21 Reviews

Hands down one of the best meat dishes I've made. Made this for my Boyfriends Birthday Dinner and his reviews to me were " Heathenistic" and better than his Moms, (to be fair she never made him wellington, but I still shone with that review) I followed Daves advice of 2 minutes per side and It came out nice and light red (yum). I got a liver/truffle mushroom pate and used truffle salt. He and I voted this in as a have to make once a year family tradition, Christmas or new year meal. I can't thank you enough for such an amazing recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre June 26, 2010

I made this for a very special friends Birthday Dinner. I was unable to purchase madallions of Filet Mignon, but trimmed down the fillets as much as possible, used Pate de Foie de Canard Au Porto, and made the remainder as given. These baked up perfectly, the crust done to a beautiful golden brown, while the steaks inside were nice and rare. I received raves from the Birthday Boy who now thinks I am a gourmet cook, many thanks to you and your super recipe. Hugz (have pic on my cell phone and just as soon as I can figure out how to do it will post the pic)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 April 23, 2012

I made these with 8 ounce filets - they were magnificent. Did them a day ahead so it was an effortless meal to prepare. I also brushed them with an egg wash before baking for an even more impressive presentation - will definitely make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zues Chef May 03, 2011

I made the mistake of making the rough Puff pastry from scratch and it took forwever to complete. I also used the Quick and Easy Chicken Liver Pate recipe located elseware on this site with excellent results, I made it with the Hard Boiled Egg. I used Beef Tenderloin without the bacon. The only thing that I would change would be reduce the time that I sauted the filets to about 2 minutes per side so that they were not as well done after baking. Thanks for a great recipe Moontan Master!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave of Tucson May 10, 2010

This was the first time I have had this and it was well worth the work to put it together. The sauce is very good along with the pastry being baked at the same time. The only thing that did not work for me was the bacon.It was not cooked all the way thru.My suggestion is to fry the bacon a little until it is not limp any more and then put it around the meat.It will get rid of some of the fat in the bacon therefore not making the pastry wrap soggy from the fat in the bacon. Thank You for the post. MoonTan Master!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timothy H. March 24, 2009

First time making beef wellington and it was a success. All thanks to this recipe! It was a big hit when I served the dish. Great for special occasions at home! Thank you for this fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen February 13, 2016

Such an impressive looking dish when it was all done! We enjoyed this recipe. The pastry dough worked perfectly and was nice and flaky. I made a quick chicken liver pate, using http://www.food.com/recipe/quick-and-easy-chicken-liver-pate-351659 Quick and Easy Chicken Liver Pate. I did find the pate to be a little overwhelming, seemed to take away from the flavor of the beef. Also, I wasn't a huge fan of the mushroom/wine sauce. So I will probably tweak those two things next time. Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. December 07, 2014

Ok, I made it :). It was very, very delicious. Grocery store didn't have pate so I made it, not difficult, but I'd never handled chicken livers and it was kind of gross lol. I was freaked out to flame the brandy haha, but did it anyway with the fire extinguisher next to me. Just put a lid over to put flames out. Hubby loved it, I loved it. So yummy and impressive-looking. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sutterathome February 16, 2014

Of all the recipes in all of Zaar that I've tried over the years, this is by FAR the BEST! If I could give it 10 stars, I would. I was truly skeptical at first because I thought the meat would dry out by cooling it in the fridge. It was a last day, marked down, horrible hunk of meat from the grocery store and I left it in the fridge overnight after step 2. The entire recipe came out SPECTACULAR and the mushroom sauce was the BEST I've ever tasted ANYWHERE! I also used Quick and Easy Chicken Liver Pate. I can't say enough how we loved this recipe. Follow it to the letter and you can't go wrong!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe September 02, 2009

This turned out well, but my family just didn't like the taste. We've never had Beef Wellington before, so it's quite possible that we don't like Wellingtons. The live pate in this recipe gave the entire dish a bit of a cat food taste. Indeed, our cats lapped up the leftovers. I think I'll try this again, but without the liver.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Near July 04, 2009
Individual Beef Wellington