Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Individual Puff Pastry Apple Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Individual Puff Pastry Apple Pies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2010

      We have made this several times now, and the results are really yummy. The frozen puff pastry I bought recommends baking at 400 and not 350. For me, cooking at 350 for 20 minutes yielded a less puffy and anemic sort of looking pastry much like some of the pastries pictured up to the left. When cooked at 400 for 25 minutes, the pastries rocked!!! Thanks for sharing such a simple and tasty recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      These were really good, I think next time I will add a little bit of raw sugar on the tops

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I cooked the apples in the saucepan with all the other ingredients to soften them up first for about 5 minutes. Threw in some blueberries and dried cranberries as well. Delicious with custard. The puff pastry would be better if you sprinkle some sugar on it first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Very nice. My 5-year-old son helped me make these for his turn at snack/show-and-tell -- he's gotten the cooking bug, so he likes to help Daddy in the kitchen, and is so proud to bring great treats to his classmates that he helped to make. Thought the filling was going to bleed out, but it stayed nicely. Baked them at 400 (per dough directions and suggestions here) for about 20-25 minutes. Worked well, so they became dessert for the wife on Valentine's Day as well. Thanks much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I have made these a few times now and they are really good and easy to make. I would reduce the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. as suggested by others, the nutmeg does overpower it a bit. I also suggest to mix just the lemon juice and apple and not mix the dry ingredients until you are ready to put onto the pastry, this will eliminate excess juice which will make it difficult to seal the pastry. I also make these into only four and shape them into triangles. Once sealed I brush the outside with egg and sprinkle raw sugar onto it. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      These were very easy to make and tasted great,except for the nutmeg.I think 1/2 tsp is way too much.Next time,I'll omit it altogether.It overpowers all the other flavours.This would be great with blueberries or strawberries too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      After reading some of the other reviews my first attempt at this recipe went like this: reduced the nutmeg to 1/8 tsp (perfect!), reduced amt of filling (I could not fit 1/4 cup on my squares without it overflowing), and sprinkled a tiny bit of regular sugar on top. Baked at 400 degrees for 23 mins. The filling was SO delicious but the pastry part seemed a little bland, so I made a simple icing (1/2 cup of sifted powdered sugar, 1/8 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tblsp milk) and drizzled that on top. Viola! The perfect pastry. Thank you chef Fifi...my family loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      My kitchen counter was a disaster by the time we were done, but they were delish! Completely worth the cleanup. I cut the apples pretty small and mixed them up with some raspberries (since they were in season and I love them), then brushed with egg and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. YUM. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Might not like puff pastry as much as I had thought. They were good though. Found the dough a bit difficult to work with when the apple juices got on the edges, so I had to wipe them off before the egg wash. Husband rated this 3.75 and I think I'd agree. Would consider making this again, but maybe put a little more apple filling in the center? I may have scimped unintentionally.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      We adore this recipe! I can eat them all in one night by myself however, so if Hubby is to get any make two batches!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This recipe should be outlawed LOL. We ate them all, in one nite. And I do not care for sweets. Going to try with berries. Thanks so much, FIFI

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Oh my gosh! These little pies are so good.Like others I have never worked with puff pastry before,but it was so easy.I will make these again most likely tomorrow.Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Tried trhis a few minuets ago and thought it was wonderful. I used my own scatch puff pastry instead of frozen and it worked perfectly. I uped the cinnamon and sugar a bit because I like my apple pie on the sweeter side when I dont have any tart apples. *I used Red Delicious* Will defiently make again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Given that I had never worked with puff pastry before, I did not know what to expect. I didn't stretch out the bottom squares before adding the apple mixture, but all in all, not bad for the 1st time though! Tasted delicious and will definitely try again! I will up the sugar a little next time. Thank you Chef Fifi!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I halved the recipe, using just 1 pastry sheet and used leftover Daisy Mae's Fried Apples as the filling. Because I had used Granny Smith apples, I did not add any lemon juice. I did sprinkle a little nutmeg and brown sugar into the leftover fried apples. I was thinking of using Eggbeaters/water for the egg wash, but saw a reviewer used Hazelnut Soy creamer, and I had some and was intrigued by that idea so I used Silk brand Hazelnut Soy Creamer. This made 4 pies plus half of one (folded the last square into a triangle). The 20 mins was perfect. These were so tasty (ate them plain), but I could see them going well with icing or a dollop of Cool Whip Free. They reminded me of the apple turnovers I am always buying from Fry's bakery department. I will definitely make this again. This was my first attempt at working with puff pastry. Thank you for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Oh so delicious and EASY! My kids ate them up!! I also drizzled a little cream cheese icing(warmed) over the little pies...YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Just got done making this, hubby said 10 stars! Very good and easy. Was also first time working with puff pastry, Love it. Thanks for the recipe. Going in my kepper list,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I made these this afternoon and oh boy does the house smell good. I doubled the recipe. Because I don't often eat eggs, I used some hazelnut soy cream in place of the egg wash and that really added to the flavor. I think I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks for a really simple and delicious recipe. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      The perfect recipe for those garden fresh apples picked in early fall- I am sure any baking apple would work equally well. The fragrance of apple pie filled the house - the individual little puffed mini apple pies tasted as good as they looked. The second time around I played with that puff pastry and made not only the little squares with the little flap but some little 'packages'- made for an impressive looking dessert offering. That little flap makes for an added touch. Thank you chef FIFI and thank your mom for a dessert that I am proud to serve both family and friends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      Very tasty. I'm eating one now and it's still hot.I baked for 25 min. I've never used puff pastry before and found it difficult to get to the right shape, so they're not all the same size but they still taste great, thanks for posting the recipe Fifi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Individual Puff Pastry Apple Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.7
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    55%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 20.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 143.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites