Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Spiced Omelet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Spiced Omelet

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2012

      We left out the chilies and mint but otherwise made as directed and the omelet was incredible! I can always count on Indian cuisine for simple, unbelievably tasty food and this recipe did not disappoint!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      THanks - nice to try something different & we weren't disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I just made this for lunch it was very good I added shredded ham because I was really hungry ,great recipe takes eggs to a whole new level and my kitchen smelled wonderful thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      I would agree with Chef #184530 that this needs more substance, especially for an omlette but it is quite tasty as is. I doubled the recipe and skipped the mint as my boyfriend cannot stand the taste of it in food. I would like to try it next time with some tomatoes. Part of the problem is likely us - we love your posted scrambled eggs recipe (Akoori - Scrambled Eggs (Parsi)) so much that nothing else really compares. I will make this again and just add some tomatoes and spinach next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Excellent made this for our Sunday Brunch today and wow what a flavor sensation it is! I doubled the recipe and used 6 egg whites and one whole egg. I can not wait to try this with green chutney next time and I will be making this often. DH was crazy about it too. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      I made this for dinner tonight serving it on roti and topping my portion with ketchup, while my SO had half ketchup and half mango chutney. I really enjoyed the zesty flavours, but would have liked a little more substance so will add one or two of the suggested vegetables next time and will post a rating after trying it. As made tonight I'd give it a 4 and my SO gave it a 3.5, not because he didn't like it but because he was still hungry after finishing his serving. As a light lunch or served with side dishes for dinner, I've no doubt it would be totally satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      This was delicious! The only thing I would change next time would be to grate the ginger instead of chopping it. Though I chopped my ginger very finely, it still lent a bit of an unpleasant "crunch" to the omelet, even though the flavor from the ginger is what makes the omelet. We will make this one often, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      Not that this really needs another 5 star review (actually id give it 10 if I could!!!) This is the perfect Omelet! Made it exactly as stated. This will be a regular for us from now on! DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      Thank you for such a fantastic recipe. I usually do not like the onion which we add to omeletes but addition of spring onions was a great idea. I did add much more of all than mentioned, a couple of more of everything. Won great approval from everybody. My BF loved it too. Thank you again. Will be my regular way of making omeletes from now on. I served this with Spicy Sprouts Pulav by Chef Anu and a cucumber raita. Great Combo!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      Great flavours in this omelet with the spices and the fresh herbs. Had this on a roti with some hot mango chutney. Great brunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      This was a wake up call to my taste buds! I had a couple of egg yolks needing using, so I added one more whole egg to make this. I used a regular onion, and a lot of fresh herbs for one of the yummiest breakfast/brunch dishes I have ever eaten. Might do it again for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Very nice dish and not something I would normally have considered for dinner, but I didn't want to wait until tomorrow to try it! It worked perfectly with Curried Cauliflower and Potatoes (#61850) and Grilled Moroccan Chicken (#15580) tonight and will definitely be made again. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      the taste is so good, i am enjyoing it very much, so yummy. and so easy to make. yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2004

      Fabulous brunch recipe. The spice mix with the fresh herbs and lemon juice are an excellent combination. Definate keeper for us. Thanks Fay!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      Oh, Fay! This was AWESOME!!! Terrific flavor combo with tons of spice. Everything goes together very well and is definitely not like any omelet I've ever had! I had this for lunch in one of your Roti/Phulkas (#90817) with some yogurt and mango chutney. I didn't add any extra veggies and it was absolutely phenomenal. I will have this often, for sure! Best lunch I've had in a long time. Thanks Fay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2004

      Wow! This is such a delicious breakfast treat - or would make a great lunch. Packed with zesty flavors that all go so well together. I also used a tortilla and added a small amount of HP sauce in place of ketchup. Fast, easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      Zowie this is just bursting with flavor. I wish I had had a genuine whole wheat chapattis but had suffice with whole wheat tortillas. I wrapped the omelet in a tortilla & enjoyed eating it as finger food.As a munched I imagined myself being jostled alond a street in Bombay - Loved the spicy flavor and the hint of mint too. This could become a favorite as a California wrap sandwich. I served it with some pan fries, fresh sliced tomato & sweet onions Thanks Fay for a trip to Indian cusine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      This has an interesting combination of flavors. I used jalapeno peppers for the green chilies (which I will cut back on next time). I added some fresh silced mushrooms and spinach. Thanks for sharing this well seasoned dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Spiced Omelet

    Serving Size: 1 (1192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 495.4
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    28%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 175.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 22.7 g
    91%
    Protein 19.6 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites