Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Style Pumpkin Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Style Pumpkin Soup

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2012

      An easy pumpkin soup to make, though I thought it was lacking in flavour. The ingredients list coconut milk and then the instructions say to add the coconut cream. I think the Korma paste I used must have been really mild as I think I could have doubled the paste and would like to use maybe chicken stock instead of the water to give extra flavour. Photo to be posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      I made this for lunch today - you MUST add garlic and ginger (1 ts of each). A great base recipe. Made for ZWT8, The Fearless Red Dragons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Very enjoyable soup and a great way to use up our garden pumpkin that I roasted & froze in the fall. The only thing I would do differently is to use broth instead of plain water, it was just missing that base flavour to me. I guess a lot depends on the curry paste you use - I used a homemade one (Korma Curry Paste), which was very mild and not concentrated like the jarred varieties...so due to that I used a lot more than 2 tsp. Nice belly warming spicy soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Really good how I changed it a little. I used Julie's Curry Powder Mix, a sweet curry powder and added some butter (ghee- clarified butter is generally used in paste). I used 1 butternut squash and 1 acorn squash, full-fat coconut milk & coriander to garnish. I replaced some of the water with a mixture of homemade meat stock & homemade vegetable stock. I would make this a similar way again. Made for Everyday's a Holiday March 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      We just loved this pumpkin soup with that little bit of extra kick from the korma paste (I used a generous tablespoon) and coupled with the sweetness of the coconut milk it was great, I did use just under 2kg of butternut pumpkin and upped the rest of the ingredients accordingly. Thank you katew, made for Swap #29 - June 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Very delightful soup here. I didn't have mild curry paste so used normal paste...it was quite "hot" but even the kids ate more than one bowl each! Will make again, I'm sure. Made for Zingo, ZWT4. (-:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Delicious Kate! I made this with some frozen pumpkin from my garden, and also used home-made coconut milk. The combination of curry and pumpkin is really good, and the coconut added a different level of flavours. We thought that it was just a wee bit too sweet for us.......not much mind you, so next time I might add half the coconut milk and top up the rest of the liquid with vegetable or chicken stock! I sprinkled the top with cumin and a mix of chopped fresh parsley and coriander. Made for Zingo and ZWT4 - another fine recipe from Kate-kins! Merci - FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Style Pumpkin Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.8
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    56%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild curry paste

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes