Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Saag Paneer (Low Fat Cheese With Spinach) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Saag Paneer (Low Fat Cheese With Spinach)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2009

      Oh this is so good! This is my favorite dish when we go to the local Indian Restaurant. I get cravings for it all the time and I finaly know how to make it! I'm so happy! I did cut the cayenne in half and I'm really glad I did. I like hot, but even with the 1/2 tsp this had a good kick. Next time I will decrease the cream as well - It took a bit away from the perfect tomato/spice mixture (and I even added a little extra spinach to use it up). I looked up how to make the panir, and having made mozzarella before it seemed like a very very similar cheese so I used cubed mozzarella (that was at room temp) in place of panir. I just added it last- after the heat was off and it had cooled somewhat. Worked out great! This is such a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

    • on September 17, 2010

      Awesome! I love saag paneer, and this recipe was so simple and easy! I didn't think I could make this dish so easily at home. We didn't change too much.. I doubled the recipe and made adjustments to some of the spices to fit our tastes. I also added one large onion chopped, and we only used about half the suggested amount of cream as some others suggested. And we only used 7 oz. of paneer cubed even though we doubled the spinach. If I made any change next time, I'd probably use less cayenne and process the spinach to get a more creamy smooth texture. We like it spicy hot, but it was a little too hot for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      We made tikka masala (from America's Test Kitchens, rice pilaf, naan bread (from local grocery store) and kheer (from this web site...listed as World's Best and it is!) for a great Indian dinner.

      I loved the flavors of this dish and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I doubled the recipe but only used 1 1/2 cups cream and did not double the cayenne. I felt it needed more tomato sauce but I didn't have any more so I used some extra tomato paste and it worked out great. It did make a lot so we had leftovers the next day and they heated up nicely.

      My local grocery store did not have paneer but I called around and was able to find it at Whole Foods. Reading online, it seems that there is not a good substitute for the cheese.

      Great recipe. Highly recommend it. We'll defintely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      We loved this! I used 1/2 c whipping cream, 1 c tomato sauce, and 1/2 tsp cayenne based on previous reviews. This had a nice bit of heat to it, which I wasn't expecting because whenever I've had it in a restaurant, it's a lot milder. But, it was good with the cayenne. I will definitely make again and continue to experiment with the tomato sauce/whipping cream/cayenne consistencies. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Good and tasty recipe- also very easy. I bought paneer from the Indian grocery, and I am glad I did- there is just nothing like it. Yum! I did modify in 2 areas- I used over a half cup of tomato sauce, and I used only about 1/4 cup of cream. I didn't want it to be too runny, nor did I want to dilute the flavors, and I think the entire quantity of cream may have done that. I also ended up simmering the paneer in with the spinach and everything else for about 15 minutes, just to get it all good and soaked in and distributed. I'm glad I did! Highly recommend this recipe-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! We've used it once a week (minimum) since the first time we tried it a couple months ago. Very tasty, extremely easy and fast. Also, a good recipe to use as is, or play around with it a little once you get comfortable. I've been using ghee instead of cooking spray, full fat whipping cream and toying with spices when the mood strikes- and every time, it's good. Thank you so much, deinemuse for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This is so, so good. I couldn't get paneer, but thought that queso blanco would be a good substitute... and then the store was out :) So I used fresh mozzerella. The texture was a little off, but the flavor was divine! A few days after we had it, dh went to our favorite Indian restaurant and declared that this was even better than theirs! We'll be making this again and again-- thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This isn't DEAD ON like the restaurant's, but it's pretty close, easy to make, and MIGHTY TASTY! My boyfriend liked it better than the restaurant version. We will make again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This was a very good base recipe. I used all the ingredients and changed the portions according to our liking. Another change i made was to puree the mixture after it was cooked and then add the paneer. It looked like it came from one of our favourite Indian restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Didn't think I was going to get anywhere close to the saag in the restaurants, but this turned out wonderful (if not a little too spicy to serve to the little ones). Very easy to make and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Love it! I could have eaten the entire thing, but I had to leave some for the family! Can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Eek! I don't know what happened, but this really didn't work for us. The cayenne was quite overpowering, which is saying a lot because we love spicy food. The other spices smelled terrific, and some bites were really fantastic, but overall we couldn't get through a whole plateful. I will definitely try it again, as (based on other reviews) it seems like our experience was a fluke. Thanks for posting--it was fun to make, anyhow :). Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This stuff is really good. thaw the chopped spinach and then put it in a food processor and the consistency will be more like that of the saag paneer you may find in a restaurant. I used slightly more tomato sauce and used heavy cream, but I'm going to try it with low-fat whipping cream next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      If there were more stars for this, I'd surely rank this higher than five. An amazing dish!!! An unexpected ambuscade upon the senses, raiding the taste buds with unbridled spicy goodness! To sum up in one word...MMMMMMMMMMM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      YUM YUM YUM!! I love Indian food and we go to a place at least once a week. This week... I made this recipe and it was fantastic!! I used chili paste instead of cayenne and added a little ground dried ginger and nutmeg to the spinach. I LOVE THIS RECIPE and will make it frequently now! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Saag Paneer (Low Fat Cheese With Spinach)

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 46.3
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    17%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 673.6 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat whipping cream

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites