Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Indian Potatoes with Mustard Seeds (Sookhi Bhaji) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Potatoes with Mustard Seeds (Sookhi Bhaji)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2002

      Sue, Thank You!! I enjoyed this witout feeling guilty I was having potatoes! Made it for lunch this afternoon. These would go great with rotis and better still with hot puris, puris though would be questionable if one was on the health kick:) I had these with bread. I substituted the serrano chillies with green chillies as I dont use serrano chillies, and I used 1 1/2 cups more of water as 2/3 cup was falling short to cook the potaotes in. I dont have brown mustard seeds, so I used black ones instead. It was lovely and fantastic and will be a regular on our table. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Good stuff. I was afraid to add the cayenne as well as the serrano chile. I'm Norwegian, not Indian! It came out great as a main dish for a meal that included a butternut squash casserole (modified with less sugar). #4100 I plan to use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      Mmmmmm, very good Sue! Like Charishma, I used a green chili and black mustard seeds, and added 1/2 cup water (I scaled down to 1 serving). I also substituted black pepper for cayenne. I added the water in batches, and since the potatoes seemed to be taking quite a while to cook, I covered the skillet after a while, leaving a small gap for steam to escape, and they cooked much faster this way, and were "sookhi" (dry) as well. Thanks for this one; next time I'll make it for the whole family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      I agree with the reviewers who said this recipe has authentic flavors, the spicing is very similar to that used by various friends I have had from south asian countries. I really loved the taste of the cumin seed (which tasted even better after settling for awhile and eating the leftovers). I think I would like this even more if I substituted some of the potato for sweet potato or carrot and added some peas or green beans. The only slight modifications I made was to use two chopped green chillies and to fry the seeds then the onion and chilies in a little bit of olive oil before adding the potatoes, spices and water. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

    • on September 25, 2011

      Very nice traditional recipe. Like other reviewers I substituted jalapeno chillies (only 1) as I prefer their milder spice and find they lend a nice subtle sweet flavor to Indian food. A common guideline for Indian cooking is to use about 1/2 the amount of cumin for the same amount of coriander so I decreased the cumin to 1/2 tsp. seed and 1 tsp. ground cumin which was perfect. I served with rotis and a simple toor dal for a nice balanced meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Love this recipe! I was scared to try with 3 serranos sliced in half, so used one chopped up. Plenty spicy! This is a very easy dish to make and I'll be buying potatoes more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Thank you so much for this delicious and easy recipe. I'll be making this recipe everytime I buy potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Authentic flavours, TRUE! SO easy and simple to do! GREAT is LOW FAT and oil free! This is a DEFINATE keeper for me! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Great, authentic flavours. Served this with our own spontaneous mushroom creation & some sour cream last night & making small samosas with the left over potatoes tonight. Thanks for a winning recipe Sue! :) Long overdue update: We've also served this with Spicy Mushrooms With Ginger and Chilies with terrific results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      Terrific potatoes! DH and I are not potato people, but I went all Indian tonight and thought this sounded excellent. It was. The mustard seeds were fabulous additions--and the color of the dish was beautiful with the addition of turmeric. They were quite spicy, and I even left out the serranos (of course, I at least doubled the cayenne)! Thanks Sue L, for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      Very nice potato dish! Would go wonderfully with rotis or chapatis. Like Charishma, I used a green chilis instead of serranos and cut the cayenne in 1/2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Potatoes with Mustard Seeds (Sookhi Bhaji)

    Serving Size: 1 (258 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.5
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    26%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes