8 Reviews

Delicious! I used 2 (largish) chicken breasts and made a full recipe of the sauce. I ran out of ginger and cayenne (so only added 1/2 the amount) and realized after that my coconut milk was 400 ml. Since we like spicy, I added in a little over a tsp of sambal oeleak to make up for the cayenne. I also had to sub lemon grass flakes for the lemon zest. I was too lazy, so didn't take the chicken out to brown, just simmered on the stove until it was done. Despite all my changes, it turned out great! Had quite a bite--not too much, but enough to have a pleasant burn in my mouth! Served with peas and jasmine rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 August 29, 2009

Great recipe. My wife is indonesian and she really enjoyed it. The cayenne provided the perfect amount of spice for her surprisingly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard E. October 15, 2015

This was fabulous! Loved the flavors -- so interesting (similar to Thai but not the same at all). I did substituted one teaspoon of African Bird Pepper for the two teaspoons of cayenne (it's about twice as hot but has a more interesting flavor). Just now read someone's review and think I will try using lemongrass next time, especially now that our local, very rural supermarket carries it in paste/tube form. Hubby, who can sometimes be a little picky, was suitably impressed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole February 13, 2015

If you can, use bruised lemongrass stalks instead of the lemon zests for a more authentic tasting dish. If you get fresh turmeric and fresh coriander, use those too. I added cubed potato, and hard boiled eggs to the dish for a heartier meal. Loved the taste. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids May 07, 2009

This is a keeper! Take heed to the warning that this is spicy, because it packs a bit of heat! I've made this twice now and I'm down to 1/4 tsp cayenne to accommodate the kids. I use an entire 15 oz can of coconut milk and simmer the chicken in it until done instead of pulling it out and grilling. We serve with white rice and steamed broccoli. Thanks for sharing Sara!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slim PA February 25, 2009

This was outstanding! DH said he'd like to give it 10 stars. I did substitute paprika for the cayenne, since nobody in my family except me likes spicy food. But I added a touch of cayenne just to my own serving. I served it on top of Homemade Egg Noodles by Geraldine -- delicious! Thanks, Sara 76! Made for Turmeric Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too November 08, 2008

I love this! I really was expecting it to be more spicy with all that cayeene, but it seems like the peanut butter and coconut milk mellowed things a bit...... the spice mixture was perfectly pleasant. Thanx for posting this. I'll be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* October 12, 2008

This is fantastic! I'm in love. Such an easy recipe too. The spices where spot on - the fragrance was wonderful. I made 1 change to lower the calorie/fat content - I replaced the coconut milk with coconut flavoured evaporated milk. I also used thighs as I find them more moist. I served it with simple steamed rice which I'd added vege to. I am soooo looking forward to left-overs for lunch today! Thanks Sara. Made for Aussie Recipe Swap #20.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
auntchelle September 22, 2008
Indonesian Chicken