21 Reviews

Very Good & easy! I melted the chocolate & butter in the microwave. Should have watched these closer, they were past gooey at 14 minutes, but they were still good. I added about a 1/2 tsp of vanilla and a dash of salt. Kids loved having their own special dessert.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KerryB5 February 14, 2011

Tasty, but there was no "lava" in the ones I made. I baked for the entire 14 minutes @ 450F as the recipe said, and they looked like they were going to ooze, but when we put our spoons in, it was solid cake. Disappointed. My oven tends towards the cool side so I figured the full 14 minutes was OK. Oh well...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RLenore February 14, 2012

These are wonderful! Easy and good. I used chocolate chips (4 oz is 2/3 cup) and 1/2 teasp vanilla. At 14 minutes they looked too gooey so I put them back and overcooked them. Even overcooked they are good - like brownies. The second time I got it right!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc October 02, 2010

WONDERFUL!!! I can't believe how quick and easy these are to make, in fact, for me too quick, lol!! At 9 minutes I checked them and they, at least to me, were not any where near done, all giggly!! So I cooked for 4 minutes longer and the center was still bubbly and I thought "Perfect"!!! Well by the time I ran a knife around each cake and then flipped them, it was not longer gooey on the inside, wet but not oozing!! Next time, for my oven, I will take them out at 10 minutes and I am sure it will be the molten cake we expected, all my fault!!! I used all semi-sweet chocolate and it wasn't overly sweet, just right!! We loved the flavor of these quick cakes and served it with vanilla ice cream for Labor Day dessert!! Thanks for sharing a recipe that I will be making again but experimenting with the cook time for my oven!! Made for Adopt a Tag!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 09, 2009

Very easy to make, and delicious! I whipped these up in no time, and had a great chocolatey snack. I also had to decrease the cook time, but my oven cooks pretty fast. Thanks for posting. Made for Zaar Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 09, 2009

If I could I would give this 10 starst! (And it is not too hard to make either. If I can do it anyone can.) I did not have unsalted butter so used regular butter. Hard to believe that the chocolate ooziness is inside there but it is. Baked mine for 9 minutes not 14. I sprinkled cocoa into the ramekins and that is why the photo has super dark areas but it looked better than white flour would. This would be beautiful on a white plate that had raspberry chocolate syrup drizzled underneath and on top of it. I wish I had taken a photo showing the pudding oozing out. Thank you wicked cook 46 for a very special dessert! Made again for Fathers' Day with Raspberry or Strawberry Coulis. Not too good at drizzling but it sure was exquisitely delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal June 21, 2009

This recipe was soooo easy and they were so good. My fiancee said he didn't like lava cake and was disappointed when I said that was what was for dessert. He said these were AMAZING and that he wanted more! I melted butter and chocolate in microwave (30 seconds, stir, 30 seconds, stir, 10 seconds, stir, 10 seconds, stir, until melted). I sprayed the ramekins with PAM, and they came out perfectly. I also only cooked 9-10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa R. April 15, 2015

Baked 12 minutes. Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN February 16, 2015

I dusted the ramekins with cocoa powder, sugar, and butter. They baked for nine minutes and turned out perfect. A dusting of powder sugar balances the bitterness of the chocolate and tartness of fresh raspberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msgwynn April 13, 2013

I cut butter in half and they were still yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 May 27, 2012
Individual Molten Lava Cakes