14 Reviews

We left all of the burn out of this recipe as a few of us cant handle the heat. I was planning on using sweet potato as another foodie suggested but forgot to grab them so we will have to try it next time TY Sue

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aleigha Nicole April 19, 2011

I made it for dinner today and we didn't have any leftovers. I have to disagree with those who thought it was too spicy.It was just right for our taste. I followed the recipe exactly and only substituted lemon juice for lime juice. It is a nice side dish or a vegetarian entree. Will make it again,only double the recipe.Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka January 03, 2010

What a yummy dish! Shhhh... don't tell anyone, but we prepared it with sweet potato.... the mixture of sweet and spicy was heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene August 02, 2009

Looking at the recipe, I already knew it would be way too spicy for me so I used only 1/4 of the suggested cayenne pepper. This made the spiciness perfect for me. I also cut down the amount of lime. I used gold potatoes, boiled them in salt water till soft and then combined with the onion spice mixture and cooked them for 5-10 minutes more with a little extra veggie broth till they were super fluffy and extra delicious! Disregarding the spice level, overall, good dish. Very flavorful and smells great! I definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yen N. October 20, 2015

I used the full amount of hot chili pepper (2 small jalapenos) and the full amount of cayenne WOW it was HOT!! My tongue actually felt sunburned! I think next time I'll only use one small jalapeno. I was burning so much I almost couldn't taste it, but when I could it was very delicious. I think this is definitely a winner recipe but I think I need to lower the spice level a little bit for us. It smelled great, and I scrambled it with eggs the next morning for breakfast! Mmm! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy September 29, 2008

I wanted to make this a second time before I reviewed it. The first time I used the full amount of cayenne and jalapeno - it was way too hot for me, even after cutting it with yogurt. Just a word of caution for those that can't handle high heat like myself. I made this again today, eliminating the cayenne & jalapeno. Very fragrant, lovely dish with beautiful color. I used this as a main dish, stuffing it into a pita. Next time, I may add a little jalapeno until I get it just right. Wonderful, thanks for such a refreshing dish!.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen March 08, 2008

The lime kind of overshadowed the other flavors in this dish for me. Otherwise it would have been a 5 star for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff December 29, 2006

We loved this. I only added 1/4 t of the cayenne as I'd already added a generous sprinkle of chilli flakes, having no fresh chillies on hand. I didn't use new potatoes either as I didn't have any but it still came out lovely. Of course new potatoes would be the best choice for this dish. Thanks Sue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie in NZ July 11, 2006

I didn't want a spicy dish so I omitted the cayenne and chili, everything else the same. The combination of flavors was really good, especially the caraway seed, which I usually don't think of as an ingredient in Indian dishes. I think the caraway made the dish. Very nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kokeshi doll January 22, 2006

This was excellent- fragrant and just spicy enough for me with about half the chili pepper and cayenne and just a whiff of black pepper. I'm a wimp! The mint and lime were nice additions. It is an easy dish to prepare, and as Roosie said, precooking the potatoes speeds the prep time considerably. I will make this again, and perhaps even try subbing cauliflower for the potatoes to see how that works! Thanks for sharing this delicious dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyStars! October 22, 2004
Indian-Style Potatoes - Khatta Aloo