12 Reviews

Sue, Thank You!! I enjoyed this witout feeling guilty I was having potatoes! Made it for lunch this afternoon. These would go great with rotis and better still with hot puris, puris though would be questionable if one was on the health kick:) I had these with bread. I substituted the serrano chillies with green chillies as I dont use serrano chillies, and I used 1 1/2 cups more of water as 2/3 cup was falling short to cook the potaotes in. I dont have brown mustard seeds, so I used black ones instead. It was lovely and fantastic and will be a regular on our table. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani May 23, 2002

Good stuff. I was afraid to add the cayenne as well as the serrano chile. I'm Norwegian, not Indian! It came out great as a main dish for a meal that included a butternut squash casserole (modified with less sugar). #4100 I plan to use this recipe again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Paul June 10, 2002

Mmmmmm, very good Sue! Like Charishma, I used a green chili and black mustard seeds, and added 1/2 cup water (I scaled down to 1 serving). I also substituted black pepper for cayenne. I added the water in batches, and since the potatoes seemed to be taking quite a while to cook, I covered the skillet after a while, leaving a small gap for steam to escape, and they cooked much faster this way, and were "sookhi" (dry) as well. Thanks for this one; next time I'll make it for the whole family!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu June 03, 2002

I agree with the reviewers who said this recipe has authentic flavors, the spicing is very similar to that used by various friends I have had from south asian countries. I really loved the taste of the cumin seed (which tasted even better after settling for awhile and eating the leftovers). I think I would like this even more if I substituted some of the potato for sweet potato or carrot and added some peas or green beans. The only slight modifications I made was to use two chopped green chillies and to fry the seeds then the onion and chilies in a little bit of olive oil before adding the potatoes, spices and water. Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 September 20, 2012

Very nice traditional recipe. Like other reviewers I substituted jalapeno chillies (only 1) as I prefer their milder spice and find they lend a nice subtle sweet flavor to Indian food. A common guideline for Indian cooking is to use about 1/2 the amount of cumin for the same amount of coriander so I decreased the cumin to 1/2 tsp. seed and 1 tsp. ground cumin which was perfect. I served with rotis and a simple toor dal for a nice balanced meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shakahari September 25, 2011

Love this recipe! I was scared to try with 3 serranos sliced in half, so used one chopped up. Plenty spicy! This is a very easy dish to make and I'll be buying potatoes more often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahdn December 17, 2010

Thank you so much for this delicious and easy recipe. I'll be making this recipe everytime I buy potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Le Poonce January 24, 2008

Authentic flavours, TRUE! SO easy and simple to do! GREAT is LOW FAT and oil free! This is a DEFINATE keeper for me! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder November 01, 2007

Great, authentic flavours. Served this with our own spontaneous mushroom creation & some sour cream last night & making small samosas with the left over potatoes tonight. Thanks for a winning recipe Sue! :) Long overdue update: We've also served this with Spicy Mushrooms With Ginger and Chilies with terrific results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt September 28, 2007
Indian Potatoes with Mustard Seeds (Sookhi Bhaji)