Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indonesian Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indonesian Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2009

      Wonderful salad that's been a big hit at several potluck events this summer. One minor suggestion: if you back off on the oil (maybe a scant 1/4 cup instead of 1/3)and add a little lime juice, it's even more Indonesian-tasting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Made exactly as directed, using jalapeno, except I made the dressing in the blender. Very popular, fresh and tasty. It made so much, I kept the dressing and veggies covered separately overnight and took to a family dinner the next day. It was just as good, if not better. Yum. Thankyou!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I think this was a nice salad, perfect balance and the curry really added a nice touch. I used both green and red cabbage and added shredded carrot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      This recipe was wonderful. i look forward to making it again. I did not have cilantro, but it was still delicious. I loved the spicy, sweet, flavor. I also substituted the peanuts with toasted slice almonds and I really enjoyed that. I look forward to trying it again with the peanuts and cilantro. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Curried slaw, yum! I doubled the sauce, other than oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I used napa cabbage for this recipe. It was so delicious! I am not a big cucumber fan, but added to this salad, it was delicious. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This is awesome! Tonight I served with chicken, chips and garlic bread and the family voted that this go into our favourites cookbook. The peanuts are great and definitely don't leave out the coriander. For Aussie, I used 2 t sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Asian goes over big time here - so no big surprise that we all loved this delicious Coleslaw with the great combination of ingredients that make up the dressing. Loved the addition of the peanuts which gives it an unexpected crunch. This will be seeing repeats for those family back yard cookouts during the summer months. Thank you for sharing - really enjoyed this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This was pretty good (we eat A LOT of coleslaw so are pretty picky LOL) . I would like to add a slug of soy and a splash of sesame oil to the dressing next time. I made the whole recipe but just chopped a handful of peanuts for the two of us to sprinkle on at the tabel. Hopefully leftovers minus added peanuts will be OK tomorrow. Just a note, I used 3/4 of a small thai chili (all I could get) and it was ferociously hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I did omit the chile and used only a pinch of the curry powder (absolutely zero tolerance of anything hot and spicy) but I added a pinch of nutmeg and we really enjoyed this coleslaw. We particularly loved the freshness of the ingredients (the cabbage and cucumber were great together!), the absence of mayonaisse and the inclusion of nuts! Made for the October 2008 Aussie Recipe Swap. Thank you for sharing this super-star recipe, Sheynath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I made this for two separate parties yesterday and it went over very well both times. I loved the dressing--the jalapeno is spectacular. I put all of the dressing ingredients in the blender and made it smooth and creamy. I'll make this again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I love this slaw! The curry is so delicious and unique in a dressing. Be sure and use salted peanuts because they balance perfectly with the dressing. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I really enjoyed this! I didn't find mine to be really spicy or sweet, but there was enough hint of curry in the flavor to let me know this was not the slaw my next door neighbor might make, and it transported me to exotic places oceans away. I served this with fish, and they did go together nicely! But I also think this would go well with any type of Asian food, from Tokyo to Bangkok, to Delhi. Especially with all the Asian grilled foods we can make, this would make the perfect outdoor food. Thanks for sharing! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      5 stars- a lovely refreshing salad. Loved the peppery flavours of the chili , green onions and coriander. We served our salad with pan cooked fish fillets. Great combination. I used a baby chinese cabbage for this recipe. Photo also being posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      As an Indonesian, I should admit I never heard this recipe before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      Wonderful and very addictive. As other reviewers have said, this has a great balance of sweet and spicy. I subbed olive oil and added a bit of freshly ground black pepper, sea salt and ground ginger at the end. Next time I'll try adding the grated carrots, too. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Extremely yummy. I took another reviewers suggestion and also added grated carrot - as much for colour as for flavour. Used olive oil in place of the salad oil. Loved the spicy/hot/sweet/savoury that was coming from this salad. I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      We made some changes for health and taste of family and then served it with sate on Christmas eve. It was a very big hit. We added shredded carrots and zuchini, upped the garlic, dropped the sugar, reduced the oil and (for grandma) substituted 2-3 pinches of cayenne for the pepper). It was still terrific. We'll have it every year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Outstanding coleslaw, so different from the typical American slaw and sooo wonderful. Only change I made was to skip the cucumbers (they don't like me). This seems to have just the right small amount of sweetness to balance the vinegar, curry and chili. Very addictive and very attractive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      The garlic cloves I used were large, so I will probably use only 1 large or 2 small cloves in future. If you don't have a taste for cilantro, Italian parsley works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indonesian Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 541.5
     
    Calories from Fat 418
    77%
    Total Fat 46.4 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 479.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites