Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Samosa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Samosa

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2002

      Instead of making the shell by hand, use Phillo Dough ... its not too far from the real thing and saves *lots* of time. Also good to spray on olive oil and bake in an oven till golden brown for a low-fat healthy version

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2001

      These hit the spot. I added cashew pieces to a few of these and they turned out nicely as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2001

      a real flavor delight but a bit involved ... would be a good one to make with my nephews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Fantastic! Satisfied my craving for some indian food. Living in Turkey, I miss the indian restaurants in the uk and so im now trying to make all my own food. This was simple and tasty. I didnt have any fresh coriander or coriander seed so just used a teaspoon of powdered coriander. Next time will try it with the fresh stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Yum! My first real foray into a home-cooked Indian meal. These were awesome! I used puff pastry/phyllo dough to wrap the filling in; then baked them at 400º. Perfect. We garnished them with Coriander and Mint Chutney 'Coriander and Mint Chutney' with a bit of yogurt. I also used a bit more Garam Masala and cilantro in the mix because we like the flavors. It was fun to make this because I also used coriander seed from my own herb garden. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I took tuafiq's advice and used Phyllo dough. This was the first time I have made samosas or used phyllo dough. Each samosa had 5 layers/sheets of dough and I sprayed olive oil between each sheet, as well as on top. The potato mixture has to be cooled before stuffing. I put them in the oven at 325 until golden. Pefect when re warming in the oven for later.

      I followed the potato recipe with the following exceptions: used cumin seeds instead of coriander, used half as much cayenne pepper and jalepeno.

      got rave reviews at a dinner party!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      These were very good. I might use a little less green chilies and add some peas to the mix next time. I used phyllo dough and baked at 400* for 30-35 minutes. Served with Tamarind Date Chutney #156496. Was delicious. .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I loved this!!!!! I doubled this recipe and I also browned half pound of ground beef and added it to the onions and carried on with the rest of the recipe. Also I did add about half cup of chopped cilantro instead of one tablespoon. For the pastry I used filo dough and sprayed the samosas with Pam butter and baked them in the oven till golden brown (35-45 min) I’m horrible at forming the little samosas into triangles. Mine were coming out like little blobs. After a while I decided to just fold the dough over and just make mini burrito shaped samosas! Me being Mexican American and my DH British Pakistani I gave birth to the burito samosa LOL. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe. I love Indian food and this was the filling that I had been craving for! It hit the spot, and the somosas had an incredible flavor that one should enjoy when your taste buds are on a quest for something savory and exotic. This filling was very delicious, and tastes just like something that you would expect to get in Indian restaurants. I think adding the extra corriander seeds and extra cilantro help bring out the flavor. I should also add that the flavor comes out even better the next day after the filling as soaked up all the spices and has been chilled in the fridge over night. These are great cold or warm. The best curry houses in the UK would be jealous. =0) Thank you so much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      I decided today was the day to try making samosa's the first time from scratch. I had potatoes in the pantry that needed to be used and have been honing my skills in dough making. I didn't have any green chillies and substituted the red chilli powder for flakes. I also don't have a deep fryer so I just pan fried them in some grapeseed oil and added about half a cup of peas .... they turned out amazing!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I can't wait to make them again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      I just made these and they are delicious!, you can add shredded chicken if you want. The dough recipe also works for brazilian pastel (its deep fried with cheese, or ground meet, or almost anything).<br/>this is the first time i ever made a dough and it worked!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      You can also us Goya's empanada frozen disks, they're very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      The filling was awesome!! I added a few frozen peas - will definitely make this part of the recipe again for both samosas and aloo naan/paratha (without the peas). I won't comment on the dough part as I'll end up cursing. Texture was great and by no fault of the recipe, just a little frustrating wrapping them. Next time, I'll just buy samosa wrappers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      oh my goodness good!! I didn't have exactly all the right spices and no green chilies.. so I used what I had (added cayenne for heat), and although the dough took a bit of time, it was not hard work and they were delicious deep fried! I even managed the shape, thank you! Oh, and put together a quick tomato sauce to dip, so so good! And a note in response to someone else's tastes - my deep fried version, re-heated in the oven the next night were not better, I had hoped, but definitely best fresh. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This filling is pretty tasty. I doubled the recipe with success. Making the filling was pretty straight forward and came together quickly. I do not have indian chili powder so used cayenne instead. I also added additional cilantro as other reviewers have suggested. I used phillo dough and baked the samosas. I thought using phillo dough would be easier but since I've never used phillo dough before was utterly confused once I thawed the box and found 20 super thin sheets. I quickly went to google to look up a video on how to use phillo dough! I also made "burritos" since the triangles were a bit advanced for me. Everything came out great though and the taste was quite yummy. Thank you for posting! This is something I would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      YUM! My family devoured these. I also used Phillo dough. The first time I tried them deep fried. (Crispy) The second time I baked at 400 for a healthier alternative and they tasted just as good! (Flaky) It's really good with Easy Cranberry Chutney (Easy Cranberry Chutney)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      the filling was excellent! I didn't make the pastry and instead used spring roll wrappers... i also used a little less turmeric (personal preference) and added a little bit more garam masala. Excellent Charishma! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Good recipe. I used one less potato and added browned, ground turkey. I also added a little cayenne to make it spicy. Very unique and very delicious. we were surprised how well the potato blended with the dish. Personally, I think the meat was a great addition to the texture. This recipe is a great "base" to be creative using your own ideas. The chiles really put a lot of flavor into any dish and I have started using them in a lot of my cooking since last year (since I started cooking Indian food).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Very tasty, for those of us who have no time to Knead the dough you can use dough cycle in your bread machine . I substituted the oil for some cold butter then added water. I find any leftover works and you can even take your spagetti leftover sauce with a little bit of cheese and make them mini pizzas I also put apples in them for a sweet treat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      These turned out great. This is my favorite potato mix i've come across. Lovely. I thought the instructions for shaping the samosas were kind of complicated so I ended up with a few weird looking ones before i decided to simply roll out the dough, place a heaping spoonful of filling to one side then fold the other side over, wet the seam and press it together with my finger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      An amazing recipe! This turned out well for a first time; I am Indian & have never made them before! It needs more spices (will prob double them next time!)--we added 1 cup of peas & used canned green chilies. I did make the dough, which worked well. We have LOTS of filling leftover, but we can make more dough/eat with some naan bread :-). My husband & I worked together on this--he actually helped me figure out how to stuff & fold them! We baked at 400 for 15 min, but will try for 20 next time for more browning. We actually added the onions first to saute, then the garlic. We used ground coriander & dry cilantro, and had no lemon. We boiled the potatoes until they were soft, but not mushy--about 9 min. Great recipe; thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Samosa

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 430.6
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    36%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites