Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indonesian Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indonesian Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2011

      Yummy, yummy! Nice and spicy. I used brown sugar substitute to keep the sugar down and I thought I still had some chili paste but...no!.. so I used sriracha chili sauce. Now I want to try it with the original ingredient to see which has the best heat and flavor. Another keeper. I loved that it didn't create a bunch of liquid. Made in honor of Pets. She will be greatly missed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      We tried this for something different then our usual cucumber salad. this is really good, but just know that it gets spicier in the fridge. DH was loving it. thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      Just finished eating a tub of this - LOL! I made mine really spicy to be different from other cucumber recipes. I added the sambol oleek and some crushed red pepper. I didn't have brown sugar so I used turbinado sugar instead. Also, I had two different recipes I was using and one called for lime juice and the other for vinegar but I didn't have the limes around at the moment so went with the vinegar. I had some small peppers so diced those which added beautiful color. Ate most of it immediately but I think I liked it better today after it had marinated a few days. Thanks for posting, I will try this with the lime as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      Not an authentic Indonesian food but it's tasty and easy to made :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      This is very yummy and spicy. I didn't have green onion so I used red onion. I'm sure it's even better with green onion. I didn't use salt and pepper. Thanks Pets'R'us :) Made for I recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      super good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      I chose this recipe because I have a glut of limes -- and what a good way to dispense with one. I used a semi-long, thin variety of cucumber, so didn't bother to peel it, but followed the rest of the recipe. Removing the seeds helps to keep the salad from being too watery. I will make this often to accompany Asian main dishes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Wow! This was great! I had an appy party and served this on the side to go with lots of other dishes. Perfect!I Couldn't find sambal oelek so used an Asian chili paste instead. A little of that went a long way! Although I like spice, the sauce was pretty spicy. I served it to 6 people and every single one rated this a 5-star! Thanks Pets for another winner. Made for Cook-a-thon for Pets'R'us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Loved the combo of cold, hot, and sweet. The sweet and sour flavor is very addicting. Made as written using a jar of Sambal Oelek Chili Paste I had in the frig. Will be making this a lot this summer thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Oooh, this did not taste like I expected. This was too much of a sweet and sour type flavor for us. We didn't even eat it. Too sweet. Even added extra lime juice and sambal oelek to no avail. Will stick to the typical Sichuan cucumbers next time. Thanks anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I would have liked this to be just a bit more piquant so will increase the lime and sambal oelek next time. Also will make more, since it didn't yield as much as I would have liked. Maybe my cucumbers were too small? Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

    • on June 12, 2007

      This wasn't as flavorful as I expected but my husband loved it, so I'm giving it four stars. I increased the quantities of the seasonings and added fish sauce as one other reviewer suggested, so I think that helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Wonderful in its simplicity, this was a terrific, tangy side to our Asian dinner. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Loved this stuff, what a great alternative to the usual cucumber salads. I only had 1/2 a cucumber so guessed at reducing the other ingredients, but it was fabulous. It was the first time i had used sambal oelek and am now hooked on the stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      A wonderful accompaniment to Asian food, which I cook often. Quick & easy to make & fabulous flavour. Another great recipe from Pets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      So quick and delicious! A keeper for sure! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Simply wonderful! Fresh-tasting. Spicy. Sweet. Bite of chili from the chili paste. I also sprinkled some chopped roasted peanuts over top as I had some from another dish. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Oh man, this was good. I added a little bit more sambal oelek because I like it spicy. Really hit the spot. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      What a nice treat and very different from the standard cucumber salad. I selected your recipe to make as part of the Asian Culinary Tour and am so glad I did. I loved the spicy kick. Thank you Pets for sharing this terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indonesian Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 32.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    65%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sambal oelek

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites