, 2006

What a nice treat and very different from the standard cucumber salad. I selected your recipe to make as part of the Asian Culinary Tour and am so glad I did. I loved the spicy kick. Thank you Pets for sharing this terrific recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D September 27, 2006
Indonesian Cucumber Salad