Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2010

      Delicious! I made it a little lighter by using 1% milk, and half n half instead of heavy cream. Also used Splenda instead of sugar. It was wonderful. Will definitely make this again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I have had this recipe saved for a long long time, but I have never made it because my mother had it ingrained into my mind that rice puddings were just 'no good'. Well, one day I overcame this negative view and decided to try this, and to my amazement it tasted almost exactly the same as the vermicelli puddings that the indians in our community used to make on the morning of Eid!! I was astonished and delighted because I have been craving for some ever since we moved. Now next time I will just substitute the rice with vermicelli! Also, I put in dates and substituted the sugar with brown sugar and added flaked almonds instead of pistachios. This was soooo delicious and I have made it 2 times already in just these first 4 days of Ramadhan!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      Went great with our Indian themed meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      This was very good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      It was too "coconuty" for me. I never taste a hint of that when I order this dessert at the Indian Restaurants. Definitely next time I'll leave out the coconut and just add it sparingly at the end if I feel it needs it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

    • on November 11, 2009

      This is SO delicious! I used craisins instead of golden raisins. Beware though, this is a VERY heavy pudding, so even though it's delicious, don't over eat! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Delicious! I love the flavor of this! And it was pretty easy to make. Left out the raisins and nuts because I didn't have any and DH hates raisins. Still good! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Wonderful-definately NOT diet food-but who care when it tastes so good. I love indian rice pudding and I never made it before-this recipe is easy ( i used basmati rice) and authentic. I made this recipe as is and I wouldnt change a thing. Thanks Velouria for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This was great! This is a good recipe if you want to use up some leftover rice. I didn't have any nuts on hand and it still turned out good. Next time I think I will try putting some cinnamon in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Wonderful !! This recipe was made for the desert portion of an Indian meal planned for Father's Day, tomorrow. Hope I can stay away from it until then. I doubled the recipe except for the sugar and cardamom. Wish I had doubled the cardamom also. Think I will sprinkle a bit on the top before serving. Didn't have pistachios so just left nuts our completely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      This was sooooo good I could not stop eating it. I had to make some substitutions though: I had a large can of coconut cream that I used for the heavy cream and coconut milk. I also used sliced almonds instead of pistachios. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg along with the cardamom and double the recipe. I will be making this for many years to come. I think next time I will decrease the sugar a bit but it really was amazing as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Wow!! Absolutely aromatic and flavorable. The cardamom is truely the key too it's rich, exotic taste. I have managed to make this dish twice this week already, just because the first batch went in less than an hour. I admit, I did alter slightly, only because my pantry was void of some ingedients. For instance, instead of the golden raisins, I chopped up some sun dried mango pieces and added it in as a substitute. Another ingredient I had too replace, was the pistachios. I used cashews instead. Everything else was accounted for and I followed the recipe to a tee. The results? A big hit. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      We love rice puddings from all over the world--Thai, Indonesian, and now Indian!! I have not had this in a restaurant but can't imagine it would be any better. I don't think the cardamom is optional as it is what gives it a distinctly Indian flavor. I couldn't find unsalted pistacios so I used salted and it was NOT too saltly. What a fun recipe. Thanks Velouria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      My boyfriend is celiac, so rice dishes are a staple! We love Indian food, and this recipe is the closest i have found to the real thing without all the hassle! i add some sliced almonds and shredded cocnut for added taste. Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Very nice!! I love Kheer and this was very much enjoyed. I am used to having almonds in mine so I added those also, its great. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This is very nice.I havent tasted this before .This is really very good .Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I made yhis pudding for a large dinner party. I varied the recipe slightly. I used cashews insted of pistachios and added nutmeg ontop. It was wonderful. Everyone who tried it loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This was great! I followed the recipe exactly except I omitted the raisins and nuts as that is not traditional in Indian rice pudding, but it was terrific thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Best rice pudding I've had yet. I used skim milk, half and half and pecans, but it still turned out tasty! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.0
     
    Calories from Fat 243
    45%
    Total Fat 27.0 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 17.2 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 46.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 59.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.4 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 53.2 g
    213%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites